We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rothwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothwell
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times while on business and from previous stays have seen great improvements. The staff are faultless and always happy to accomodate any requests. This is a mid price range hotel with excellent restaurant/bar food available, disabled facilities and you can even take your dog with you, in dog designated rooms !
Improvements are being made slowly and this is evidently in progress on every visit, which is good to see, the new manager is obviously making great effort to refurb the place while causing as little disruption as possible to guests.
Our room on last visit was a recently refurbished one, tastefully done, was spotless and a credit to the staff.
The car parking space isn't huge but perfectly adequate and there is a lovely front terrace where you can watch the world go by over a cold beer in the summer.
All in all, for the prices of rooms, food and facilities you can't go far wrong here.
Well done and keep it up, it's looking great : )
We cannot fault this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were so happy to find a hotel that would take our two dogs but new from reading other reveiws we could be in for a shock!! When we got there it was difficult to park. Outside was a left over take away (with left over food) full of rain water.Cigertte ends at front door. No one at desk. Other guests soon let us know that the place was not clean and you didn't need to look far. Needs "the hotel inspector" I don't think the hoover works as stairs filthy. On speaking to others I think we were lucky with our room. One of two that are used for people with dogs and those who have mobility difficulties. There was no Wardrobe,curtains did not fit windows, but not bad. (you do not expect clean carpets were dogs have been) but the sink still had thick grime and the bed was damp. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and it looks as though it has had a referb' and you could not fault the Chef's talents and the service of the staff they are a credit to the owner. breakfast, again food good but could do with a choice of bread (not just white) Staff through out need training but they do try and are very polite. When we got back to room later in the day an attempt had been made to clean but the sink was stil very grimey and dust and fluff still on tv, lighting etc. We left the thired day and the take away and cigerette buts were still there. They were painting the stairs but there is just no excuse for not being clean. I just hope the kitchen was in a better state.It could be a lovely hotel but they need someone who knows how to run it properly. we would stay again because we can take the dogs and it is a good price I just hope they learn how to clean!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my family, we had three rooms which we specifically asked to be next to each other/ near, yet we were given three rooms in three different corridors - one of which was on a separate floor! One of the rooms we were given had not been cleaned/made up - there was dirt all over the floor, dirty sheets everywhere and a strong odour of smoke! Disgusting!

After asking at reception for something to be done we were given a different room which was not much better! All the rooms where dated and run down even though the hotel describes ''refurbishment''to be in place - the paint was chipped, the furniture was stained and chipped, the beds where uncomfortable and falling apart. All the rooms had thick layers of dust, cob webs and dirt on the floor. Additionally the windows were filthy too. The bathroom was dated and some parts where mouldy and unclean. A watering can releases more water than the shower, the shower curtain didn't pull the whole way around resulting in the bathroom getting soaked and the toilet seat was loose. The hotel room had very thin walls so we were able to hear other guests and the room itself was extremely cramped.

The location of the hotel was convenient for the purpose of our trip, however I wouldn't ever stay here again. The hotel room was not worth any where near as much as the rate being charged. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - do not waste your money!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stans30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowgate, General Manager at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

i am the hotels director firstly you wanted your rooms together through booking.com that is only a request we cannot put the rooms you wanted as we had other guests in who had booked before you.
Yes 1 room had been missed by the maids but was soon sorted out. We have a smoking ban with a £250.00 fine we would not miss that room, if a guest smokes on the fire escape then the smoke may drift into the hotel. As for the hotel being dirty and dusty with mold i think not some bathrooms are small but we have pictures on booking.com.
yes we are refurbishing but its a big hotel i would think we are 70% done but the worst have been done and we will always have chipped paint as suit case always catch doors and walls but we are on top of most things. Very sorry you didnt enjoy your stay many thanks hotels director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Grubby exterior stairs carpet not hoovered dust laying on tv and top of four poster bed Lack of staff only cleaner and waitress around. breakfast was a search and find for milk juice butter and jams. Hot water urn broke Room floor unlevel felt seasick when moving around smoking area grubby full ashtrays and bins. Overall very unpleasant stay. Location in middle of town plenty of places to eat away from hotel. More a working mans place of stay. It stated on entrance improvements being made. Didn't se no sign of any work being done and what had been done was very shoddy and not to a high standard splashs of paint on floor in bathroom Room carpet had stains. Very disappointed. This was suppose to a valentine present from my husband who was devasted

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowgate, General Manager at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay with us.

There is always a manager on duty if any problems arise and they will do anything to make your stay more pleasant. We are currently under minor refurbishment but this does take some time. We Have been updating all of our rooms one by one to minimise any disturbance to our guests. All our rooms will have new carpets, bathrooms and beds etc to update the entire hotel.
The stairs had just been stripped of wallpaper the day before your stay and painted. Please be assured i will speak with the maintenance staff about clearing up properly.
Unfortunately The Rothwell House Hotel is a very old listed building so the floors are on different levels and some seem uneven. We feel for the voucher price (which included a meal for 2 and breakfast) you paid, the room you stayed in was more than adequate.

Please be assured we are taking all comments into consideration to make The Rothwell House Hotel an enjoyable stay.

J.Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here a handful of times, it's "alright" but quite a lot could be done to make it better.
Good points are that the staff are friendly & the food is delicious. The bar & restaurant is modern, light & airy. I think they could do with double glazing as it does get cold in the restaurant.
The rooms however are not so nice but I have stayed in a lot worse. They could do with decorating but saying that they do seem to have started doing this. One of the bathrooms in one of the rooms I've stayed in is really grim, the mat round the toilet is about 20 years old & stained so they could really improve on that, something that wouldn't cost too much money to do. The rooms could also do with new carpets. Overall I wouldn't say don't stay here as it is a nice hotel but if you are looking for something "really" nice or luxurious then this is not the place for you. But definitely worth a visit if you are looking for somewhere to eat. I think it just needs a bit of money spending on the rooms & it'll be a fab place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodieleab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowgate, Owner at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

hi i am glad you have stayed before we are renovating the upper floors as we go however a lot of the rooms we have go back to the walls and when we do a room we take every thing out including light fitting and start again unfortunately it takes time but we have done 70% of the rooms its slow work but we are getting it done. the windows we cannot double glaze or secondary glaze as its protected we have to live with it .
I hope you come again many thanks paul hotels director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in the 3 bed apartment for one night. Hubby, self and 3 kids were meeting up with an old friend from nearby so it suited our purposes. Only problem is that the main room is also a bedroom so the 2 other rooms' occupants have to go through it to get to bathroom in the night, fine for family or close friends but I imagine it wouldn't suit some. Clean & tidy with a little kitchenette and (fridge, microwave, toaster and several kettles). Breakfast was great, especially for a fiver. The fire alarm seemed to be having a few issues & went off a few times but the staff couldn't have been more helpful & accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stay here sometimes when working inthe area and I get a good rate on a single room. Very basic. Internet is good, rooms clean and tidy although singles are very small and old windows mean they can get cold. Also very small tv in room. Have eaten here once, I wouldnt eat here again. Car Park can be tricky to navigate and ensuite could be nicer (paper bath mat). However, if like me you just need to get your head down then its fine. I wouldnt come here on a holiday/vacation though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATHENS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothwell
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothwell
81 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
7.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Corby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices

Been to Rothwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothwell House Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Rothwell NN14 6JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Rothwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothwell
Price Range: $64 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rothwell House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothwell House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing