We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flowers, fruit and sweet music”
Review of Aydon House

Aydon House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aydon House
Ranked #18 of 66 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Flowers, fruit and sweet music”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We loved the fresh flowers throughout this house, especially in our room and at breakfast. This meal was made even more pleasant with sweet music murmuring softly. Fresh, delicious fruit was attractively arranged, and we were reminded to enjoy some! The service was excellent. Food was consistently good and our tea and coffee pots were checked for top-ups.
Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed and clean, snowy towels every day. There was an elegant tea service and plenty of extra teabags etc. available to help ourselves. We could also use a conveniently placed bathroom which was a nice alternative to a shower and gave us more time!
Our hosts were around if any need arose, but generally kept a low profile so we really felt we were 'at home'. Extra colour and interest were provided by Ted, the old English sheepdog and the ducks on the pond in the well-tended garden. The guest house is very well situated for walking or driving to local amenities and attractions.

Room Tip: We believe all rooms had views of gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    32
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
77
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Wilson-Boyd family stayed for one night after a long day at Alnwick Gardens and the castle. When we arrived we recieved a genuine warm welcome. The room was spotless and you could not ask for more. The following morning we had a big tasty breakfast to set us up for our day at Bamburgh. Sure to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights with a friend whilst touring in Northumberland and we found it to be an ideal base for our travels. The welcome we received was wonderful, the rooms were spotlessly clean and with all the amenities that one could ask for. Very tasty and filling breakfasts in the morning with lots of variety. We could not recommend this B&B more highly and I will definitely be telling friends about it so that if they are in the area, they can choose this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerleithen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We received excellent instructions to find Aydon House and had a very warm welcome for Mr and Mrs Carroll on our arrival. The room was excellent, clean and with everything that we would expect provided and as a result we had two very comfortable nights. Breakfasts were excellent and because they were cooked to order so much better than at larger establishments. The location makes for easy walking into town or to the truly wonderful Alnwick Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnerleithenJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Me my wife and 2 year old stayed at Aydon house on 14 July for 1 night, most B&B`s would`nt allow this they asked for 2 nights minimum but Arthur was more than willing to take us in. The B&B was very clean and tidy, the service provided was second to none even to the point of offering extra milk for our daughter if she needed it. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming the breakfast was great, and the hotel ideally situated to discover all that Alnwick has to offer, a 5 minute walk to the town centre or to the gorgeous Alnwick gardens. Superb stop over for a great weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights, and had a wonderfull time. The rooms were spacious and light as well as clean, and suprisingly quiet given its roadside location. Arthur and Jane were lovely and very welcoming, bringing us fresh milk for tea in our room and biscuits which were much appreciated after our long drive. The breakfast was great, with cereals and fruit followed by a full english breakfast however you wanted it. Topped off with a great location with plenty to do and great places to eat, our stay in Aydon house was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_Acomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Aydon House for three nights, and found it an ideal base for visiting the North East coast.

As others have said, we were made most welcome and felt very comfortable there. The location is great, just a ten minute walk outside the town centre.

Our room was comfortable, and spacious. It was clean, as was the en-suite. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and a plentiful supply of fresh mik.

The availability of the hair dryer in the room, toiletries and fresh towels every day was appreciated.

The breakfast was good, with a variety of cereals and fresh fruits available as well as a full cooked breakfast. You will not leave the house hungry in the morning!

Arthur and Jane are lovely people and do their best to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulmebantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 66 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
0.3 mi away
Holly Lodge
Holly Lodge
#7 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aydon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aydon House

Property: Aydon House
Address: Aydon Gardens, Alnwick NE66 2NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Hotel Class:4 star — Aydon House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Aydon House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing