We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome No - Nearly Awful Yes”
Review of The Art House - CLOSED

The Art House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Binbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome No - Nearly Awful Yes”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Only had coffee and scones but the former was below par and the latter hard and indigestible. Staff were OK.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JEMURPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    118
    43
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Giant portions”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Recommended to us by another eatery in Alnwick and well worth the visit. Interesting menu, friendly staff and well-cooked food with portions on the generous side. Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Canbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“fantastic again”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is our second visit here, as we stay in Alnwick on business, we will return each time we travel here as it is fantastic, good honest well cooked food, the service never feels rushed even though they could do with a few more hands, as very busy, but they just seem laid back, starters are always lovely but i just cant resist the prawns in garlic and lemon butter, so simple but just yum,can never find such huge prawns at home to do this for myself.mains are very varied always struggle what to select as i could eat it all.
Well done to chefs and front of house staff. look forward to coming again in november.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impressed. Will be back.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Managed to get in last minute whilst recently staying near Alnwick - lucky as Saturday night. The starters were disappointing - we both had the nachos which appeared to be standard nachos from the supermarket although the toppings were obviously homemade. Also very large portion with most nachos broken therefore unable to eat (? bottom of the packet). Saying this the main courses of steak pie & lamb were perfect - my husband commenting that the steak was the best quality he had ever had in a pie and my lamb was also a great piece cooked to perfection. Overall very impressed with main course - just let down by the out-of-the-bag starter. Will definitely return when next in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKellyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tasty meal in cosy suuroundings”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Went for dinner at this restaurant on a recent visit to the NE. Very busy, because it was half term. Luckily we had booked ahead, despite being a Monday evening. Interesting menu, attentive staff. I had vegetarian fajitas, which was generous and very tasty. My husband had the special texas burger with pulled pork, again, generous and tasty. The ambience is cosy, being two inteconnecting rooms on the first floor. Would certainly go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Art House also viewed

 
Shilbottle, Alnwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing