We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buzzing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dexters Bar & Kitchen

Dexters Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Oundle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A HIDDEN GEM IN THE HEART OF OUNDLE...... We strive to serve locally sourced ingredients for our dishes, our meat comes from Trendalls next door and is free range where possible, our baker is Santoros in Kettering our fish comes fresh from the boats from our merchant in Colchester. Whether you want a casual lunch, a light bite, sandwich or coffee through to our evening dinner service we will provide you with fresh,delicious produce. And in the milder weather our stunning outdoor terraces are the perfect oasis to while away some quality time, or just sit and sip cocktails into the evening, and sample some sharing platters or tapas. Food service is 11- 2.30pm monday to sunday (closed sunday eve) and evening is 6-10pm although we are open from 10-3pm for drinks,coffee,cocktails and cake. We look forward to serving you soon....Adrian
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Buzzing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have eaten here several times and it is always busy with a good informal, atmosphere and a diverse clientele. We had a very nice lunch here recently. Excellent fish and chips with very good tartare sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    71
    29
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was in Oundle for a business lunch and happened to stumble upon Dexter’s, I must say the food was great & the staff were very friendly & helpful.
The menu was excellent and we ended up eating more than we should have.
Next time I am in the Oundle area I will make sure i visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philj382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good and welcoming lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Starving and late on a Saturday afternoon my husband and I dived into Dexters hoping that they were still serving. We were welcomed into the restaurant - despite the fact that we were on the cusp of them finishing serving food - and we were not disappointed. We were shown to our seats (after being taken through a delightful specials board) and drinks arrived in good time. We chose the warmed olives to stave off the hunger pangs and although they took a few minutes to come they were worth the wait (and it only felt like longer because we were starving). Once the mains arrived we knew we had made a good choice. I devoured a beautifully seared warm tuna salad (the tuna was still pink in the middle but warm throughout) and my husband was equally pleased with his sandwich which was filled with antipasti and pickles. We shared some thin cut chips and these were also entirely polished off. It was only a shame that I didn't have room to squeeze in one of the fresh scones that was winking at me from the counter. Busy and bustling the cafe was friendly and had a warm atmosphere. Perfect for a quick bite to eat at lunchtime we might have dived in but we had to roll out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraJ61182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough england
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

my husband and i went to dexters after reading the great reviews it was getting and our hopes were high, we had phoned and reserved a table for saturday lunchtime, we arrived in good time and when we said we had a reservation a man just pointed to our table no welcome or any order of drink taken just a single menu put on table not one each, and we were left wondering if we went to the bar to order or was it table service, they were fairly busy but that is no excuse for a cold welcome.. after a while we asked if we were to order at bar and were told by same gent that he would come to us when he had time as busy.. eventually he came and took our order for food and drink.. the drinks came after a while and the lady that bought them was quite friendly.. then our starters arrived these were ok. when we had finished our starters they were taken away and we waited and waited for our mains and after about 15 to 20 minutes they arrived i had the chicken and husband had the venison, the venison was overcooked potatoes stodgie and my chicken was dry but i ate it, my husband ate about two thirds of his and although he never leaves anything on the plate he felt he just had to have a word with member of staff to say that he was let down by his meal and also the service of the gentleman as mentioned above, he did not complain to get money off we would have paid full price we just wanted them to know that we were let down and that we had come there after reading such good reviews, they did knock the price of the venison meal off the bill and was apologetic but we felt very let down by our experience

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank admin37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Oundle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I've been to Dexter's several times and have never been disappointed. The food is varied & good, well-presented & tasty. Service is friendly and helpful. It has a lovely garden for the summer, tastefully furnished. It's the best place for lunch or dinner in Oundle as it is reasonably priced and you can rely on the fact that the food will be good. My only criticisms - it would be nice to have real chips rather than the frozen French fries & the lunchtime sandwich choices could be varied a bit more.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frau98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dexters Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Oundle, Northamptonshire
Oundle, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Dexters Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing