We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our wedding 27/07/12” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Benefield Wheatsheaf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oundle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Benefield Wheatsheaf
Ranked #4 of 4 Oundle B&B and Inns
Corby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our wedding 27/07/12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

would just like to say a huge thank you to Carol, Aaron and all the staff for making our Wedding such a perfect day! Nothing was too much to ask for, our and all our guests needs were met to a very high standard. The setting, food and most importantly for us the atmosphere were all excellent. Aaron took full control, and was extremely organised and capable. The whole day ran extremely smoothly.
We have only received very positive feedback from all our guests who had a thouroughly enjoyable day!!!
Thanks again - it really was a truly special day!!!

Scott and Amanda x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was the venue for my daughters wedding 14th July 2012. Everyone at the Wheatsheaf worked so hard to make it a fantastic day.
Below is the thank you I sent to them. I believe this sums it all up.
I would recommend this for your wedding venue. It ticks all the boxes from being a beautiful venue set in stunning countryside, to the fantastic staff who go all out to make it a brilliant day.

To all at the Wheatsheaf,
I just wanted to say a HUGE thank you to everyone for giving my daughter and son-in-law Emma and Howard, an amazing wedding day.
All of the staff worked so hard!
I want to thank the lovely lady on reception for sorting all our rooms out so efficiently, the cleaner who worked madly Saturday morning to get all the rooms spruced up for us, the chef for a delicious 3 course meal and the lovely hog roast in the evening, and the cracking breakfast Sunday morning,the bar staff for keeping the drinks flowing, the DJ for getting us up dancing.
There may be other folks who were working behind the scenes, who I didn't see, but thanks to you too!
And lastly a huge and special thanks to Aaron - for his help, his patience, for all the hours he put in, for his amazing organisation and co-ordination to make sure the ceremony went smoothly, for being master of ceremonies at the reception, for thinking of supplying us with coffees when we were table decorating on Friday, for delivering Howards champagne to the room while we were getting ready Saturday morning. I could go on, and I'm sure I've missed something of the list, but Aaron - you were fantastic and I can't thank you enough!!!!
You can be sure I will be recommending The Wheatsheaf as a venue for anyone I hear of, planning their wedding!
Thanks again all of you!

Room Tip: We had a look round the hotel before booking the venue for the wedding and all of the rooms are of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

i would like to start by thanking Dena, Mark and Aaron for a fntastic day that my wife and i could not fault one bit.
we held our wedding here on 30th June 2012, we found the hotel by accident and as soon as we found it we knew it was the one for us. after a bit of a rough start when the previouse manager done a runner with our deposit we were needless to say very upset. but after a meeting with the owner who assured us that all moneys paid would be honoured and a new managment team were coming in we were alot happier.
after meeting the new manageress Dena we could not have been happier. she helped us plan our perfect day, coming up with loads of ideas we had not even thought of.
we were amazed at how profesional and compitent she is.
when the big day arrived we were amazed at how even when i was running around like a headless chicken the staff at the hotel took care of everything right down to the smallest detail.
Aaron took control just as a good host should and he made the day go off without a hitch.
we could not have had a better day. we can not praise the hotel, staff, food and atmosphere enought.
the marquee was perfect and the house dj was brilliant.
i have to give a special mention to the kitchin staff who were amazing, the food for the wedding breakfast was to die for and the gammon was perfect.
a big thank you to all involved in planning our big day.

Room Tip: rooms in the main building are perfect, the attic room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had my daughters wedding reception here on 26th May 2012. Many family members stayed in the hotel on Friday and Saturday night. The service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. We booked a table in the restaurant for 18 people on the Friday evening, the service and food were excellent and very good value. We were allocated a member of staff (Aaron) to deal with and he looked after the wedding and all our guests in an efficient, friendly and very professional manner. The marquee is new and we received only positive comments from our guests. The wedding food was exceptional and the attention to detail outstanding. All our guests commented on the quality of the food and friendly efficient service. My daughter was treated as a VIP from the time we arrived on Friday lunchtime to when we left on Sunday afternoon. The current management took over the hotel on 28th April 2012 and have made some very positive changes. The rooms were all clean and welcoming. I would like to say a huge thank you to Dina, Mark, Aaron and all your lovely staff. A perfect wedding venue in a beautiful setting. We all want to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are more traditional. The lodge is more modern. All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karennsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in this lovely country hotel as we attended a wedding in the marquee in the garden, we had a really super stay.
The rooms were large, clean and area with spectacular views, the food was delicious and the staff, especially Aaron, couldn't have been more helpful. The children were well catered for, with smaller (but still generous) portions from the main menu, and we were constantly checked on during the wedding meal to see if the children were ok and their likes and dislikes were accounted for too.
We stayed in the annexe, which was very handy for the main restaurant and marquee.
We couldn't have had a better time, and really would recommend this as a place to stay as a family, couple or as a wedding venue!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Librarymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Spent the afternoon here - didn't stay overnight. Very friendly & welcoming staff. Delicious lunch from the specials board, excellent value.
Will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastro-god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stopped off at this lovely country hotel for Sunday lunch last week after visiting a near by country park, we had the set 3 course lunch it was to die for and priced well, all the staff were really friendly, nothing was to much trouble, we asked for smaller portions for our children and they were also priced reasonably, so many places charge far to much for children’s portions. We also asked to see the hotel rooms which were all lovely and in character with the old hotel and again well priced, we will be making plans to have a night away from the children and stay over, the owner Deana showed us round, they also had the most beautiful marquee in the garden which they use for out door parties and weddings.

A true hidden Gem near Oundle

Claire G

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oundle
4.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Corby
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Corby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Laundimer House Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Swallows Rest Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Oundle Bespoke Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benefield Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benefield Wheatsheaf

Property: The Benefield Wheatsheaf
Address: Main Street | Upper Benefield, Oundle PE8 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Oundle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country hotel with stunning views of the Northamptonshire countryside situated in the heart of Rockingham Forest between Oundle and Corby. Relax in our cosy stone-walled lounge & bar or enjoy excellent food in our light, airy Garden Room restaurant or on our terrace in the summer. High quality, comfortable accommodation with stylish rooms furnished in traditional and contemporary style, including one with four-poster bed. We promise friendly hospitality, attentive service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Benefield Wheatsheaf Hotel Oundle
The Benefield Wheatsheaf Oundle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing