We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accomodation & Christmas Party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oundle
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Accomodation & Christmas Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

On check in the staff were very warm & welcoming. I was offered a room upgrade and stayed in the Ashcroft Suite (room 301) which is beautiful. The hotel bar have been very sympathically restored and has a lively buzz about it. Our party was in a function room with disco along with several other tables.The three course meal at the party was great, hot & delivered promptly. The service was excellent.

We danced the night away and haven't had so much fun for years! Breakfast the next morning (for those who made it) was lovely and the staff very chatty and friendly. I would highly recomend the hotel to you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, General Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear JuneTF

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on your recent visit to the hotel to attend one of our Christmas Party Nights.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed both the party and your stay with us and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Wishing you all a very Happy New Year

Kind Regards
Tina Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    272
    76
    30
    12
See reviews for
211
450
35
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Forget Starbucks and all the other coffee chains this is the best individual establishment within a ten mile radius in warm comfortable surroundings and friendly staff. Open fires too.

We havnt stayed overnight but visit regularly for snacks and drinks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, General Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Carol150

Thank you so much for your review. Our Coffee House was created to provide our guests with exactly what you have described - a warm and comfortable area for people to drink and eat, by cosy open fires in the winter and a sunny courtyard in the summer (hopefully!).

An overnight stay is definitely to be recommended as we have some amazing bedrooms including suites and feature rooms. Next time you call in for a coffee, pop to reception and we will gladly show you around.

Kind Regards
Tina Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

stayed at this great hotel in august this year as my little girl was wed here great day was had by all and the ,food, room, all great val for the money if am ever over this way again i will be booking in yet again the staff were great for the two nights i spent there well done to all look forward to my next vist .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, General Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Chrismaughan

I really appreciate your lovely review regarding your stay and your daughter’s wedding at the hotel. It is great to hear what a wonderful time you all had and that you were looked after so well. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Talbot and we hope to see you in the New Year.

Kind Regards
Tina Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel has always been in an excellent location, which is great, but now that it has been refurbished it is a pleasure to visit. Certainly the whole feel of the place has been improved and there are lots more people in the place enjoying the new facilities. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, General Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear HBJ123

Thank you for your review and for your recent visit to come and see the results of our recent refurbishment at The Talbot Hotel. We are very proud of the hotel and what has been achieved and I am so pleased that you enjoyed everything during your visit.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Tina Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely hotel in the middle of the Oundle, leave the car in the car park and walk the streets of this charming little town. Found the restaurant very noisy, service excellent, but food let the whole experience down. Would I go back?, yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatCharity, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your comment on trip advisor. I was delighted to read that you found our service excellent, however, I was concerned to read your comment about the food and noise levels.

We do have other quieter areas within our Eatery and on your next visit I will be delighted to show you these and the other delights we can offer. Our new winter menu will be in place offering some heart warming dishes, all freshly prepared by our team of excellent chefs.

Many thanks once again.
General Manager John Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great news!
The Talbot Hotel in Oundle has not only been plucked from its spiral of decline and disintegration (leaky roofs, rotting timbers, slow and uninteresting food and even more disinterested staff) but transformed by highly imaginative modernisation, combined with restoration and enhancement of its historic features.
There has been thoughtful and substantial investment here, not least in the bedrooms: mine was not the tawdry, yellowing, drafty impostor of yesterday but bright, modern, well fitted-out (the loo seat and lid were sprung to come down gently and without clatter!) and comfortable.
The Hotel Reception is no longer an oppression of Dickensian gloom but open, bright and welcoming and its transfer across the courtyard has allowed the creation of a splendidly light reception area, leading on the one hand to the refurbished bar and on, the other, to the now well-appointed Dining Room. The architect is indeed to be congratulated on his or her vision and strategic execution (as befits a building where Mary Queen of Scots is rumoured to be abroad at night!).
The Full English Breakfast was delicious and promptly served: I am unable to comment further on the cuisine - hence only the 4 stars in my rating. The staff were uniformly charming and evidently well-trained. Parking is easy and on site. There are a Swimming Pool and a Fitness Centre for those of energetic persuasion (neither of which I visited, so no comment).
The whole experience was very positive and, for this day and age, reasonably priced.
I have no vested interest in the Hotel or any aspect of its 'make-over' and would strongly recommend it to anyone. Enjoy!

CONNOISSEUR

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Read mixed reviews and didn't know what to expect.

Hotel has undergone a major refurb that has been very tastefully and effectively done. Incorporation of the very modern in a way that does not ruin 17th century buildings. Only unavoidable issue is that there are quite a few steps here and there (3 or 4 in the room). This adds to the charm of the place but maybe an issue for the older/disabled.

Check in was very slick and 2 double rooms for £150 per night inclusive of breakfast (£75 per room) a bargain for accomodation of this quality and in such a beautiful old town.

First food experience was afternoon tea (@£13 for two) and as another reviewer has commented the sandwiches were very fresh. Service was prompt, cheerful and not intrusive.

Dinner for 5 was excellent. Portions very large. Crab Linguine the best I've had.. Wine list was very reasonable with the deares red being a Barolo at £48. Plenty pleasant wines at under £20 a bottle.

Breakfast was excellent as well. Varied choice and (cereal and juice apart) table service. Staff at breakfast were delightful. Haddock, bacon and sausages etc all of excellent quality.

Lastly, a call after we had left to say we had left stuff in room and offering to post it.

Bill for two rooms for two nights (including dinner for 5 one night with wine) was @£470. Brilliant value.

Room Tip: Ask for ones without internal steps if that an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oundle
13.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.7 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
11.6 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
23.0 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Stanwick Hotel
The Stanwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stanwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: New Street, Oundle PE8 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oundle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House is a beautiful Grade 1 listed hotel in the centre of Oundle, one of England's most picturesque and unspoilt towns located on a meander of the river Nene. As a former coaching inn the Talbot hotel has been welcoming guests since 628AD.The Talbot Hotel Eatery and Coffee House is proud to house the staircase from Fotheringhay Castle, which is reputed to be the staircase that Mary Queen of Scots walked down to her execution in 1587, leaving a ring impression on the newel post as she was led to the block.Whether you are eating, meeting or sleeping we look forward to welcoming you to The Talbot Hotel Eatery and Coffee House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Oundle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing