We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantstic food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vine House Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vine House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Paulerspury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester
2 reviews
“Fantstic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

The Vine House has a very warm and friendly feel. We were made to feel most welcome. The 3 course dinner was delicious with exciting flavours and fabulous presentation. The food was exceptional for the price!

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The weather
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AtakTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    44
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
85
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

We visited the Vine House for supper and it was truly awful. Firstly the decor in this restaurant is stuck in a 1940's time warp. The bar is like being in your granny's lounge, complete with random children's paintings and sofas that have pieces of fabric missing. The decor in the main restaurant is no better. The hardwood seats are uncomfortable and look as though they have been loaned from the local school. The decor is certainly at odds with the modern British cuisine this restaurant claims to produce.

As for the food. It seems unnecessarily pretentious for a local restaurant, especially given the mediocre surroundings. The portions are small, bland, poorly seasoned and vastly over-priced.

The wine is hugely over-priced. Why they think a bog standard red burgundy should warrant over £30 is beyond me. The final insult was the miserly portion of 2 tiny chocolates that accompanied our over-priced coffees. You would have to pay me to eat at this restaurant again. Clearly we are not the only people to share this view as there were hardly any diners for a Saturday night.

  • Disliked — Rooms were poorly decorated and old.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GambleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

We stayed in the Chardonney, and had our evening meal in the 'garden folly'. The hotel was lovely, full of character and spotlessly clean. The meal was delicious, the staff very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this to anyone who is a little tired of the bland 'chain' hotels.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookwormmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

The food here is absolutely outstanding. It is definitely the best food I have experienced in the area. The staff were very helpful, they fulfilled my every need. I would recommend this place to anyone. I have eaten at many top restaurants like the Manoir and Simpsons and this was as memorable as them. The food is so fresh, with such intense flavours. Its a real joy on the pallet. at £29.95 for three courses, in my opinion its a great value for money. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mr_RightCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

This place has received good reviews for the quality of its food but having been, I can honestly say it was the worst food I have ever paid for. The pre-starter was woefully overseasoned and the bread on the table was dry and uninteresting.One of our party described the starter as the worst combination of flavours and the most badly cooked fish they had ever eaten. The main course looked like it had come out of a vacuum-sealed bag - and tasted the same - and the puddings ranged from a mousse that tasted like soap powder to a bread pudding that took 20 minutes to come to the table and then looked like a "Mr Kipling Country Slice"!!! The wine list was OK - nothing special, but the coffee was good. The drinks in the bar were served in cheap, horrible glasses ( ditto the cutlery and glassware at the table) but came at a cost of £19 for four drinks - and not all of them even contained alcohol - with no sign of an olive or a peanut to go with them ( surely an expected "extra" at those prices?) Our bill for four people with two bottles of wine and three bottles of water came to £270 - including a 12.5 % service charge that had been added before the bill was presented to us. For those prices I would expect a meal to remember. Well, we certainly got that, but for all the wrong reasons!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPickyNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paulerspury
2.6 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.5 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#17 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Vine House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 100 High Street, Paulerspury, Towcester NN12 7NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester > Paulerspury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paulerspury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel and restaurant in south northamptonshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Vine House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing