We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Stay”
Review of West Acre House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Acre House
Ranked #1 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Hull East Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“First Class Stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay and we have to agree with all the reviews
A true gem of Northumberland hospitality
Excellent house and gardens, very tranquil, within ten minutes walk of Alnwick centre
Bruce and Jeanette are first class hosts nothing is to much trouble to make your stay enjoyable
We had the Edwardian Room which overlooks the lovely garden
The whole house is decorated to a very high standard and immaculately presented
With an excellently prepared breakfast to set up your day we cannot recommend
this true B&B high enough

Room Tip: All excellent we had the Edwardian room with lovely view over the immaculate gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Richard s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
476
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Without doubt a truly outstanding B&B! Our fourth stay at West Acres lived up to all our expectations. We really liked the newly decorated Parisian room. Jeanette and Bruce are to be praised for running such a fantastic establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Truly a five star B&B. Our first visit to Alnwick and to this B&B. On arrival, we was offered light refreshments in the garden room to relax. Tea, coffee and cakes. The rooms are large, yet cosy. Clean and warm. I cannot fault this place, location is great for local amenities and the hosts are very knowledgeable. A large selection for breakfast too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnpaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Jeannette and Bruce provide a wonderful and friendly service from the moment you enter their home. We stayed for 4 nights in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room the Spice Room, was very high quality with comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The breakfasts were excellent; I particularly enjoyed the Craster kippers. West Acres is a beautiful home with a wonderful ambience. It is well situated for walking into Alnwick and for trips throughout this part of Northumberland.We intend to return in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at West Acre House. From the moment we entered this wonderful house we felt an atmosphere of calm and individuality. The house and its grounds are beautiful, Jeanette and Bruce have thought of everything to make staying here very special. The rooms are all equipped beautifully and a lot of thought has gone into making sure everything we would need was available. Nothing was too much trouble, the food fantastic, and their knowledge of the surrounding area was very helpful. Superb location to discover the Northumberland coast and surrounding area. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights from August 12th. Warmly welcomed by Bruce with tea and cake, then shown round our room (Spice Room). Very high quality in all ways as was the bathroom, with attention to detail. The breakfast was superb and rather better than some "award winning" breakfasts we have enjoyed. Nothing was too much trouble for Jeanette and Bruce who couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekonscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the beautiful home of Jeanette and Bruce. Every part of the accommodation is simply first class as is the excellent breakfast. Every possible comfort has been thoughtfully provided, and were made so very welcome.
Simply the best

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oriental room overlooking the garden which was very pleasant. However I feel sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 67 in Alnwick
353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#23 of 67 in Alnwick
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Property: West Acre House
Address: West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Acre House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing