We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Acre House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Acre House
Ranked #2 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We didn't get to stay at the hotel as after we had placed a booking, answered all the relevant questions and handed over our credit card details we then got a phone call 45 minutes later after we had purchased rail tickets, to inform us that we couldn't book 3 out of the 4 rooms available as one of our guests is a 10 year old. I stated at the time of booking that I was sharing a room with my child yet it took them 45 minutes to decide they did not want us. Not only did I find their manner offensive they also had no regard for the fact that we had now made travel arrangements based on the expectation of a competent and quality service. This is the worst customer service I have had for quite some time.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Hopefultraveller030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlnwickWanderer, Co_proprietor at West Acre House, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Dear Trip Advisor, we did receive a telephone call from this lady whilst we were in a the middle of our evening meal, I explained that I would email her later regarding the booking once our meal was finished. she said would be sharing a room with her son, no age was mentioned. A short while later I rang back to clarify the age of her son, she stated that he was 10 yrs old, I apologised that we could not take the booking as our policy was minimum age of 15yrs, this is our 'stated' policy, and is in several obvious places on our website. (Due to our policy we receive many guests who value a quiet break away from young children) After I brought this to the lady’s attention she became agitated and I again apologised that we could not accept the booking, at all times remaining calm and polite.
The lady became rude and offensive on the phone and accused me of not bringing the 'age policy' to her attention at the time of booking, but as she been looking at our website and had not volunteered the age of her son at the time of booking I was unaware of his age and as I was preparing an evening meal it slipped my mind to ask, that's why I politely called her back for clarification. She had given me her credit card details which is normal, I am an authorised operator for a large bank using their pdq machine, however no transaction took place and her details were shredded. She was informed of this. I also brought to her attention other accommodation in the area who actually had family rooms and who took younger children. I did all that I could in a professional and amicable way to help her and I thought we parted company in a civilised manner. I later received an email from her thanking me for handling her credit card details securely.

We pride ourselves in running a very good quality guest house and have the comfort of our guests in our mind at all times. Unfortunately there will be times when we do not live up to everyone's expectations, we apologise for this but do try our best!
Bruce Hewison Co-Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
454
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

I am so often disappointed with accommodation in the UK. I get fed us with complaining and it always takes the edge off my stay and trip. Not in this case I am for once able to walk away with great memories. The welcome was lovely (how did they know i love Fruit cake) The room was spotless, the bed amazing, the house stunning and advise spot on. If one can take time out to complain one can also take time out to complement.
Thank you both so much for your hospitality, we will recommend people and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the West Acre House and completely relaxed in the luxurious surroundings. The attention to detail was obvious and we had a lovely large room with good sized bathroom and walk in wadrobe. It was a peacful stay and Bruce and Jeanette were very welcoming, they respected your privacy yet were on hand to give advice of were to vist and the best paces to eat in Alnwick. The decor was like being home from home for us and would certainly recommend West Acre Hose to our friends.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CottageTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

Excellent room, very quiet. Sevice friendly and helpful but know when to respect privacy. Good location for walk into town. Our third visit; highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GazYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed last weekend and found Bruce and Jeannette to be so welcoming and their home to be incredibly comfortable.. The room was lovely and my poached eggs were perfect after an excellent wedding at the castle. I really appreciated the excellent (and not to mention highly restorative) coffee!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

My partner and I have stayed here 3 years running and are going again at the end of March 2010. Out of all of the places we have stayed, West Acre House is the only one that we would recommend as we know it is always brilliant!!

Bruce and Jeanette make you feel welcome the moment you step in the door. You are offered a slice of cake and cup of tea. We were so relaxed that it was hard to move up to our room.

The rooms are beautiful, very clean and so comfortable. You are given supplementary sherry and nibbles, fresh fruit too. Breakfast is great. It is real luxury!!

Nothing is too much trouble and if you need any information about the area, things to do, places to see or were to eat Bruce and Jeanette are extremely helpful.

We will be visiting again in the summer months!

Definitely the place to stay if your visiting Alnwick.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFrankHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband and i stayed here for two nights over new year. The accommodation was second to none, the owners are extremely nice people who seem to be able to cater for your every need and needs you didnt even think about yourself. They went above and beyond and made our stay very special. You may think it a little pricey but believe me it's well worth every penny and excellant value for money. We will definitely stay here again and again and again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfretwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 69 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Hope & Anchor
The Hope & Anchor
#6 of 12 in Alnmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Property: West Acre House
Address: West Acres House West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Acre House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing