We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very good New Year's Eve”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oundle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We enjoyed another very good New Years Eve Gala Night at the Talbot Hotel. Very good menu with very attentive service along with a good crowd made for a very good night.

The entertainment was really good and a fantastic atmosphere was enjoyed by all. They provided sparklers for midnight again and although it was raining outside, this did not dampen the spirits of the guests!

I would think we were known as the 'noisy' table as we do like to enjoy ourselves and take a few party bits with us for maximum enjoyment and the hotel appreciate us getting the party started!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specialevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Carol B,

As you can imagine, it is great for us to read yet another really positive review from yourself regarding the New Year’s Eve party at the Talbot! We thoroughly enjoyed looking after all those who kindly chose to spend that evening with us and your party in particular. We did appreciate everyone joining us in the Courtyard to celebrate the arrival of 2014 at Midnight as well. “Noisy” table? Yours? Never I am sure! Mind you, I was prepared with a set of ear plugs as soon as you arrived this year as I had been warned… I will make sure I have another set this year in the hope that you will be able to join us again too. With kindest regards, Bruno Mollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
There are newer reviews for Talbot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for an evening in the Burleigh suite of the hotel, incredibly impressed with the room and the character and history of the hotel.

The hotel was great and a perfect setting for an evening away for my girlfriends birthday and we both thoroughly enjoyed it.

Would like to make a special mention to the staff on duty throughout our stay for making it a memorable experience. Would like to thank the staff in the restaurant for going the extra mile by having happy birthday written across my girlfriends desert in chocolate.

Many thanks

Room Tip: Burleigh suite is great but would imagine the rest of the hotel is of the same quality
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Andrew G,
I am delighted to hear that we helped make your girlfriend’s birthday a little more special and I very much appreciate all your kind words about our facilities and the great team of staff we have at the Talbot. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. By the way, did you know we have great function rooms where we can host birthday parties, weddings, dinners and other functions as well? We would be more than happy to show you around our facilities someday… With most grateful regards, Bruno Mollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Everything during our stay was first class.
We have stayed at this hotel before the refurbishment it was great then, but the way the old and the new have been blended makes it even better than before.

Great food, superb staff, fabulous feature room.
Thank you to everyone at The Talbot for a great stay.

Room Tip: Try a feature room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Bryan M,
I am so pleased to hear from you as a regular customer of the Talbot Hotel, and to know that you are pleased with the transformation that has been made by the present owners. Those of us fortunate to work here love it but without our guests’ approval, we would not be able to feel we have achieved what we set out to do. I will pass on your kind compliments to the Chefs and the staff in the restaurant also. Do allow me to thank you for choosing the Talbot Hotel once again and I look forward to seeing you soon. Kindest regards, Bruno Mollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great hotel with blend of traditional and brand new. Service and staff of the highest quality. Had evening meals which were of the highest quality and found the staff in the restaurant attentive and knowledgeable about the menus. Breakfast good too. Very good location for a weekend break, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huangchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Huangchung,
Thank you so much for your very kind words following your recent stay with us at the Talbot in Oundle. We strive to provide high standards of service, hospitality and food, as well as ensuring our guests can enjoy all the modern comforts you would expect whilst respecting the heritage and history of the hotel at the same time. I am so glad you feel we have the balance just right and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, Bruno Mollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I recently went to the Talbot for an 18th birthday meal with friends and family. I go there regularly however my recent trip was quite disappointing. The service was very slow despite there being only two other tables that were eating in the whole restaurant. My starter was very tasty but a tad cold and the waitresses attitude made me reluctant to ask for it to be warmed. For my main I ordered venison and precisely asked for it to be rare and pink and when it came it was over done and very tough. When asking my friends and family 5 out of 12 other people also said their meals weren't very warm and also felt that the waitresses didn't really care. Overall, I feel that my recent visit was underwhelming and overpriced especially the wine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
1  Thank Polly778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Polly778,
May I, first and foremost, thank you for your feedback and express how sorry I am to hear you did not enjoy the experience during your most recent visit. As a regular guest, I trust you know this is not the norm at the Talbot where we pride ourselves in providing high standards at all times. It would be most helpful if you would contact me personally or if we could have a chat next time you visit as I would very much like to establish when you visited in order I can speak to the team on duty at the time and share your comments with them. I know from talking to customers every day that we have a great team of caring and attentive staff and our meals are highly rated normally. At the same time, on the rare occasions when we do not get it right, it is crucial that we talk through what happened so we can ensure we correct any errors we have made. I sincerely hope you will be kind enough to contact me soon. With my best regards, Bruno Mollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I had not stayed at The Talbot for a long time, but I have to say it will not be as long before I go back. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left we were made to feel like honoured guests. The building oozes historical character; the bedrooms (and beds) are to die for; the bar staff were friendly and attentive, even re-lighting the fire at 1200 midnight for us. In the immortal words of Arnold Schwarznegger...."I will be back...." Robin Limb

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin999935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Mr Limb,
I very much appreciate your taking the time to post this kind review. We love our hotel and every team member enjoys looking after our guests during their visits with us. I quite agree you cannot beat a roaring log fire during these colder months and they are certainly looking great today. The best compliment you can pay us is indeed with your promise to visit us again and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Bruno Mollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Talbot for 4 times now over the last 6 years and I can only say that it just gets better each time. The hotel is lovely and the staff very polite and helpful. The meals are top quality, great and very well priced.

Loving the refurbishment. Keep up the good work, we will be back to see you soon. I would definitely recommend this place for those wanting a quiet and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 4 different rooms now and never been disappointed in any. The latest was room 202...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Sherri L,
How wonderful to hear from a regular visitor to the Talbot such as yourself. I am of course delighted to read that you feel your experience improves every time you stay with us. We shall certainly make every effort to ensure this continues for many years to come. All of us working here are very proud to look after our customers in such a great environment and the most recent transformation the Talbot has undergone is truly amazing. I am glad you enjoyed it and very grateful for your kind comments. See you again soon I hope. Best regards, Bruno Mollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oundle
11.6 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
223 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#1 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,162 reviews
23.0 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thrapston
267 reviews
11.5 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
13.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: New Street, Oundle PE8 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oundle
Price Range: $97 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House is a beautiful Grade 1 listed hotel in the centre of Oundle, one of England's most picturesque and unspoilt towns located on a meander of the river Nene. As a former coaching inn the Talbot hotel has been welcoming guests since 628AD.The Talbot Hotel Eatery and Coffee House is proud to house the staircase from Fotheringhay Castle, which is reputed to be the staircase that Mary Queen of Scots walked down to her execution in 1587, leaving a ring impression on the newel post as she was led to the block.Whether you are eating, meeting or sleeping we look forward to welcoming you to The Talbot Hotel Eatery and Coffee House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Oundle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing