We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cricket tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oundle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cricket tour”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our son recently played within a cricket festival at Oundle school therefore we picked the Talbot as nearby. We stayed in one of the suite rooms for five days on bed and breakfast. The hotel was 5 star! The staff were extremely friendly. The room was huge and clean. The breakfast was lovely. Our room was not available until 3.30 pm but the reception staff were very apologetic. The only gripe no wifi reception in the room. I would recommend this hotel to everyone we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Fotheringhay Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    274
    78
    30
    12
See reviews for
216
462
35
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had liked the look and feel of this hotel on previous visits just for drinks. We were now looking for a wedding venue. Having been let down by a rather posh hotel elsewhere we contacted the Talbot and received a very warm welcome and efficient service. The staff here seem particularly good and the food seems excellent too. The Manager Bruno is a star and gave us personal service with great polish. Can't wait to stay here on the big day!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank neillypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMaldenLittlemiss
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just spent two nights here, on a deal. Driving up yo the hotel it blends into the surrounding buildings but in a good way. Approaching the hotel from the car park, which is at the back of the hotel you appreciate the age of this former coaching inn.

Our room faced onto a 'road' - no traffic, no noise just peace perfect peace. The room was lovely, well equipped with all you could need. A small niggle, I would have liked more towels but this was balanced by the great toiletry selection.

We ate in hotel both nights, the food was excellent - local produce including bread and yes, local does taste better.

I enjoyed tea and a pastry in the courtyard, a complete sun trap. Go back, definitely!

Room Tip: Book a room in the 400's - we had 410 and it was perfect, close to the garden, no noise and spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbeanlady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a two night get away at the beginning of the school holidays.
We had looked at revisiting the Talbot a couple of years ago, but it was closed for a refurb, so were glad when I found a room was available on Hotels.com.
Our welcome from the receptionist was warm and we were lucky enough to have a superior room, which we couldn't fault. Beautifully decorated with an impressive en-suite. The room overlooked the courtyard, and I was concerned about noise from customers drinking below as we had to have the windows open, but I needn't have worried.

We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was of an excellent standard, and at a very reasonable price. There was a good choice of continental and cooked breakfasts. The full English breakfast consisted of delicious local produce.
Service throughout at the bar and in the restaurant was excellent.

We last stayed there in 1984 with friends, and I had strong memories of the historic staircase, the restaurant and courtyard, and the quaint 'up and down' corridor to some of the rooms. The staircase was still in evidence near the bar, and the restaurant was completely different, but pleasant. The courtyard is a public thoroughfare from the street at the front of the hotel to the car park at the rear, and on a summer's day/evening is a nice place to drink.

Oundle is a traditional market town and a lovely place to stay. We were pleased to see that Cotton's, the shoe shop was still there after 30 years.

We were not able to get a place in the hotel car park as it was full, so parked further up the street. It is obvious on observation that people other than guests are using the car park.
We were aware of the security issues during our stay as previously mentioned, in the three rooms adjacent to ours which was disturbing.There are no safes provided in the rooms, so I would recommend not leaving valuables there.

I hope that the hotel manages to resolve this issue without spoiling its charm.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and my husband was even more impressed than 30 years ago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new malden surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Loved my stay for work 20 years ago. Took my wife for a two night stay and my wife loved it. Staff without exception 11/10 . Room 9/10 and the town has not changed, fantastic place. Three pubs best being the Angel just down the road, very homely.

Room Tip: Difficult to advise but we had a ground floor room and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmaldenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we were pleased with the quiet, comfortable room and the attractive setting in the town centre. It's a lovely building? Lots of guests were enjoying a drink or supper in the courtyard area, so it's obviously a popular place on a warm summer evening. Dinner is advertised as being available until 9.30pm. We arrived at the dining room at 8.30pm and asked if we could eat inside as it was getting cooler. There were plenty of vacant tables, but we were told they were fully booked, and were shown into the bar to eat. Half an hour later, there were still plenty of empty tables.....so, clearly they were NOT all fully booked at all. Why, then, say they were? Our food was tasty - I had a homemade burger with chips and coleslaw, my husband had grilled trout. And staff were pleasant and obliging. We enjoyed a relaxing evening, despite the initial rather off-putting greeting. The fact we were hotel residents apparently made no difference. We were not allowed to eat in the dining room, despite there being plenty of spare tables, and other diners enjoying an evening meal there? And yes, we were tidily dressed. An odd way to encourage diners.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just back after a 2 night stay in a 'feature room' to celebrate our anniversary. So many great things about The Talbot - friendly and helpful staff, lovely large and very comfy bed, enormous luxury bathroom, gorgeous building, very good food. We would definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to others.
BUT...there were a few things which let The Talbot down. All very minor, but worth pointing out as getting the little things right is what takes a place from being very very good to being outstanding. The juice at breakfast was from concentrate, rather than freshly squeezed. There was no semi-skimmed milk on offer either. Several of the bulbs in our room needed replacing. There was no mirror to use for drying my hair - I had to sit on the floor and use the mirror inside the wardrobe door!
But, regardless, a fab place :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPrice71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oundle
13.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.7 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
23.0 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
201 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,008 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Stanwick Hotel
The Stanwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stanwick
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: New Street, Oundle PE8 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oundle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House is a beautiful Grade 1 listed hotel in the centre of Oundle, one of England's most picturesque and unspoilt towns located on a meander of the river Nene. As a former coaching inn the Talbot hotel has been welcoming guests since 628AD.The Talbot Hotel Eatery and Coffee House is proud to house the staircase from Fotheringhay Castle, which is reputed to be the staircase that Mary Queen of Scots walked down to her execution in 1587, leaving a ring impression on the newel post as she was led to the block.Whether you are eating, meeting or sleeping we look forward to welcoming you to The Talbot Hotel Eatery and Coffee House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Oundle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing