We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointing!”
Review of The Plough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough
Ranked #39 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing!”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband & I stayed in this hotel on the eve of our wedding & the night of our wedding. So did many of our wedding guests , all of whom were disappointed with the standards of the rooms facilities in the hotel and the staff's attitudes. The rooms are decorated nicely but the appearance is very deceiving.

The room we were in had a fridge which did not work, a T.V which would not change channel and a blind which was broken which resulted in us returning from our wedding and having to sit for 40 minutes whilst the night porter fiddled with it. He couldn't fix it so we were taken to a room across the corridor that was tiny and had the most dreadful sewage smell in there. VERY DISAPPOINTING!

There is no room service (no phones in any of the rooms to call for drinks etc) if you do go down to reception (which is actually the bar of the hotel) there was never anyone there. This resulted in playing find a staff member. It was all very irritating.

The cleaning staff ( and I really don't like to say this but sadly it is just a fact) were the rudest most common women I think I've ever come accross.

On the morning of my wedding whilst I was getting myself ready and being happy, these two wisoned old ladies had nothing better to do than moan about other guests who were staying in the hotel to me( not my business what anyone else is or is not doing in the hotel). They wanted to be in my room when it was not at all convenient.I found them to be extremely offensive and rude in their tone and manner. If you asked for anything there wasn't once a thank you sir or madam. They were overly familiar with us. Not in a friendly way. In a rude, inappropriate way.

The bathroom door was broken i.e it would not stay shut of its own accord. This was very irritating and caused embarrassing problems when my bridesmaid or I needed the loo and the photographer was present.

The breakfast they supplied was ok. So there's a positive.I guess if you wanted to stay here for just the night and then go off for the day it'd be fine, but for a wedding party - bad news and do avoid it! Rooms are small and not much room to walk about the bed.

There appears to be a drainage problem in this hotel. All our guets and ourselves complained about the awful sewage smell in every room.

I hated my stay here and so did all our guests. Avoid it.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel. Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TinkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    75
    40
    23
    24
See reviews for
30
136
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Myself and a friend stayed here on a fri and sat night.when we arrived there was no reception to check in nor any staff around! Had to wait ages for a member of staff to assist us.the window was facing the drive into the car park so each time you got changed you had to shut the blind as people could see straight into our room!the bathroom stank of sewerage and made awful gurgling noises ALL night.the following day we was pulled aside by an unsavoury female staff member that "told us off" like school children for smoking in the room,however it was nowhere stated that smoking was not permitted. A book appeared on our bed open paged quoting "you will be fined 50.00 for smoking in this room.hammering/maintenance work going on outside our window Sunday lunchtime.staff were unorganised,no phone in the room,I also had to ask for the heating to be put on..twice. It was freezing in the room! Bed was 2singles bolted together with a sponge topper that made you roll into the middle. Some light bulbs were out also thick dust on bedroom furniture! Total rip off for 100.00 a night. A stay at the ritz can be found cheaper! Never again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuckanpliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel is well decorated and the rooms are nice but we had to tolerate 2 nights of sewer stink coming from the shower and toilet in our room. Something to do with the type of plumbing apparently but it was so very bad. Also we had 4 recess lights not working in our room which made the lighting very bad. Food is good but service is terrible and at breakfast there was not one single table cleaned. I certainly do not think it is worth the 115 GBP per night. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is well appointed and the staff are courteous and helpful. However, the heat in the bedrooms in the main building is unacceptable. The radiators have no thermostat controls and are extremely hot. One of our rooms had no ventilation and my son was forced to leave the hotel very early. We complained and were told the heating would be off but on leaving I complained again and was told ' that's the heating!' It seems the annexe can be cold but that should be a separate issue. We have emailed and written to the manager but no one has replied. Disappointing. This is obviously a winter hotel! Spoiled an otherwise perfect family weekend

Room Tip: Check if the windows open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niddry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We paid for my parents to stay in Blackmores for 2 nights whilst they were visiting us from Spain. My Mum told me from the moment they arrived they were "pampered" by the very attentive staff. They said the rooms were fantastic, clean and comfortable.

The food was amazing, both at breakfast, lunch & dinner. They loved the quality of the food so much they didnt venture out to other restuarants in Alnwick!

Just want to say thanks Blackores for making my parents stay in Alnwick memorable

Room Tip: All rooms perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddragonYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

we arrived on the night of our wedding day, staff were lovely and approachable, very very helpful, bedroom was gorgeous and the bed........ well! my own bed isn't that cosy!! the shower was amazing we now feel our own dribbles on us, the breakfast was brilliant!! and the toilet wasn't loud as previously mentioned by a past customer on this review site, some people just love to complain!! we will defiantly be back
Mr and Mrs Walker

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMrsWalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very friendly staff, though far too few ie bar staff checked us in, not soap etc in the room, at breakfast the cleaners had to be called into serve, and no one at reception to sign out at 9.30am. only the overworked breakfast waitress. The breakfast was fine - avoid ground floor room in the annexe - noisy traffic.
Real concern that if an emergency at night, no night porter, no phone in the room, and no reception on our mobile - we felt rather isolated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank law43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,005 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 67 in Alnwick
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#63 of 67 in Alnwick
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tate House
Tate House
#25 of 67 in Alnwick
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#26 of 67 in Alnwick
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Property: The Plough
Address: 24 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PN, England (Formerly Blackmore's of Alnwick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackmore`s Of Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
Blackmores Hotel Alnwick
The Plough Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing