We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly, helpful and attentive staff, bar manager jenna was lovely.”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothwell
1 review
“friendly, helpful and attentive staff, bar manager jenna was lovely.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

excellent room, spacious and contemporary with a modern feel. cozy pub downstairs to meet the quirky locals. shops just over the road, recommend lionside breakfast . staff great, Jenna and sherman made our stay very wellcoming. well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWnDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    9
    12
    7
See reviews for
7
22
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rothwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A terrible place and extremely cold, hostile welcome! Walked in @ 11.45 am with the hopes for a late breakfast! Staff were ALL gathered in front of the television watching Emmerdale ......
Asked if they were open, was given the head to toe look and told 'yes we are'. She then had the audacity to tell me it was £13.50 for two breakfasts (I was NOT presented with a menu!) and was asked if I wanted tea or coffee. After 15mins our tea came with our breakfast (tea's were in completely different and repulsive mugs), breakfast was as follows:
2 eggs (uncooked)
NO toast
2 hash browns
cold baked beans
fatty bacon
mushrooms were slimmey...
Also served with fries(!) and they too were not cooked properly...

On the whole, a disgusting and highly disappointing experience!! Management has no clue as to how service ought to be served.. which says alot about the senior management/owners?
Did I mention how after I was served the staff all resumed back infront of the tv? A serious wake up call required.

Room Tip: Do not stay here for you will NOT be welcomed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamBet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothwell hotels

derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed at the Red Lion in Rothwell for 1 night.There was a warm welcome from Janice the landlady she really couldnt do enough to help.The room was nice,the locals were very friendly,Donna made a fabulous breakfast in the morning.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff,I would definatley stay again Thumbs up from Donna Clark High Peak Derbyshire.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I booked this via Booking.com for the Grand Prix weekend. I telephoned the following morning and was told the booking hadn't gone through and it wasn't her problem! Luckily, they had one room spare to book and with it being such a busy weekend, beggers couldn't be choosers. It stated on the website it had been fully refurbished - maybe decades ago. The room itself wasn't too bad to be honest apart from the dirty fingermarks and liquid splatterings on the walls. The bathroom across the hallway again needed a good clean and had the same splatters on the walls. The shower was boiling or cold. The disco downstairs in the bar went on until gone midnight, which we didn't venture to. Didn't dare try the food. However we did get a lovely meal at a hotel down the road! Only redeeming feature was that it was cheap and it was available over such a busy weekend - now we know why!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nottingham31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Room was unclean especially the bathroom floor and shower curtain. Breakfast was tasteless, mold on my toast, burnt bacon and greasy. Lobby floor around piano was dust, not just one days dust either! Will not stay there unless I know things change.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank makadoo3255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothwell
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kettering Hotel
1.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering Corby
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Corby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: 23 Market Hill, Rothwell NN14 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Rothwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Rothwell, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing