We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Aln House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aln House
Ranked #6 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

What can I say, except for us it was the perfect stay. I loved the top floor room, it was cosy yet quite large enough. Great thought was given to our comfort by Jean and Bill, who were a really fun, pleasant couple.
The location was good and close enough to various eateries to make driving uneccesary in the evening. Also the proximity of lots of interesting houses and beaches was great.
We would both stay at Aln House again, in my opinion the service was better than most hotels and the lack of phones and emails made such a pleasant change..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mygardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
287
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at Aln House for two nights, in the blue room, which was fairly small, but very pretty and it had everything we needed. The ensuite was a good size, with a decent shower. Lots of lovely little touches in the room - it was really cosy. The breakfasts were amazing - lots of nice fresh fruit as well as cooked breakfasts. All in all, a great stay. Would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Had a fabulous stay at the Aln House. Jean and Bill were really lovely and helpful. The breakfast choice was second to none! A short walk took you into the centre of Alnwick, which is a really nice town with its fantastic castle and gardens. Can't fault this place at all and would highly recommend it to anyone. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

From the friendly welcome to the final goodbye, this was an excellent B&B. The high ceilinged rooms gave a spacious feeling to the rooms. Ours was bright, clean and spacious. The location is quiet, so with the comfortable beds, sleep was easy. The piece de resistance is the breakfast. With our four day stay, it was a different breakfast every day. The quality was very good and to cap it all they had Marmite!!! I've found this rare in most B&B's I've stayed in. This is a high class B&B, look it out, enjoy a stay there. If you don't like it there's something wrong with you!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldmanLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Aln House is a B & B on the edge of town. The rooms are clean, tidy and well presented, and there are a number of thoughtful touches in the rooms. The breakfast menu offers a wide selection of tasty dishes. Unfortunately we stayed in one of the rooms under the eaves, which meant lugging bags up two flights of stairs to a small landing from which three doors opened. We stayed in the room on the left, a 'cozy' room that was smaller than the photo on the web site led us to believe. The lack of a bath did not bother me, but it could some people. There also needs to be some world wide standard for describing bed size. The advertised 'king bed' was bigger than a double, yes, but in future I will ask for the measurements of the bed to save disappointment. The lack of available wi-fi was also unfortunate. This is the first place I have stayed for many years that does not offer this. Wi-fi has become such a common feature of accommodation that I did not even think to enquire if it was available at Aln House. If you stay here, ask for a room on the first floor. And a tip, the fantastic second hand bookshop Barters Books offers free wi-fi (a pity the stand in manager of Aln House didn't know that).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GallivantAndInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed at the Aln House early August (apologies for the delay in posting this review) on our first visit to the area and from arrival realised how good it was. We were met by Jean, who is a superb host, and offered tea and cake after being showed to our room. Our bedroom was tastefully furnished with every attention to detail being thought of as mentioned in other reviews. The breakfasts were superb with Bill doing a great job in the kitchen.
The location is ideal being a short (10 minute) walk in to the town where there is a good selection of restaurants and within easy travelling distance of all the main tourist sites.
All in all a superb break. We think we found a 'hidden gem' and will be definitely returning in
the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Aln House is a very clean, well appointed and beautifully decorated B&B. Our room was spacious, light, airy and equipped with all the extras associated with a far more extensive hotel such as plentiful high quality toiletries, delightful tea/coffee/hot chocolate makings, bath robes, deluxe towels, a decanter of sherry, up-to-date magazines, biscuits and chocolates, plus a most comfortable double bed. Jean and Bill Armstrong are very knowledgeable hosts offering pertinent and detailed travel advice for the local area. They also have an extensive range of brochures on local events, places to eat, places to visit and similar details. Aln House has a very welcoming lounge downstairs equipped with a good selection of novels and books on local places, a TV/DVD/video and a few board games. The house is located a relaxing 10 minute stroll into the centre of Alnwick and is a 2-minute simple, direct drive off the A1 with ample off-street parking immediately outside the premise. Finally, and of greatest enjoyment, the breakfasts are superb with a wide choice of gourmet-style hot dishes together with fresh fruit, cereals, tea, coffee, toast and jams/marmalade. I cannot recommend Aln House highly enough. it is an exemplar of how a B&B should be.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
7.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#23 of 67 in Alnwick
274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 67 in Alnwick
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aln House

Property: Aln House
Address: Aln House South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aln House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aln House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing