We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveler rating
548
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
548
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen roomtom's breakfastslindisfarne meadlocal areatea and biscuitsattention to detailfirst classperfect hostsbottled watereggs benedictoverlooking the gardenplaces to visitbarter bookstown centreon arrivalpretty gardenhome from home
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 556 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Greycroft easily surpassed our highest expectations in all regards. Tom and Audrey are the most wonderful hosts, ensuring our stay in Alnwick was one never to be forgotten. In pretty much all respects Greycroft reflects the wonder, magic and modesty of the beautiful county of Northumberland. Nothing was too much trouble for Tom and Audrey. They greeted us with warmth and a tray of coffee and biscuits, provided great information on places to eat, served breakfast just perfectly. Greycroft, such an enchanting home and Tom and Audrey as wonderful hosts. really do deserve all the accolades they recieve on this site. A great big thank you. Richard

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Greycroft met all expectations created by the glowing reviews seen here which is no mean feat.
Great rooms - kept to a high standard with quality fittings - excellent shower.
Great location - close to Alnwick town centre AND Barters Books.
But above all it's the attitude of the hosts that put Greycroft above so many places to stay.
Some of the big expensive hotels would do well to take just a fraction of Audrey and Tom's efficient charm.

In a very desperate attempt at providing constructive feedback:
I'd have liked a bath even though the shower was first rate and better than I've had in five star hotels.
The wi-fi was a bit hit and miss but I have problems with that at home too.

As you can see I'm not left with much to go on! I think the best testimony you'll see here is the family which took over Greycroft for their daughters wedding - a very important time and Greycroft didn't disappoint.

I don't give a five rating lightly - this place really deserves it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Green Room - large but cosy too.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomboy99, Owner at Greycroft, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thanks for your 'Excellent' Review.

We can't put a bath in the Shower Room - designed for shower!

But we have today installed a 'Netgear Universal WiFi Ranger Extender' in the hope of extending WiFi from the Guest Lounge and some bedrooms to all bedrooms.

We appreciate good reviews and constructive criticism. Yours, both, were appreciated!

Thanks,

Tom & Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Audrey and Tom couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful when we "took over" Greycroft for our daughter's wedding. Allowing us to use the dining room to dress 100 gingerbread men favours was more than generous! By the time we left for the church we felt Sarah was leaving from our home rather than a hotel.
The rooms and food were excellent and we will certainly return for a quiet few days for two in the not too distant future.
Highly recommended for excellence and the important personal touch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireCag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This has to be the best B&B we have ever encountered. From the warmest of welcomes from Tom and Audrey as soon as we arrived, with a huge array of material on what to see and do, and where to eat, to the immaculate and comfortable room fitted and supplied with everything you could think of, our stay at Greycroft made our first trip to Northumbria a very memorable and enjoyable experience. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

A great place to stay, an immaculate B & B only a few minutes walk from the centre of Alnwick. Audrey and Tom are excellent hosts and very knowledgeable of the area and local places to eat, all of those we tried were good including the unique Treehouse which Audrey booked for us and is not to be missed. An excellent breakfast each day and help yourself to sherry, mead, fresh fruit, sweets and bottled water from the guests fridge helped to make the stay special. We stayed in the Red Room which overlooked the garden at the rear and was quite large and very well appointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jediknight340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews