We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced for a sleepless night”
Review of The Plough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plough
Ranked #37 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2011

115 pounds got us a noisy ground floor room with initially no hot water, peeling ceiling paintwork and damp, and a poor breakfast variety with finite amounts of drinks. Opposite was a pub which in the early hours would blare noises from Overexcited customers and as doors opened and slammed shut, the whole annex seemed to shake. Dark and poorly lit up. Not impressive....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bumblybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for The Plough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 269 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

After reading previous reviews on Trip Advisor (which I had failed to do before booking!) i wasn't expecting too much of this hotel, especially after we had just spent an excellent 3 nights at Moss Grove Organic hotel in Grasmere, Cumbria, which it would have been difficult to beat. However, we were given a very nice room which may have been one of the larger ones, in the main hotel. We were paying boutique hotel prices and the standard of the room was what you would expect. The cleanliness and comfort were certainly up to standard. The breakfasts were fine although sometimes we had to let the staff know we were in the dining room - again this was probably down to the fact there weren't a lot of guests. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were a bit nervous of the fact that the reception was part of the bar and since it was hardly ever manned we didn't like to leave our room key there when going out - the bar often got busy and anyone could easily reach over the counter. Also if we had had any problems we would have needed to search out someone (who would not have been a dedicated receptionist) to deal with it.
There still seems to be a problem with accessing the wi-fi not only in the room but even at the bar!. I was allowed to use the hotel computer to check some essential business emails.
We got the impression that the hotel is trying hard but maybe there are some basic issues to be addressed which could make this a very desirable place to stay being situated in Alnwick right near the castle and gardens and in a good position for touring the beautiful Northumberland coast.
We wouldn't be put off going back here to stay but it would be good to think they could improve some of these things.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B-Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Room 12 was in the annex and a good size, however the paintwork was very damaged and scuffed, so it felt a bit like we were in a room not used very often. The bed was two singles pushed together, however had a matress protecter on top to try and provide additional comfort. Bathroom was small and compact- toilet, sink and shower. Sink shelf had been removed, but the brackets were still there which looked a little odd.

Staff quick to help us when the TV wouldn't work. Annoying that you can't ring reception from the room, so you have to go and report any problems.

Very small window overlooking carpark so not attractive view.

Breakfast was lovely and great choice available, staff friendly and helpful too.

Overall an enjoyable stay, not sure if it was worth £110 a night. However having walked round Alnwick and looked at the other accomodation options, feel we made the best choice in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CProctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The building from the outside is lovely and when we checked in at reception we thought we had made a great choice. The bar was done out all nice and the menu at the restaurant looked impressive. We then got given the keys to number 11 and taken to the shed next door where our room was located.

Our dungeon room had a tiny window that looked out onto a dead twig and a brick wall. The low ceiling, lack of a/c and windows that dont open made us thankful we hadnt come in summer.

The double bed was 2 singles bolted together, this meant that it sagged in the middle where it joined. Oh and the bathroom was not what we had expected - it was like something out of the flintstones. It sounded like a dinosaur growling each time either we or next door flushed the toilet or went into the shower.

The breakfast was fine, but nothing special. Such a shame because it is in a great location, the staff were all very lovely - its just not as quality as the management make out.

Paying £100 a night you'd expect a good bed and a decent bathroom (an actual bath would be nice!) at the very least.

Certainly not as good as something else in the same price range - like the Hotel du Vin etc etc

Save yourself £50 and book a b&b instead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikil_Plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We arrived 13.00 on a cold day after a long journey. I suspect the receptionist had better rooms available but put us into two small, dismal and very cold annex rooms (even though they knew it was a special occasion for us). Very noisey in rooms - internal motors in toilet /shower (no bath) systems and lots of street noise throughout our sleepless night. Worse still, they booked-in a couple who just wanted to get drunk at 21.00 on the same night. They arrived back at 02.30 and kept everyone awake with their drunken shouting. No help from night porter who was aware of the problem. The hotel is not maintained well, e.g. many blown light bulbs throughout hotel. The breakfast was okay but beware, some buffet options had expired 'use by' dates.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

we travelled last november for our wedding at the alnwick gardens, and booked out the entire hotel for our guests. the staff were superb, very helpful with the planning and organisation of the rooms for our party, willing to make last minute changes and offering prefferential room rates for a large party booking.
we also enjoyed a meal the evening before for all our guests in the bistro which was also superb, and the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout. on the day of the wedding, we all decamped to alnwick gardens, but the staff had agreed to leave the bar open late for our return, and basically stayed open until the last person left (despite being sunday).
breakfast was also delicious, and rooms very comfortable. cannot recommend highly enough and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lishy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Arrived 2nd Jan- big room with big bed in main hotel (we took note of comments about annex). Some traffic noise as room facing front of hotel, especially on bin day, and slightly disappointed by small failures: heating off - bathroom door did not shut - stained bath mat - beds not made next day and no Wi-Fi. But once full staffing resumed all was well - except for bathroom door which never shut and no Wi-Fi! Assured door to be fixed and problems with Wi-Fi to be resolved. Friendly helpful staff, good food including great breakfast, relaxing and ideally situated for walking and exploring. Very sad that already fully booked in May/June when we hoped to return. Lovely stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClinaC_Winchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,063 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#11 of 69 in Alnwick
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tate House
Tate House
#29 of 69 in Alnwick
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#34 of 69 in Alnwick
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgian Guest House
Georgian Guest House
#38 of 69 in Alnwick
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: 24 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PN, England (Formerly Blackmore's of Alnwick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackmore`s Of Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
Blackmores Hotel Alnwick
The Plough Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing