We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Plough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plough
Ranked #35 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel is well decorated and the rooms are nice but we had to tolerate 2 nights of sewer stink coming from the shower and toilet in our room. Something to do with the type of plumbing apparently but it was so very bad. Also we had 4 recess lights not working in our room which made the lighting very bad. Food is good but service is terrible and at breakfast there was not one single table cleaned. I certainly do not think it is worth the 115 GBP per night. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    76
    42
    24
    24
See reviews for
31
141
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is well appointed and the staff are courteous and helpful. However, the heat in the bedrooms in the main building is unacceptable. The radiators have no thermostat controls and are extremely hot. One of our rooms had no ventilation and my son was forced to leave the hotel very early. We complained and were told the heating would be off but on leaving I complained again and was told ' that's the heating!' It seems the annexe can be cold but that should be a separate issue. We have emailed and written to the manager but no one has replied. Disappointing. This is obviously a winter hotel! Spoiled an otherwise perfect family weekend

Room Tip: Check if the windows open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niddry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We paid for my parents to stay in Blackmores for 2 nights whilst they were visiting us from Spain. My Mum told me from the moment they arrived they were "pampered" by the very attentive staff. They said the rooms were fantastic, clean and comfortable.

The food was amazing, both at breakfast, lunch & dinner. They loved the quality of the food so much they didnt venture out to other restuarants in Alnwick!

Just want to say thanks Blackores for making my parents stay in Alnwick memorable

Room Tip: All rooms perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddragonYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

we arrived on the night of our wedding day, staff were lovely and approachable, very very helpful, bedroom was gorgeous and the bed........ well! my own bed isn't that cosy!! the shower was amazing we now feel our own dribbles on us, the breakfast was brilliant!! and the toilet wasn't loud as previously mentioned by a past customer on this review site, some people just love to complain!! we will defiantly be back
Mr and Mrs Walker

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMrsWalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very friendly staff, though far too few ie bar staff checked us in, not soap etc in the room, at breakfast the cleaners had to be called into serve, and no one at reception to sign out at 9.30am. only the overworked breakfast waitress. The breakfast was fine - avoid ground floor room in the annexe - noisy traffic.
Real concern that if an emergency at night, no night porter, no phone in the room, and no reception on our mobile - we felt rather isolated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank law43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

115 pounds got us a noisy ground floor room with initially no hot water, peeling ceiling paintwork and damp, and a poor breakfast variety with finite amounts of drinks. Opposite was a pub which in the early hours would blare noises from Overexcited customers and as doors opened and slammed shut, the whole annex seemed to shake. Dark and poorly lit up. Not impressive....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumblybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brighton, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

After reading previous reviews on Trip Advisor (which I had failed to do before booking!) i wasn't expecting too much of this hotel, especially after we had just spent an excellent 3 nights at Moss Grove Organic hotel in Grasmere, Cumbria, which it would have been difficult to beat. However, we were given a very nice room which may have been one of the larger ones, in the main hotel. We were paying boutique hotel prices and the standard of the room was what you would expect. The cleanliness and comfort were certainly up to standard. The breakfasts were fine although sometimes we had to let the staff know we were in the dining room - again this was probably down to the fact there weren't a lot of guests. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were a bit nervous of the fact that the reception was part of the bar and since it was hardly ever manned we didn't like to leave our room key there when going out - the bar often got busy and anyone could easily reach over the counter. Also if we had had any problems we would have needed to search out someone (who would not have been a dedicated receptionist) to deal with it.
There still seems to be a problem with accessing the wi-fi not only in the room but even at the bar!. I was allowed to use the hotel computer to check some essential business emails.
We got the impression that the hotel is trying hard but maybe there are some basic issues to be addressed which could make this a very desirable place to stay being situated in Alnwick right near the castle and gardens and in a good position for touring the beautiful Northumberland coast.
We wouldn't be put off going back here to stay but it would be good to think they could improve some of these things.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#7 of 67 in Alnwick
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#36 of 67 in Alnwick
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tate House
Tate House
#28 of 67 in Alnwick
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#23 of 67 in Alnwick
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Property: The Plough
Address: 24 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PN, England (Formerly Blackmore's of Alnwick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackmore`s Of Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
Blackmores Hotel Alnwick
The Plough Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing