We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent pub grub, nice location and welcolming staff”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our motto is simple! Keep it real! We are not looking to be a pretentious eatery or charge extortionate prices! We are proud to be in Silverstone and work hard to ensure Silverstone can be proud of us! It’s a real village pub with real village values! It's a place where those who love good, hearty food, real ales and excellent wines can go to properly enjoy them! It’s a local pub, using fresh ingredients from the surrounding area and drinks from local suppliers! It’s the hub of the local community where locals and visitors alike are guaranteed a warm welcome and great service! It’s a simple, honest pub, with a cosy interior and friendly staff who know their stuff! It’s everything that we think a pub should be! It's The White Horse, Silverstone!
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Decent pub grub, nice location and welcolming staff”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

food was decent (we had jalepeno popper and bread and oils to start) with dad having cod and chips for main and myself gammon and chips.

All were cooked well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank garryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    64
    29
    27
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly village pub”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Tonight we have had a lovely meal at the White Horse pub in the middle of Silverstone village. The lady who greeted us was very welcoming and the staff all very friendly. They have a new menu, the portions are very generous and the food was very tasty and well presented. We had the pate and fishcakes and for main course the ham egg & chips and the chicken and bacon stack. We could not manage a sweet and we have healthy appetites, it was all lovely. It is nice to see a busy village pub as these days too many of them are disappearing. Keep doing what you are doing please and we look forward to returning for another meal one evening. Thank you

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Village pub...”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nice little pub in the middle of Silverstone village. Having spent Friday watching the Grand Prix qualifier we visited the pub as always. Friendly staff, good service, lager priced ok....not far at all from the race circuit, or Hamilton Fields camp site. Didnt have any food but it looked nice from what I could see, and as we were leaving at lot more staff were coming on shift, so I would think there would be no problem getting served.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kir2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Such potential!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited for a Sunday lunch after being ejected from Silverstone for being in possession of Bella....it's a shaggy dog story.
After our experience we were delighted to be welcomed by the charming Will, chef and barman, and had a pleasant afternoon in the garden. The 2 course carvery menu was standard fayre, good value and served cheerfully (Well done new girl Kiera), although the vegetable selection could do with jazzing up! It's clear that the pub interior and its garden are ripe for some love and attention.
This could be a wonderful destination and local venue if someone is prepared to give it some TLC and turn it into a great British pub. We will be back to check it out in the future.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxx56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont visit”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

we had gone to silverstone for a race day for fathers day.
OMG-we entered via the garden to a mess of old furniture.
we went in and wasnt any better.
we had a table by the carvery and got no service.
we ordered and payed at the bar-told that the kids had to pay same price as adults for carvery when they have menu stating the price.-not on!!!
we waited for the carvery-the chef who had come in for a drink ended workin behind the bar and serving our carvery-we cleared our own plates and wrote our desserts ourselves and handed the order to the waitress who was tryin her best
(we watched in horror then saw the lady manager carve the beef holding it with her hand and cutting a slice)
will not visit again.
as its leaseheld the brewery needs to get involved.
such a shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 1974ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Whittlebury, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
Silverstone, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing