We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more!”
Review of Greycroft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greycroft
Ranked #3 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here last weekend with my partner; we'd been recommended to go there by his parents, who are frequent visitors. Due to some issues with work we were later arriving than anticipated - we phoned Audrey who was fine with this, and met us with a lovely cheerful greeting when we arrived at around 8pm. There are maps and leaflets available, and Tom and Audrey will give lots of helpful recommendations about the best places to visit or eat out at.

The rooms are lovely (we were in the Red Room), with lots of little touches that make you feel right at home such as fresh milk and chilled bottled water available. The bathrooms were lovely, the showers were huge, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was definitely my favourite feature - I can recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, Tom was a genius preparing that and it was fantastic. The breakfast room is lovely too (look for the mice outside!), nice and sunny overlooking the beautiful garden. The location is excellent, close enough to all of the features of Alnwick that are so lovely to visit, but tucked away from the town centre in a quieter area.

I had a fantastic stay at Greycroft, and we can't wait to plan our next trip! Probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in, so much attention to detail to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Greycroft
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 521 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at greycroft before, this is our second visit and we will certainly be going again. Tom and Audrey give such a lovely welcome and give individual attention to each person. The rooms are luxurious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is a delight with lots on offer and served with a smile! If you want a comfortable, friendly stay in Alnwick, you could not ask for more than all that is offered at Greycroft.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This B&B should be nominated forone of the best in the UK. Tom & Audrey are the hosts with the most and I defy anyone who stays in their wonderful home not to enjoy their holiday whilst staying there. I really cannot say anything more than what has already been said by other guests, everything said is true and honest, please stay there yourselves, you are guaranteed a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 4 very comfortable nights at Greycroft last weekend for my daughter's wedding. The Bride stayed in room 5 and she left from Greycroft to go the ceremony being held at the Alnwick Pavilion. Owners Tom and Audrey made us more than welcome and really went 'above and beyond' in dealing with the wedding day 'comings and goings' of hairdresser, photographer, Father of the bride etc. Their warm, friendly support, along with a first class B&B experience, really helped make the wedding experience a great success. I will certainly be going back to enjoy a more relaxed stay next spring!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Greycroft for three nights and found that it exceeded our expectations in every possible aspect. Audrey and Tom are wonderful hosts who are dedicated to ensuring that each guest enjoys a memorable stay. They seemed to anticipate everyone's individual needs and wishes without being intrusive and nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were given a warm welcome by Audrey who gave us coffee in the homely visitors' lounge, complete with complimentary sherry and sweets. She showed us around and told us all we needed to know about Greystones and the surrounding area, answering our questions and making suggestions. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean and comfortable with so many thoughtful touches and extras to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable, including fresh fruit and bottled water on the landing outside. We looked forward to eating breakfast each morning in the light and airy room overlooking the lovely walled garden. We chose from a wide selection of fruits, cereals and cooked dishes, my husband's favourite being scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on toast and mine the incomparable Craister kipper fillet with brown bread and butter. Greycroft is located in a private road with designated parking spaces for residents. The town centre and its main places of interest, including Alnwwick Castle are a only a short walk away. Audrey had asked us to think of Greycroft as our home while we were there and we soon felt so 'at home' that we found ourselves saying 'Time to go home now' at the end of an outing. We have no hesitation in recommending Greycroft to anyone visiting Alnwick and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our stay at Greycroft was excellent, one of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed in. Tom and Audrey are a lovely couple and have obviously worked very hard to achieve their high standards. We would love to go back again - can't wait. Alnwick and the surrounding area has plenty on offer - both Tom and Audrey are only too pleased to tell you anything you want to know about their area, as well as the many good food places to eat at. Try the food at the Tower Restaurant it's yummie.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had to take my 12 year old to see the Alnwick Castle where "Harry Potter" was filmed. I needed a central accomodation since I would not have a car. The Greycroft was only a few minutes walking distance from the Castle and anywhere you needed to reach in town. For breakfast there is a full menu, but since we are on dietary restrictions, the owners were more than happy to adjust the items for us. The rooms were very clean and the area was quiet. Owners are very knowlegeable on the area and will help set up taxi's and give you tour and site seeing information.

Room Tip: The family room is very spacious with enough room to comfortably fit four. Two adults and two childr...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fgiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
1.0 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,061 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 69 in Alnwick
598 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#25 of 69 in Alnwick
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greycroft

Address: Greycroft Croft Place, Alnwick NE66 1XU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $81 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greycroft 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Greycroft you are guaranteed a warm and friendly welcome from Tom and Audrey. Greycroft is a delightful six-bedroom Victorian guest house in the Conservation Area of Alnwick, the heart of Northumberland. There are 1 Single, 1 Twin and 4 Double rooms, all en-suite. Located away from the noise and bustle of the High Street, but only a two-minute walk from Alnwick town centre and local amenities and a further short stroll to Alnwick Castle and Garden. Situated in Croft Place, a private road offering car parking adjacent to to the house, Greycroft enjoys a South-facing high walled garden that has been described as 'An Oasis in the centre of town'. The garden is there for guests to enjoy. We take pride in using the finest local ingredients to produce our award-winning breakfasts. We offer a varied and interesting breakfast menu and can cater for most food allergies and intolerances. We are certain that, if you come to stay with us, you will not leave disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greycroft Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing