We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just the job”
Review of Holly Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Lodge
Ranked #9 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just the job”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Holly Lodge was just the B&B we were looking for. George and Jackie were the perfect hosts, they left us to it unless we asked for help. The room was of a good size and always clean. A very extensive breakfast menu and beautifully cooked, and after a hard days walking, a drink and a piece of award winning cake was waiting for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
179
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just spent our Silver Wedding weekend at Holly Lodge and what a pleasure it was to stay there.
My hubby booked this as a treat and it certainly was from the minute we arrived until we sadly had to go home!
The setting is lovely and perfect for getting around Alnwick, just a short walk to all amenities and parking too which is an added bonus. Plus George & Jackie are very knowledgeable about the local area and only too happy to help/advise you if you require it.
Our room was large and airy and immaculately clean with everything you require of a B&B plus all the little extras they include that make Holly Lodge & George & Jackie special.
Jackie refers to Holly Lodge as a home and we both felt that's exactly what they have achieved. They even gave us a bottle of wine and a congratulations print out for our anniversary, what a lovely touch.
We shall sing their praises far & wide and loud & proud to anyone who will listen!!!
Go visit relax and come away a happier person...

Thanks....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabbie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

How do you describe perfection. Everything we needed in a B+B, plus the little extras not provided elsewhere. Hospitality second to none. Good food, clean rooms, homemade cake, what more can we say. George and Jackie very knowledgeable re: area, eating places etc.
Would certainly stay there again when we visit the North East.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Starting with the welcome cup of tea and home baked cake when I arrived, I was made to feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble for George and Jackie. Everything was of a very high standard, including the breakfasts - I sampled a different one each morning ranging from the local Craster kippers to smoked salmon and cream cheese bagels. There was also ample parking at the front, which is a huge plus as parking is at a premium in Alnwick. I only wish I'd had time to sit out the back in the landscaped gardens. Finally, Holly Lodge is very handy for all the main attractions in Alnwick and only minutes from the shops. All in all a home from home - I'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good to me when George showed me round!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Came here with my girlfriend (both of us in our mid 20's) and wish we'd booked a longer stay.

Very clean and friendly.

Stop reading this and book a room now

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edmond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Holly Lodge from 27th April 2013 for six nights. This is the fourth year in a row that we have enjoyed the hospitality of George and Jackie and as usual the welcome we recieved was second to none. The hotel is extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean and the food is excellent and the hotel owners, George and Jackie go out of their way to make your stay a great experience. They are very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and you can rely on them for recommendations as to whats worth seeing or where to visit. We have already booked with them for another wee break in September and our usual spot in April of next year.If you are considering a trip to Northumberland then look no further than the Holly Lodge as a base, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: As I have walking difficulties, we opt for the ground floor Room No. 1 which is ideal as it has a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just spent 3 days at Holly Lodge, with a couple of friends and cannot praise the experience enough. The welcome was second to none. George and Jackie are excellent hosts who put 100% effort into making their guests feel at home. The freshly cooked breakfasts each morning were superb and the rooms were spotlessly clean and well appointed. Tables were booked for us at local restaurants and even a taxi for the evening we were eating out of town. It was also good to have a comfortable lounge where we could sit to read the paper or enjoy a pre-dinner drink. We would recommend Holly Lodge to anyone wanting to stay in Alnwick and will certainly use it again ourselves if we are back in the area in the future.
Jan & Ian Wilkinson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,039 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
7.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#22 of 68 in Alnwick
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 68 in Alnwick
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Property: Holly Lodge
Address: Holly Lodge The Avenue, Alnwick NE66 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Gold Award, Visit Britain Kellogg's Breakfast Award. Location: Situated up a very quiet cul-de-sac, The Avenue off Prudhoe Street next to Police Station, a three minute walk to centre, restaurants and Alnwick Garden and Castle. A very peaceful place for an undisturbed great night's sleep, perfect base for Alnwick and district. Bedrooms: Six en-suite travertine tiled shower wet rooms, 1 room has sunken bathroom and bath /shower. 1 room has been modified to include ground floor disabled facilities. Five of these rooms have super king sized double beds, which can be split into comfortable single beds. Three rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a child. All rooms have flat screen TV with freeview package, Sky TV and free Wi Fi. Tea /coffee making, hairdryer and ironing facility. Car Park: Large secure car park for up to 10 cars, C.C.T.V protected, in grounds. Lounge: Guest lounge with 42" flat screen TV with freeSAT and Sky package. Breakfast Room: Individual tables in modern style breakfast room. Reception: Private secure guest entrance with Reception facilities, and fridge with complimentary bottled chilled mineral water and ice making machine. Drying Room: Drying room available along with bike storage room. Decking Area: Private rear decking area and gardens with seats and two fish ponds with waterfall feature available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing