We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever”
Review of Holly Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Lodge
Ranked #7 of 66 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“As good as ever”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from another visit to Holly Lodge. Lovely town, castle fantastic! Our stay at Holly Lodge is the icing on the cake. Everything is absolutely 5 star, they well deserve their awards. The rooms and breakfasts are first class. George and Jackie think of everything, including complimentary water, beer and sherry. Any advice on eating out is offered when requested and also they appreciate "feedback" from guests. The weather was appalling one day and when we came Jackie had baked and we were looked after with warm mince pies and sherry, I think they had taken pity on the "drowned rats"! It was very much appreciated.

We would not stay anywhere else at all in Alnwick.

Room Tip: All are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
175
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Fleetham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Holly Lodge for 3 nights (22nd-25th Sept) and were made to feel most welcome by George & Jackie. It is, without doubt, an outstanding B & B and fully worthy of its 5 Star status.The accommodation - in a very quiet residential area - was immaculate, with lots of thoughtful extras provided for guests' comfort. We would recommend this establishment unreservedly!!
Sheila M.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The title says it all.
I give this B&B full marks.
Three minute walk into town. Easy parking. Very friendly & helpful hosts. Breakfasts were great.Thoroughly recommended. Would have no hesitation in staying here when next in Alnwick

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at Holly Lodge for 2 nights 13th/14th September in Room 4, a dormer room of the bungalow. Lovely room, spotlessly clean and light contemporary decor. Wet shower room was great. Very comfy beds and warm duvets. Breakfast was excellent, with help yourself to cereal, fruit etc and hot breakfasts cooked to order. Food piping hot, beautifully cooked and nicely served. It would be nice to see an alternative to the full English breakfast for vegetarians. Lovely little touches make this a cut above the rest. Sherry and nuts in the visitor lounge, bowl of sweets in the reception area, refrigerated bottled water to take out, (one per day) were all offered. George and Jackie can't do enough for you to enhance your stay. Only thing I didn't like was having to sit at a certain table for breakfast. I prefer to be free to choose!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

never ever stayed in such a fab place nothing too much trouble our room was so comfortable and clean the bathroom with wet room looked very nice and as hubby had recent knee repl the grab rails were welcome. The breakfasts were lovely wide choice and served with a smile. It is such a good position for travelling around to see local sights and a real boon to be able to park in front of accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minimeStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Holly Lodge last month and we were very impressed with everything.

The rooms were immaculate, the food was beautiful and George and Jackie were very friendly and helpful. This has got to be the best place so far that i have stayed in. The bed was very comfortable, great night sleep. It was more of home and you felt very safe and at ease, theres not many places that make you feel lke that. We have made some great friends :)

We will definately be returning in the future.

Would highly recommend a stay here.

Thanks George & Jackie

Gem and Danielle

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the Holly Lodge on the 26th and 27th July, 2012. We were very pleased with our accomodation and the impeccable cleanliness of our room. The beds were also very comfortable. The multiple choices for breakfast were excellent, it was prepared with great attention and was delicious. We haven't used the living room area, although it was a nice touch to have an areato sociolize and meet other tenants...
Overall, we highly recommend the Holly Lodge as we has a great experience.

Maria & Barry

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
7.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 66 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Property: Holly Lodge
Address: Holly Lodge The Avenue, Alnwick NE66 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Gold Award, Visit Britain Kellogg's Breakfast Award. Location: Situated up a very quiet cul-de-sac, The Avenue off Prudhoe Street next to Police Station, a three minute walk to centre, restaurants and Alnwick Garden and Castle. A very peaceful place for an undisturbed great night's sleep, perfect base for Alnwick and district. Bedrooms: Six en-suite travertine tiled shower wet rooms, 1 room has sunken bathroom and bath /shower. 1 room has been modified to include ground floor disabled facilities. Five of these rooms have super king sized double beds, which can be split into comfortable single beds. Three rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a child. All rooms have flat screen TV with freeview package, Sky TV and free Wi Fi. Tea /coffee making, hairdryer and ironing facility. Car Park: Large secure car park for up to 10 cars, C.C.T.V protected, in grounds. Lounge: Guest lounge with 42" flat screen TV with freeSAT and Sky package. Breakfast Room: Individual tables in modern style breakfast room. Reception: Private secure guest entrance with Reception facilities, and fridge with complimentary bottled chilled mineral water and ice making machine. Drying Room: Drying room available along with bike storage room. Decking Area: Private rear decking area and gardens with seats and two fish ponds with waterfall feature available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing