We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of The Allenheads Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allenheads
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Allenheads Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Allenheads B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at The Allenheads Inn in early September 12, doing the C2C on bikes with 2 dads and 2 sons. The rooms are OK - clean and comfortable, the restaurant food was very good and reasonably priced and the breakfast was excellent. we stayed on Sunday night so it was a bit quiet but the locals were more than friendly and the landlady was great company.
We had a lovely time at the Hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All similar I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corona00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 165 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stopped at the hotel Wednesday night while doing the c2c - very welcoming manager and charming room. Had meal in the hotel which was very nice & most filling. Excellent Breakfast in the morning. Great charm with stuffed animals all around - check out the royal room!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at the nearby Allenheads Lodge (5 mins walk) on the C2C in July 2012. We were a group of 9 and on booking the accommodation were sent a menu for the Inn in order to pre-book our meal. The choice was more than adequate and the price was fantastic!! Ann communicated with us throughout the booking process so on our arrival to eat at 7pm everything was in order. The food was served on piping hot plates, the portions large by a waitress with a big smile on her face. The beer was good and the wine choice good too. We cannot understand the criticism of the landlord-he appeared to be a fair man who was keen to emphasise the fact that the whole village tried to 'fairly share out' the tourist trade that came their way. We would visit again...

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We read this sites reviews the night before staying and based on what we saw actively tried to avoid the place. I'm so glad our c2c day took longer than expected and we spent the evening at the Allenheads. Despite having a party of 40 at the time we had booked the staff bent over backwards to look after us. Service was good, as was the food and the home brewed Saddle sore beer was outstanding. The landlord who is depicted very badly here was delightful and despite being rushed off his feet talked to us for over 3 hours. This pub is just what you need after a days cycling not only would I visit again I wish it was my local.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed here in June with 2 friends whilst completing the C2C. The building is extremely interesting and characterful as are its people. Staff uniform is somewhere between extremely casual and non-existent, service happens and is somewhere between friendly and casual. I was allocated a damp feeling room overlooking the rear of the property, there was no TV, no radio/alarm clock, there was music coming through the walls(presumably from the kitchen below) and an irriatating electric pump noise. I gave it 30 mins before deciding it was the most depressing room I had ever been in and went to the bar insisting they provide me with a TV at the very least. Having previously been advised there was no spare TV I was moved into a different room at the top of the house with four single beds in it. A lovely room with a view over the village centre to the front and a TV! Instantly a happier customer. The food is basic pub grub served in massive portions. I do not for one moment understand why it is so cheap or large, they have a captive audience of diners and should charge more, to generate profit to invest in the buildings fabric. The Allenheads valley is extremely remote and like stepping back in time, for example there is no mobile signal, no wifi and no digital TV. There are two difficult climbs on the C2C in the first 2 hours out of Allenheads. I would stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinstonWineBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have stayed at the Allenheads Inn 4 times on the C2C, and it was the first place we looked at booking for this years C2C. Great location, food is excellent as is the beer, just what you want after a hard days cycling, the crack on a night is good and the locals are always entertaining. Not sure what other people on here were expecting, it is a pub in the middle of the countryside catering for predominately cyclists which it does well.. Will no doubt be booking again for next year

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
Thank ahodgen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

our group of 8 stayed here.It was great, thanks to Ann,the 'boss' Norrie, and Matthew the chef, they ll made us very welcome. Plenty of smiles and witty banter.
The food was delicious and it certainly came in 'big lads' portions, very welcome after 5/6 hours in the saddle. The steaks and the steak pie are top class.
It's a very old building, quirky and full of character. The open fire and the whole feel of the place is warm and unusual. It's not 5 star and clinical, but thats it's appeal.
Nice clean,comfortable beds.
I would certainly go back and would reccomend it.
Oh and the packed lunch was good too! Try the chicken pasta.

Room Tip: It's so remote ALL the rooms are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Allenheads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allenheads Inn

Address: The Village Square, Allenheads NE47 9HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allenheads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Allenheads
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century village inn, with letting rooms, is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty and right on the C2C cycle route. Fine ales and big helpings of tasty food washed down with some of the best real ales on offer. Camra and good pub guide. Accommodating cyclist, walkers, loaders and in the winter skiers who visit the local ski club. Offering b&b accommodation all year round. Dogs very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Allenheads Hotel Allenheads
The Allenheads Inn England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing