We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Lunch”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oundle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We tried out The Talbot Hotel in the centre of Oundle today. It had been closed for a long time and opened again very recently. What a fabulous place! Originally a coaching inn, it has been renovated and brought up to a fantastic standard. Prices very very reasonable and open for anything from coffee to a full blown dinner.

We sat outside in a very quiet and peaceful courtyard garden under the shade of an umbrella and enjoyed a wonderful meal. I had a whole baked smoked camembert, that was cooked to perfection, soft and oozing sweetness, with rosemary foccaccia, a crisp, fresh, green bean and mixed leaf salad and home made red onion relish. It was utterly delicious! This was followed up by 2 scoops of wonderfully tasty home-made raspberry sorbet and a sweet and flavoursome scoop of pear sorbet, finished off with great coffee. The staff were perfect, attentive and helpful without being intrusive, and, most important of all, they smiled and seemed as though they were enjoying their job!

A wonderful setting for a relaxed, chatty lunch with a friend. Well worth a return trip in the very near future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TimH1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatCharity, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Fantastic to read your comments on Trip Adviser and pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal with us, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are an old coaching inn, which is steeped in history. We have a courtyard and private walled garden, which can be enjoyed from morning till dusk for breakfast, coffee & tea, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner. I have passed your kind words onto the rest of the team and we all look forward to welcoming back to The Talbot Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House.

King Regards
General Manager John Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very good food, with good choice for a Sunday. Excellent starters and fresh vegetables with the main course. Staff were very attentive and pleasant.We would definetly go back.

Room Tip: We only visited for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatCharity, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

I was delighted to read your comments regarding our Sunday Lunch and so pleased that you think we have good, fresh and plentiful vegetables. I have passed your kind words onto the Team and of course to our Head Chef. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Talbot Hotel.

With kind regards,
General Manager
John Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just dropped in for a light supper and was delighted to see the hotel is such a success. Excellent meal (large portions in the starter sizes - if that makes sense!) and not too pricey. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Unfortunately didn't stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatCharity, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you so much for posting your comments on Trip Adviser. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your light supper and that you think we give generous portions at generous prices! Value for money is an important ethos with us, as is good customer service. Perhaps next time you will be tempted by our dinner menu!
We all look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Kind regards
General Manager
John Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The renovation is a great success, but have been disappointed with it as a "coffee stop". First time, service was much too fussy, and my bill was presented to me in an antique wooden chest. Second time, my croissant was served from a chill cabinet, cold and hard. I asked that it be heated, and it was returned to me rubbery, after being popped in the microwave. I suggested to the waitress that I could buy a nice flaky croissant at half the price at the supermarket. They need to train their staff to be efficient, but relaxed, drop the pretensions, and display and serve their pastries properly so they are edible. It's a very attractive venue and a great addition to town life. Just need to improve its coffee house service.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank FernWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear FernWhite

Thank you for your comments, which are all duly noted. We have a fine selection of pastries, croissants and cakes, all freshly made by our pastry chef. We have a fine array of teas and coffees, sandwiches,light bites and full lunch and dinner meals all served to the table, by our friendly staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Talbot Hotel.

Regards General Manager
John Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this day 8th july 2012 a year before and before the hotel closed for its the refurbishment .We were the 1st full wedding the hotel has staged since its reopening and simply the hotel manger John and his team have been excellent nothing was to much trouble for them. the setting is is excellent the food was excellent the whole day just flowed there was a slight problem with the best mans room the window have been n painted shut, we asked for a fan which was supplied instantly but then they said they would switch rooms and they where moved to a suite. truly a day to remember all for the right reasons. if you are planning a wedding or a family -party or just want a nice hotel with nice food and freindly staff this is the place to go

Just like to Thank John and his team again for an excellent service and making our day so speical

MIck & Sue Bennett

Room Tip: All the rooms A rated the suites A++
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-Mick-Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Mick and Sue

Thank you so much for your comments. It was a real pleasure to look after you, your family and friends. I have shared your comments with all the team and they were so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your big day at The Talbot Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary – if not before! I wish you all the best for your future together.

Kind Regards
General Manager
John Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Myself and my family went to the Talbot for a meal mid last week, and everything about the place was just delightful. It is a stunning building after it's extensive overhaul, combining modern facilities yet still maintaining the character of the building - just beautiful. The food we ordered was to a very high standard and came out very quickly. The staff were very attentive and friendly, they could not do enough to help us. I would not hesitate in recommending this lovely restaurant to my family and friends, we had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Sophie B

It was a delight to read your review and thank you for taking the trouble. Our staff do care and take pride in their job therefore I am so pleased that this is showing in their friendly approach. Our Head Chef prides himself on sourcing good local produce and he was extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Talbot Hotel

Regards General Manager
John robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Talbot Inn in the quaint village of Oundle. This recently renovated Inn was all that we could expect and more. From beautifully appointed rooms and suites, exquisite food and most importantly, a warm, wonderful and caring staff. Each of them made us feel special and went the extra mile to meet our needs.

The Talbot Inn is an experience not to be missed! It is surrounded by quaint shops, bakeries, butcher shops and pubs AND more!

Room Tip: We had two separate stays and both rooms were beautiful with an historic setting. However, I had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Louise,

I was delighted to read that you were made to feel welcome during your stay at The Talbot Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the team and they were all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again, when you are next in Northamptonshire

Regards
General Manager John Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oundle
13.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
11.6 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
240 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
23 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
764 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: New Street, Oundle PE8 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oundle
Price Range: $95 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House is a beautiful Grade 1 listed hotel in the centre of Oundle, one of England's most picturesque and unspoilt towns located on a meander of the river Nene. As a former coaching inn the Talbot hotel has been welcoming guests since 628AD.The Talbot Hotel Eatery and Coffee House is proud to house the staircase from Fotheringhay Castle, which is reputed to be the staircase that Mary Queen of Scots walked down to her execution in 1587, leaving a ring impression on the newel post as she was led to the block.Whether you are eating, meeting or sleeping we look forward to welcoming you to The Talbot Hotel Eatery and Coffee House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Oundle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing