We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant suprise”

Kings Arms Thrapston
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Thrapston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked a table after reading reviews on Tripadvisor.
When we arrived the pub appeared a little run down and in need of TLC on the inside but what a surprise we had when we went upstairs to the restaurant.
It was bright warm and modern. The staff both in the bar and restaurant were friendly and service was good.
Food was very good and the portions were generous.
We would definitely recommend the restaurant

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little venue”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Small and cosy restaurant only seats about 20 people. Very good food. The menu was small but varied. The quality was very good. Staff attentive but discreet. A very pleasant experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“At long last !”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Finally a local pub in Thrapston that serves good evening meals at a reasonable price. We have been waiting for this for a long time ! Very helpful pleasant staff serving food of a very good standard - an excellent selection of dishes which we enjoyed enormously. We shall return !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MarsbarNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bar Food @ The Kings Arms”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

More than once now we have popped into the Kings to grab a bite to eat. We have used the restaurant upstairs and found it to be very good but I can also tell you that the Bar Food is also up to the same standard. The last time we went there for lunch my wife had the chicken burger and I had the Steak (5oz) and we were both very happy with what we got! Seriously well worth a visit, the steak, burger a very nice pint of bitter and a larger glass of wine was about £24. And the staff are very friendly and helpful too. Just wish the restaurant was open on Saturday lunch, its the only thing I can pick fault with but hopefully that may well change. But at least you can still get bar food!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gem of a restuarant hidden upstairs”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We ate here on Valentines day, There was an interesting menu and the food was very well presented. The staff were efficient, very attentive and friendly. The restaurant was very clean and the atmosphere was good and relaxed. I booked and requested a bottle of Bollinger. Bollinger was not on their wine list. But by the time we sat at our table, there was a bottle waiting in an ice bucket. Don't be put off by the pub, upstairs is a completely different experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Arms Thrapston also viewed

Thrapston, Northamptonshire
Thrapston, Northamptonshire
 
Thorpe Waterville, Northamptonshire
 
Thrapston, Northamptonshire
Thrapston, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Kings Arms Thrapston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing