We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holly Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$188
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
$126
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$136
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
255
31
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
31
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomb btown centreupstairs roomchilled waterfew minutes walkquiet locationhigh standardbreakfast was excellentguest loungecooked to perfectionvisiting alnwickshower curtaingreat hostsample parkingleave the carreception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 290 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I booked holly lodge after reading the reviews here and we were not disappointed , it's a fantastic little place to stay immaculately clean bright and airy with huge comfy beds and a lovely powerful hot shower in the wet room in the ensuite
We got lost finding the place and George the owner was very patient with me (who has zero sense of direction) guiding us there over the phone. We were met by his wife Jackie with a lovely warm smile who showed us our room and made us a cuppa tea and cake on arrival in the lounge which I thought was lovely.
The hotel is ideally located just a 5min walk from the town centre In a lovely quiet street so it's great that you can be in the hustle n bustle in minutes or chilling out in the peace and quiet relaxing in the hotels tranquil decked garden area
The owners are there when you need them but they are not intrusive you don't feel like you are being watched every five minutes you really feel you are at home and can come and go as you please which is what you want when you are away. There are lots of nice touches like maps of the town and surrounding area provided , menus from local restaurants and information on things to do and see in the area and they provide at no extra cost bottled water and beer and lager for each guest in fridges so you can have a nice drink after a long day if you wish.
Moving onto the breakfast well it sets you up for the day we never needed lunch put it that way !! Great choice of fruit , cereals , yoghurt , muesli as well as an abundance of toast with jam , marmalade or honey and a great choice of cooked breakfasts such as scrambled egg and smoked salmon which I had , or a traditional full English to poached or boiled eggs and much much more. I haven't stayed in many places that provide that as well as being nicely cooked and well presented.
We will be staying again and I will be recommending holly lodge to all my family and friends .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kh1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for weekend as visiting Alnwick castle ,Alnwick gardens and 'Treehouse' restaurant for a wedding anniversary trip. Lovely welcome and hospitality from hosts, Jackie and George. Everything was clean and tidy and in great condition. Bed was huge and comfortable. Breakfasts were spot on ,varied and plentiful. Located within very close walking distance of all amenities including the castle, the gardens and the famous great 'Treehouse ' restaurant. Ideal place to stay for these attractions. It made a nice change having the bedroom so close to the breakfast room as it felt like home from home and added to the very relaxed atmosphere of the whole place. Last but not least, the free complimentary drinks was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Holly Lodge has an excellent, innovative approach to B&B. The accent is on quality throughout, with fine attention to detail.
From moment of arrival there is a warm welcome & the whole operation is run with great efficiency.
The accommodation is light & airy, especially on the upper floor. There is freedom to come & go as one pleases, with perceptive personal touches such as chilled water & beers available!
A crowning touch is the excellent choice of breakfast menu (no need to think about lunch!!). With an excellent location in Alnwick, Holly Lodge is hard to surpass.

Room Tip: Go for an upper room if available, but all superb. One of the ground floor rooms is dedicated to those with special needs (a thought extended to the allocated breakfast table, where there is room for wheelchair accommodation; all has been thought through!).
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for four nights over the August bank holiday and couldnt have wished for a nicer place to stay.Our room was comfortable spotlessly clean
and the breakfasts were wonderful.Would recommend anyone staying in the area to stay here you certainly will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melaniejanemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our fifth time staying at the Holly Lodge and still convinced that it's the BEST place to stay in Alnwick. Jackie and George have not rested on their laurels as each time we have visited they have made improvements to the hotel. They are first class hosts and go out of their way to make your stay with them a truly enjoyable experience.
Although only a small hotel with five bedrooms, it is a top class place to stay. The hotel is spotless from the rooms to the dining room and lounge. There is a lovely raised seating area outside where you can sit and relax too.
There is also plenty to do in Alnwick itself with the castle, gardens, tree house and lots of lovely eating places.
George, who owns the hotel is an Alnwick man, born and bred, and the hotel was once his family home before he and Jackie transformed it into the beautiful hotel that it has become. So if you want to know whats on and where to go in Alnwick, he's your man. My wife and I have already booked again for next year. Do yourself a favour and give it a try if you are down that way.

Room Tip: As I have walking difficulties I always choose Room 1 as it is handy and has only a few steps to reach it and has a wet room shower bathroom too.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToonieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews