We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Alone - Don't go there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Gate Guest House
Ranked #62 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home Alone - Don't go there”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

First time I have ever arrived at a guest house and there was no one there to meet you. The place was deserted with the rooms keys still in the locks in all but one room. The contact Tracy was not interested and made no effort to contact us or refund our money. DO NOT go especially if you are a single traveller. Key left under the front door right opposite a busy hotel with a beer garden, everyone can see you going into the house on your own. Also back patio doors are unlocked, supposed to be for fire exit, however there is a 12 foot brick wall which you would need to jump over to get out if there was a fire! I have already made complaints to various local authorities seeking investigations into this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank mushroom75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    50
    17
    10
    15
See reviews for
12
66
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Our experience of Castle Gate was not a good one. We arrived before the 4.00pm check in time, and as there was no-one in the house, we phoned Tracy the owner to find out if it was OK to leave the car in the driveway. We were surprised to be told that there was a key under the front door mat, and just to let ourselves in! Lack of security is a big problem - the house sits right on a main road into Alnwick, and opposite a very busy pub . Anyone with a mind to, could get in using the key under the mat. By 10.00pm on a Saturday night, we were shocked to find that the house was still empty, and in complete darkness,with all the windows open. The French Doors at the back of the property are also left permanantly unlocked - we wonder what would happen if anything belonging to a guest was stolen - how would insurance companies view the open doors policy?
For us, the final straw was when we found pre-cooked food in the fridge - sausages, bacon and hash browns - perhaps this was meant for our breakfast..
We contacted Tracy with our concerns, but she was very unhelpful. We decided to pack up and leave. It seems that Tracy does not live in the house - we have never before stayed in a guest house where there is no owner in residence. Tracy has refused to refund us, and her response to our complaint threw up more questions than answers. Between the 2 couples, we are £108 out of pocket.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank HappywandererLanark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We pre-booked for 2 nights and were told to arrive between 4pm and 5pm.
We arrived at the front door at 4.05pm to ' NO REPLY', we went back at 4.20pm to 'NO REPLY'. There was no note on the door to explain her whereabouts.
We decided not to follow our booking up because we had expected, as you would, to be greeted on our arrival and welcomed in. All we got was a closed door.
On phoning the owner to explain why we were not coming, she made various excuses for not being there, she did not apologise and then proceeded to take one nights charges from my credit card.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank westie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I have to say that I am suprised to read any negative reviews of this B&B!

First impression of the hotel from the outside was that it would be an ok , however when inside you can tell the owners have taken great care in making it very stylish and modern.
The room was so nice and really did feel more like your bedroom at home rather than a bog standard hotel room.

The value you get for the price you pay for the room , for me the best I have had. Everything was very clean, warm and cosy.

The breakfast was also lovely, The full Engliash was lovely and there was a good choice of cereals etc.....

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is thinking of visiting Alnwick

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ky1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

First of all, do not take any notice of the ridiculous reports on here saying that the place isn't clean or comfy or small, I guess some people on trip advisor love a moan!

Stayed here on a sunday night second week in January well out of the tourist season. Choose it basically as it was the cheapest price and looked good in the advert and web site. We were not dissapointed. The owner Tracy was polite, friendly and helpful. Our room although a little small ( well what do you expect for £40 ) was clean, comfy and well taken care of but more than adequate for two people. Breakfast was fabulous, very generous and good value for money.
In no way connected with any of the hotels around the area, the town itself is a little bereft of places to eat. If you like Pizza or chinese then you are well catered for!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moodyblue64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I've read some of the other reviews and I am very surprised by their impressions -we arrived at the time arranged to be greeted by Tracy who showed us to a very nice room and suggested places to eat, told us times of The Gardens etc.
The ensuite was small but OK and the bed was comfortable-the room was nicely decorated in a modern style. Breakfast was really good-the bacon tasted great, and there was enough to last us until our evening meal!
We found both Tracy and |Suzanne (the girl that helps Tracy) very friendly and helpful.
This is a good quality Guest House-close to the centre of Alnwick so once you have parked the car-and there are cheap car parks around -you can just walk everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights at castle gate had a great breakfast every morning my room was large very nice loved the decor.Great location for all attractions will be back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue111Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgian Guest House
Georgian Guest House
#37 of 68 in Alnwick
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#7 of 68 in Alnwick
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tate House
Tate House
#28 of 68 in Alnwick
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 68 in Alnwick
360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#23 of 68 in Alnwick
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Gate Guest House

Property: Castle Gate Guest House
Address: 23 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Gate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Gate Guest House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing