We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very traditional.”

The Ship Inn Oundle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oundle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn Oundle
Ranked #3 of 3 Oundle B&B and Inns
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,160 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,150 helpful votes
“very traditional.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Set in the beautiful old town of Oundle is this wonderful little pub.Very old with beamed ceilings and bags of character we fought our way to the bar,as the pub was very busy for a saturday lunchtime.We ordered our food which i admit was a little expensive,my wife had the gammon egg and chips and i had the pie,but really nice.Whilst i ordered the food,the barman let me try one the chillies in the jar behind him.Not a clever move as i could not taste much of my pie to begin with!They sell your typical drinks as well as some decent ales.Will visit here again,felt homely too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had business in the Oundle area, the Ship was such a cool-looking pub. Decided to have dinner there, the Ham, Egg and Chips was 9 pound 50. Not sure if that's typical, but it's pretty expensive for an American ordering ham... egg... and fries.... Anyway, it was like a movie set, all old, with huge beams and an old bar. Apparently English pubs are all going away, getting bought up and renovated, and people not going there anymore to socialize. Well, not this one, this is absolutely as English as you get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Last weekend was second time visit for food on Saturday evening. Last time was first pub we went to in Oundle having only recently been to the area. It was very friendly and lively and the food was very good too. They made us feel as if they wanted us to be there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KETTERING
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our second visit to this pub. Both visits we received a warm welcome, and helpful service.

If you like a good hand pulled beer this is the place to go. The bar snacks our of good quality, quantity and price. Furniture a little shabby, but I think this adds to the character of the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGLER66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent food the accommodation is close to the very lively pub and gets a bit noisy late on otherwise a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pub terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have eaten here on more than a few occasions and have never been dissappointed. We usually go with friends on a Sunday lunchtime and always book well in advance - particularly if the school is open and parents are likely to be visiting their children. They have a great range of real ales, 4 at least and the service is always prompt. The staff are friendly and the kitchen will always try to meet individual requests or a request to "mix and match" different courses. There is never any rush and you are left to enjoy your meal at your own pace. If there were one thing that I could improve it would be the gents toilets. They really are a let down.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlyFarly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

went on friday havnt been for a while as they seem not to get things right .this could be so good with a little effort. To the owner manager what ever you are instead of getting exsaperated with your staff because they get things wrong train them properly
the beer is great the food is first class the atmosphere i love it but you have to address the service issues , a change of menu would be great as well we have had the same one for quite a while now ,3 times i have been charged wrong get these issues right and instead of being good you will be fantastic

Room Tip: get early so you can get a table in the very small eating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oundle
0.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,039 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thrapston
248 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#15 of 27 in Peterborough
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#4 of 27 in Peterborough
431 reviews
7.2 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#19 of 27 in Peterborough
339 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Corby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn Oundle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn Oundle

Property: The Ship Inn Oundle
Address: 18 West Street, Oundle PE8 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oundle
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Oundle England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing