We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of West Acre House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Acre House
Ranked #1 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

There is no other way to desctribe this beautiful B&B only a few minutes walk from Alnwick Gardens and Castle. We stayed here for the first time at the end of March and will definitely be returning. Our room was lovely, spacious, clean and very comfortable. The little extras provided in our room, fruit, wine and sweets were much appreciated and there was everything you need for the perfect stay. There was plenty of choice for breakfast which was cooked perfectly and served in the lovely dining room. Bruce and Jeanette were the perfect hosts; friendly, helpful and very kind. Not only did Bruce recommend somewhere for us to have dinner, he booked the table for us. If you're visiting Alnwick, stay here, its perfect. Neville and Pauline Crook

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Neville and Pauline,
thank you for your absolutely wonderful review, we were really sorry that you had to cut short your stay but are really looking forward to your next visit, and hopefully for longer next time :-)

Best wishes

Bruce & Jeannette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for West Acre House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 598 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

7 years we have been staying at this excellant divine B&B. It has become our benchmark for any other B & B we stay at. Have found no other to compare. Bruce and Jeanette go over and above board in the welcome they extend. Relaxing in their company is the best. It should be awarded the highest award for a B & B in the whole of the UK. Its high standard in cleanliness and attention., hospitality just goes on and on. never waivers. Bruce is a wow with his breakfasts and Jeanette loves her flowers....and the rooms are so so comfy, just love being in our usual room . When it comes to deciding were to go away West Acres always comes top of the list , we make space for it every times

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite, large , sunny , comfortable and cosy. Bathrooms so spacious and warm and a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyous14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Joyous, thank you both for your lovely review, we know its not your first, but everyone is important and yours more so. Pleased you keep coming back, Joyous by name Joyous by nature ha ha ha. We do so look forward to you both visiting! AND don't forget to book for next year ;-)

Love and best wishes

Bruce & Jeannette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in the Edwardian Room, the room was fabulous the decor and furnishings to a very high standard, and nice extra touches. Breakfasts each morning were very good. Jeanette and Bruce very friendly and helpful. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RICHARD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Richard thank you both for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the new décor in the Edwardian Room it gave us great pleasure working on the design. We hope this is the first of many visits to Alnwick and to West Acre House. Your review was much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Bruce & Jeannette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked a two night stay at West Acre House in mid-March. As usual a very warm welcome met us on our arrival after a two hour car journey. We quickly relaxed in the company of Jeanette & Bruce. Cleanliness and attention to detail is second to none; the rooms are finished to an extremely high standard and everything has been thought of. Breakfasts are relaxed and informal with humourous banter and the food is first class. J&B are first class hosts and always go above and beyond to ensure that we have a great break. West Acre House can be thoroughly recommended and after many visits over the last 8 years it remains our first choice for a short break or long weekend by a large margin.

Room Tip: All rooms exude elegance and charm - you won't be disappointed by any of them
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProfessionals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Professionals, what can I say? It isn't often that we have the countries two top spies staying with us. I hope you didn't find out all of our secrets and will spend many years more trying to find out what it is that makes West Acre House such a top class B&B. Here is one secret traded for free, what makes it special, for us anyway, is the top level guests that we have staying ha ha ha.
Once again we enjoyed your stay, and the wine and lok forward to the next visit! ;-)

Fond regards

Bruce & Jeannette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our four night stay in March 2013 (during the snow and biting wind) was made so much better by the way that Bruce & Jeanette looked after us. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at West Acre House : comfortable room with lovely and generous extra touches; really good breakfasts to set us up for the day; and peaceful surroundings for us to relax in. We recommend this place very highly.

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely and warm.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear John, thank you both for your review which is very much appreciated, we enjoyed your stay as well! Next year we can hope for the 21c that you were hoping for this year!!

Kind regards

Bruce & Jeannette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is hardly a B & B in the conventional sense rather more a luxury room in the home of terrific hosts. Our recent 2 night stay in mid March 2013 was a pampered pleasure, the room was superior to many top rated hotel rooms we have stayed in and the breakfast was excellent each morning. Bruce and Jeanette looked after us really well offering great advice on local eating and visitor attractions, we hope to stay again in the not too distant future.

B & M A

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear LInda B thank you for your "First Class B&B" review, it is much appreciated, we have also awarded you the title "First Class Guests" you can pick up your award next time you come!!!

Kind regards

Bruce & Jeannette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Jeannette and Bruce make you feel at home throughout your stay. They go the extra mile to ensure your stay is perfect from the start, with the tea and homemade cake on arrival to the fruit and wine in your room each day. It’s a perfect location with a pub just 5 mins walk away and Alnwick town just 5 mins further. The house and gardens are beautiful, lovely spacious and well decorated rooms with an excellent and plentiful breakfast. A fantastic weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear I&J, thanks for the review which is greatly appreciated, we always look forward to you coming and also your your mum and dad. Hopefully next time you come the weather will be warmer!!
Regards

Bruce & Jeannette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,061 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#21 of 69 in Alnwick
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 69 in Alnwick
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Address: West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $156 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Acre House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing