We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Hopping Hare(Northampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
52
73
31
33
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
73
31
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic valuesingle roomattending a weddingpowerful showerwould stay againvery pleasant staygood sizemain buildingstayed here for one nightsunday lunchnight's sleepfollowing morningyogurtpubensuitemains
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 213 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful rooms with friendly personal service.
Fantastic food, with great table service. Fantastic menu plus a wide range of specials.
The rooms are very clean and clearly well looked after.

Stay here whenever I'm in Northampton although its very busy these days and sometimes hard to get a room.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Rook_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Sara,

Thanks for you review, great to see your review, hope your new business is going well :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As part of Marstons inns the Pedigree beer was very good, the food however was disappointing and i could find nothing on the menu that was freshly cooked, also the eating/bar area was very basic and lacked any comfort or atmosphere not even a TV to watch the football .The breakfast however was excellent benefiting from FRESH cooking!
The staff were helpful but you could see it was being run on a shoestring and it is clear that Marstons need to spend some money on it .
The bedroom was average ,shower was powerful. I agree with previous reviewer dont expect anything exciting !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent two nights here, meeting up with 10 others for a reunion. The rooms are clean, ours was very hot though.
The food is typical pub fare, but good value for money. Breakfast was excellent and included in the room price. The pictures of the hotel suggest it is in pleasant country location, it isn't.
The hotel was ideal for what we wanted, but do not go to Weedon expecting anything exciting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendiedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just spent one night here on Sunday 3rd March. The room was well appointed with
everything you need, coffee, tea, flat screen television etc. The room and the ensuite where
both very clean.

The breakfasts were also of a very high standard, I had the "Full English" which was
excellent and set me up for the day, in fact I couldn't eat it all, 2 fried eggs, heaven!!. BUT .. I
did have a meal in the restaurant on the Sunday evening which was extremely disappointing.
I had stuffed chicken breast with a mushroom sauce which was served with seasonal
vegetables. The chicken seemed to be "boil in the bag" if it wasn't it was a pretty good
imitation, and the vegetables, new boiled potatoes were dry and had a strange "cardboardy"
taste, carrots and peas, all I guess had been "hanging around" for a long time.

I think the evening chef could do with a few tips from whoever cooks the breakfasts.

So in essence well worth staying but avoid the evening meal and eat out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabfreeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Firstly, my wife and me paid just £43 for a twin room on Saturday 2nd March which at that price was a bargain. Factor in two breakfasts the following morning [normal price around £8 each] then the cost of the room comes down to just £27 which I doubt could be beated by any hotel. So in terms of value for money the accommodation was great!

The reason why I have chosen not to award 5 stars is down to a rather poor evening meal. I opted for the double burger which came with a choice of three toppings and one sauce. I chose bacon, fried onions and muchrooms and asked for gravy [instead of a sauce] as I was having mash. Unfortunately the food when it arrived did not match my expectations.

I was hoping to see two 'proper' beefburgers but instead received two re-constituted 'processed' burgers i.e. not made with normal beef mince. Add to that one mushroom and the equivalent of a teaspoonful of fried onions and you will see that the meal was not exactly mouthwatering. I appreciate that with the offer of two main meals for the price of one, it looks value for money but it's not when the meal is poor and not very appetising.

By comparison, the breakfast was much better and extremely satisfying.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews