We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT FIND”
Review of Oronsay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oronsay House
Ranked #19 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed with Charles and Christine, the first was whilst cycling from John O'Groats to Lands End in May. It is centrally situated and a beautifully appointed Guesthouse with every detail thought about and done to the best!! Gives you a great feel! Charles and Christine are very friendly and kind (even gave me an impromptu card on my birthday) and the breakfasts are just terrific with fayre of the best quality, beautifully cooked, with a great choice! We intend making it a regular stopover for our trips North and South!! It is an excellent base from which to explore the region.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricardoharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 172 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed 3 nights. The double room was fitted out to a very high standard, everything was so clean. The owner served a wonderful breakfast and gave some good hints on evening meals. This is not a 4 star accomodation though, it is 5 star and a lot better than most of the mainstream hotels that are available.

I would recomend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

My family had the pleasure of staying two nights in two adjoining rooms in this lovely hotel which has been very tastefully refurbished by the owners. The rooms were very comfortable with en-suite facilities and flat screen tv's and the breakfast was so good and varied. The hotel is very central in the town centre with car parking and is only a short walk away from the Castle, Gardens and Barter Books. We will certainly come back here again on our next visit to Alnwick.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueBoy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My friend and I stayed for a couple of nights and what a nice, clean, comfy, friendly bed and breakfast. The breakfast was superb with a lovely choice. Close to centre and within walking distance to the castle, gardens, shops and restaurants. On site parking as well which was a bonus in this busy market town. The weather was superb so we did see the countryside at it's best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

As frequent travellers, we struck gold here. Attentive hosts, accomodation that had no faults. The breakfast menu had to be viewed and then self control applied, such was the large selection of goodies on offer. Our three nights here were memorable. Added to the above was the range of restaurents within the town and the nearness of the Castle and gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MostImpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed for a long weekend at Oronsay.Its lovely and new and sparkly clean.Slept well in our room and the bathroom had big fluffy towels.The proprietors had lots of local information to share should you want advice on eating out, journeys, views. walks etc. We were there to visit Alnwick Gardens which is literally round the back, 5mins walk to the pedestrian entrance.One of our evenings we ate at 'The Art House' which was lovely. Definately recommend and if we are in the area again would love to stay at Oransay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoogiehider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This delightful new B & B was located right on the main street in Alnwick, a charming old, but renovated market town in Northumberland. Lots of good eating places nearby and our host was helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. The house in recently renovated, well appointed and comfortable room. Good breakfast. Car Park behind the B & B, which is frequently hard to find in the UK. We spent two days here, visiting castles and gardens during the day, walking through town and having a great dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronniesue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#12 of 69 in Alnwick
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
0.2 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 69 in Alnwick
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oronsay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oronsay House

Address: 18 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $53 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oronsay House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1880, Oronsay House exhibits many period features and is set in a conservation area just 175 yards from the Hotspur (or Bondgate) Tower and the town centre. We have a private car park for our guests. All rooms have en-suite facilities, TV with CD/DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and free Wi-Fi internet access. The owners, Charles and Christine Scott, are committed to making your stay in Alnwick as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oronsay House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing