We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Garden
Nearby Hotels
$140
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
$133
$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$159
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$117
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
83
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch viewroll top bathhuge comfy bedcakenothing is too much troublewarm welcomea couple of minutes walkb and bfriendly hostspeterhouseaccommodationbookscurtains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 84 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Just back from 1 night stay.Maureen and peter excellent hosts.Do not normally stay in B&B but could not fault this one.Smoking allowed in outside covered courtyard.good location for all sightseeing.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank juliankDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Four of us stayed at the Courtyard Garden when we visited Alnwick for my brother in laws wedding. After a 3hour drive up from the Midlands we were shown to our rooms before a much needed cup of tea and cake from the lovely landlady, Maureen. Our rooms were fantastic, my wife and I were in the room named Church View, with our daughter and her partner in the room named Courtyard View. The furniture and fittings were in keeping with the theme, and the bathrooms were well stocked, spotlessly clean and had ample amounts of towels! Breakfast was superb, cooked to order with great local sausage, bacon and preserves. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the owners, and both Maureen and Pete were very knowledgable about Alnwick and the surrounding areas. It was no bother for them to arrange cabs and it was even up to us what time we had breakfast. These two really have got customer service off to a fine art! We have no hesitation recommending their hospitality and fine establishment to anyone. We will return!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_JDerbysire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Excellent hosts - a very warm welcome where nothing is too much trouble.
Excellent facilities - two individual character rooms with generous toiletries.
Excellent breakfast - plenty of choice and the best scrambled eggs I've eaten for a very long time.
Excellent location - just a two minute stroll to the shops/restaurants/castle in Alnwick.
Excellent little touches that make it special - cake in the afternoon, bottled water by the bed, details of local restaurants and a history of the house in the room.
If only all B&Bs were like this! Many thanks Maureen and Peter from The Mays

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMaysKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Maureen and Peter were fantastic hosts: they looked after us without imposing and they obviously get real pleasure iout fo what they do . The house felt sumptuous and provided a cosy sanctuary against the pelting rain.
Breakfast was tasty and varied and we looked forward to it.
We went up for a wedding and in comparison to our friends we felt like we'd definitely got the best deal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elylilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Maureen and Peter provide a lovely atmosphere in their quaint B&B in the heart of Alnwick. The B&B is rustic and welcoming, with a beautiful garden to enjoy a quiet read. We stayed in the Courtyard view room, beautifully decorated with a interesting and spacious ensuite. The bed was ample size for both my partner and myself and was very comfortable with crips linens and soft pillows. Maureen was always on hand to provide advice and suggestions and breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice of local produce. Little touches like bottles of water at the bedside, offering us a glass of fizz before we went out to dinner, and ample books and leaflets to look at, distinguishes this B&B from many others I've stayed in.
The location is only a few minutes walk from the centre of Alnwick in a quiet area which was ideal for us. On street parking was free.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews