We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big room, couple of niggles.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Ranked #32 of 66 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big room, couple of niggles.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed just for one night, a Saturday night. Arrived in the early evening, a very attentive barmaid showed me to the room, the bathroom and made sure everything was OK. I was staying in the single room, so the bathroom is not en-suite, but is for exclusive use just down the corridor, which is fine by me and means that the bedroom is bigger than it would have been if they'd tried to squeeze a bathroom in - there was plenty of space for myself and my stuff. Well-provisioned courtesy tray and a decent sized TV.

There's no food on in the evening, but the pub is right in the centre of town and there's plenty of choice - I went just round the corner to the Chinese takeaway. Morrison's supermarket is even nearer if you fancy a snack.

Went downstairs later and the pub was very nice.

Two niggles. The single room has no windows to the outside, but does have a long window at the top of the opposite wall to the bed which gives onto the corridor, which was lit all night and meant that I couldn't get the room completely dark, which woke me up once during the night, and then earlier than I would have liked in the morning. Also the bathroom does not have a shower, but was perfectly clean, although they had left the shower gel bottles left by previous guests in the room. I thought this was a nice touch but might not be to some guests' taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    16
    9
    11
See reviews for
19
62
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for one night to attend a wedding in Alnwick, we found the Market tavern very comfortable and clean, the staff are a credit to the management, Chantelle deserves a special thank you for her impeccable manners and professional approach to her job she was very helpful from beginning to end, the breakfast was done perfectly and was very nice. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly for service and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a little noisy at night, but there again it is a pub in the town centre so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suton81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasco81
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had 2 nights at this pub + B&B, situated in the centre of Alnwick. Was at first a bit miffed at lack of parking, but, simple solution provided by our Fab host, Camilla. Bring the car round at 6pm, park outside, obtain ticket, time states 10am next morning !!! Easy. The room was clean, bright and airy. Ample tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, all you need. The breakfast was unbelievable. The bacon and sausage was of exceptional quality, for a bed and breakfast. The building IS old [its an old tavern], they have made the best of it and the young staff have breathed new life into it. I wish them every success. Its a B&B in an old tavern, doesnt pretend to be a 5* hotel, so embrace this and give them a visit. You wont be disappointed. The staff looked after us very well, We will visit again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rasco81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I spent a night here while visiting castles, Holy Island, etc in Northumberland. It was reasonably priced and the rooms were pretty well furnished. The room itself showed its age a bit, but it wasn't really a problem. The windows look out on the town market and it's a nice enough view. Breakfast was pretty good (full English). Nothing spectacular, but better than you get at some of the poorer greasy spoon cafes.

I was expecting the tavern part of it to have a little more charm. The decor feels very much like a pub, but the three cask ale taps were all sitting empty on a Saturday in August, which leads me to believe this pub does not plan to do cask ales anymore. A real shame. They seemed more concerned with cheap shooters, lagers, and mixed drinks.

It really felt like a bar aimed at the teen/early 20s crowd stuffed in pub decor. They had a couple of the cheap, tacky, and flashy pub fruity type games and drink specials pushing quantity over quality.

Overally, I was really looking forward to having a nice pint or two before heading up to bed, but the bar atmosphere totally turned my wife and I off to it. If you like shooters and crappy lager, the tavern portion might be for you, but it doesn't fit the B&B or pub/inn mold.

It was loud until 2am or so when I presume they closed. That didn't really bother us. We expected it, but we were really hoping for a better pub experience. We've stayed in other pubs and had a great time. We didn't get any of that cozy small-town pub feel here.

So in short, come for the reasonably priced and comfortable rooms, skip the bar downstairs (there are a couple of better pubs in town, anyway).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, East Yorks
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent 2 nights B&B here. Not a bad little place and very close to the market square. No parking for residents - and charges apply per hour with no return. Only place to park all day and free is outside working mens' club, also parking (charges apply) at Morrisons supermarket around the back.

The room was fine, all amenities - although didn't replenish buscuits next day and didn't re-make bed! As for the loo ..... well it made noises - a long burrrrr sound on a regular basis - day and night - and once stopped making this noise - there was what I can only put politely as an interesting aroma. The noise is very disconcerting particularly when using the loo.

The bath/shower had a step up with no grab rails - H&S would have a field day.

We had breadkfast - though passing the bar loo, there was that 'interesting aroma' .. not pleasant. Breakfast was OK. Staff were polite. We didn't eat there on an evening so cannot comment.

Despite the toilet noise, I would probably visit agian - but the aroma would have to go first!

Room Tip: this is a pub near the centre of the town. Not overly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roar-Nfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here on 4th Aug 2012.

Credit to the staff at the Market Tavern, they were brill and just what we expected from our North East hosts , however the pub/hotel is a bit shabby. The beds were very comfy and the rooms clean but the bathroom was in need of a serious renovation. We found handles hanging off doors, drapes covering stained walls and awful pub toilets etc.

Breakfast was passable but not great. It would have been great to have some locally produced sausages but we were served cheap alternatives.

The location in the town centre was great and within walking distance of Alnwick Castle and Gardens.

Overall I wouldnt recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont choose the attic Room 4, my wife complained of the noisy cistern all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at Market Tavern when attending wedding party at Alnwick Gardens. Very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Friendly staff, very quiet and lovely breakfast. Parking is easy £1.60 outside the hotel. Spot on location for Alnwick garden. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#62 of 66 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#48 of 66 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#25 of 66 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 66 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tate House
Tate House
#21 of 66 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Market Tavern and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Tavern and Lodge

Property: The Market Tavern and Lodge
Address: 7 Fenkle Street, Alnwick NE66 1HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Market Tavern and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Tavern was taken over, refurbished and reopened in March 2016. A family friendly run pub restaurant and lodge with a smart, fun atmosphere serving a wide variety of lagers, real ales, spirits and soft drinks. A tremendous wine list accompanies the eclectic food offering. Great food in the bar and Steakhouse. Live bands play some Friday evenings, and it's very popular with the locals and visitors to the area. We are located in the centre of town and a two minute walk to the castle and gardens. The Steakhouse has opened to rave reviews, serving amazing Northumbrian steaks, and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Market Tavern and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Market Tavern And Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing