We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vine House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Whittlebury Hall(Towcester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milton Keynes Hotel(Deanshanger)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cock Hotel(Milton Keynes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatton Court Hotel(Milton Keynes)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Walnut Tree Inn(Northampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
114
48
15
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
48
15
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starfabulous foodpretty villageexcellent mealsaturday eveningbirthday mealthree coursesfront of housepateon arrivalpreservesweekend breaklovely settingmilton keynescourse mealtwo night staystayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 186 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

An excellent overnight stay before our visit to the Silverstone race track the following day. We received a warm welcome, the room was a good size and had a really comfortable bed, the bathroom had a bath but only a hand held shower with no shower curtain.
The restaurant was very nice and the food served was excellent both in quality and presentation. Breakfast lived up to the other high standards of this hotel.
The hotel was unrecognisable from some trip advisor reviews. It had recently been refurbished throughout making it light, airy and comfortable for a short stay.
We would definitely return should we need an overnight stay in Northamptonshire.
Confirming my telephone booking by email was difficult as the web site had problems, this also seemed a step too far. A confirmation email from the hotel to us would have sufficed.

Room Tip: If you have a preference for a shower or bath you must make this clear at the time of booking.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A birthday treat for my husband, I made an informed choice to book lunch. After reading reviews I decided that the Vine House was the place for us 'Foodies!'. We have been fortunate to have eaten in some of the best restaurants and the Vine House did not disappoint! Certainly as good as some of the best and what made it a little more special was the small details....the candle, hand written bill, attention to detail. The food was excellent - no more to be said! High quality produce and beautifully presented too. Thank you Julie, Marcus and the team for a very pleasant dining experience. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel is a small hotel off the main street in a village just outside Towcester. Of pleasant appearance from the outside, it does not have extensive grounds but a pretty garden out the back and its own car parking. Internally it has two small lounge areas serviced by a bar which are both tastefully furnished in different style and ideal for pre dinner drinks and selecting from the menu before going through to dinner. The restaurant has easy listening quiet background music and is relatively informal almost like being in someones large dining room at home. Im not a wine buff but there appeared to be a good range of choices. The dinnner is the winner the menu is small but quality with a choice of about three or four starters, mains and deserts and has an option for a very reasonably priced and tasty cheese board. Great attention appears to have been given to presentation and combining an experience of tastes. My wife and I have been lucky enough to eat in some top rated restaurants and I found myself enjoying the quality of food and its presentation here as much as anything I had eaten elsewhere. General ambience was for a relaxing enjoyable meal and it was accompanied by some first rate service by the staff. Our bedroom was tastefully decorated with small tv and tea coffee facility. The bathroom had a bath with shower attachment but no screen. If a shower is important you might want to check what is in your room at the time of booking. Importantly bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. On the dinner experience i would rate five star but have gone four for the overall experience as the hotel is more quaint than wow. To us this was good value fine dining in an informal setting and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkdon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

After at least 12 years with average of 3 one or two night stays per year we have never been let down. Marcus continues to be inventive and perfectionist with his cooking. We have never had less than an excellent meal, often with quirky or amusing touches. The level of cooking is exemplary, everything arrives perfectly cooked. Seasoning is often a matter of personal taste, but it is rare that we find it awry.

Julie always provides a warm welcome and the restaurant and bar service is generally faultless and cheerful. The bar areas are "cozy" but that is a reflection of the age and style of this charming old building. Quality of decor and cleanliness has always been beyond reproach.

The rooms are well kept and regularly redecorated, furnishings appropriate and warm in winter.

Perhaps the only weakness is plumbing, although recently replaced the showers are rather weak, but again this may be a reflection of the age of the property.

Overall this place is a gem, superb food and welcome, with comfortable, if not luxurious rooms for an overnight stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkPoppyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend on the way to silverstone. We were greeted by Julie who was very welcoming which continued throughout our stay. The staff were all really lovely and what can I say about the food. Amazing!!!! We had an early start and Julie and her husband agreed to start breakfast early for us which was so good of them. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. The whole establishment had just been refurbished and everything was absolutely spotless and to a high standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wecamewesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews