We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well equipped and quiet B&B.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravensmede Cottage B & B
Ranked #43 of 66 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well equipped and quiet B&B.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just back from spending a couple of nights at Ravensmede. We were quite tired when we arrived after a windswept drive up, then spending time around Alnwick Castle, and then failing to find the B&B initially (its pretty easy really). But the hosts made us feel very welcome and immediately at home. The room (The Sycamore) is a good size and well equipped (good shower, TV, coffee/tea making facilities, even a bedside choccy!) and clean - unable to fault it really, perhaps wasted on us. The breakfasts were amazing, and nothing was too much trouble, a decent veggie breakfast was no problem, just what we needed before a day's exploring. The B&B is slightly out of town but an easy 10/15 min walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireJames42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ravensmede for one night but wish it had been longer. The Sycamore room was very well decorated with a bathroom finished to a very high standard and a modern shower. The extras in the room were a pleasant surprise - iron and ironing board, bottle of sparkling water, DVD player with a selection of DVDs and branded robes.

We were provided with a parking space in the drive of the cottage which was about 10 minutes walk from Alnwick town centre which was fine for us and the page of restaurant recommendations provided a useful starting point for people unfamiliar with the area.

Full English breakfast was excellent with everything you could need and a great start to the day served in the pleasant surroundings of the owner's living room.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, the rooms feel private and quiet and you are free to come and go as you please. Great breakfasts, helpful hosts who leave you to it but are there to help if needed. The location is a very easy walk from the centre and is much quieter than stating centrally.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent a night here while driving up to Scotland and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stop over. The B&B is in a quiet suburb just outside the centre of Alnwick, but you can easily walk into town in 10-15 minutes. This means that you get the best of both worlds: a quiet night's sleep (which would be hard to guarantee closer to the centre) and easy access to shops, restaurants and other amenities in Alnwick. Our room was beautifully decorated, if a little on the small side, but came with tea/coffee-making facilities, bottled water and free wi-fi access. But we were also quite taken with the bathroom, which was unsually light and spacious, filled with lovely toiletries, and immaculately clean! Breakfast was tasty and our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. A great place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here with girlfriend for a Saturday night getaway and was very pleased with the choice of B and B we made.

The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We were given a key and there was a real sense of freedom to come and go as pleased.

The double room was large, equipped with a wall mounted tv, tea and coffee facilities, a writing desk and 2 chairs with a small coffee table. The ensuite bathroom was modern and clean too.

Breakfast was full English, together with a selection of cereals, fruit juice and tea. Good quality ingredients in the full English.

The house is 10 to 15 minute stroll into Alnwick centre, hence the lower price compared to other b and b in the area. Fantastic value!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33jordan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We arrived to a very friendly welcome, the room was very nice with all the usual mod cons . the cottage was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was was lovely.
I would highly reccoment this cottage! There were also great bus links very near by.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed for a week at this excellent bed and breakfast. I can't think of anything that you need that wasn't provided and I am sure if I could have thought of anything it would have been provided for us!

Very helpful and pleasant owners, a warm atmosphere and lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Laburnum and it was lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190729Monica_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#25 of 66 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
4t4 Bed and Breakfast
4t4 Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 17 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.7 mi away
East Cawledge Farm B&B
East Cawledge Farm B&B
#29 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Chestnut Tree House
Chestnut Tree House
#2 of 2 in Longhoughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#48 of 66 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Percy Terrace Bed & Breakfast Alnwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensmede Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensmede Cottage B & B

Property: Ravensmede Cottage B & B
Address: 6 Ravensmede | Alnmouth Road, Alnwick NE66 2PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravensmede Cottage B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax & Rejuvenate for the next day in the historical Town of Alnwick. Come & stay in a Victorian Cottage which dates back to 1870. Originally built as stables & outbuildings to Ravensmede house. All rooms have wireless internet connection, TV, DVD Clock/radio, ironing facilities & well stocked hospitality trays. We have one room on the ground floor which is disable friendly with a en-suite wet room. ONLY A TEN MIN WALK INTO TOWN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ravensmede Cottage B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensmede Cottage B & B Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing