We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kettering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthorn House Hotel
Save
You added Hawthorn House Hotel to your Saves list
2 Hawthorn Road, Kettering NN15 7HS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kettering
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Such a warm welcome and comfortable accomodation could not believe the breakfast, spent two nights and was asked what we would like on both days, Was suprised how close town was, 10 mins walk and 20 mins walk to Wicksteed Park where we were going to Classic Car rally.
Found Cafe Culture in town, good food and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: stayed in Coach House room great if you want to stay out late and parking right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1milly2, Owner at Hawthorn House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us, it was a pleasure to have met you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have in the past stayed at the holiday inn, not now! A real breakfast and comfortable accomodation, and the golden finish to the victorian woodwork just had to be felt {Iam an old woodworker} we found it very handy for our visit to family. we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeep10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at Hawthorn House. Mrs McQuade made us very welcome. Food lovely and rooms comfortable. Location central within ten minutes of town centre. ##################################<####

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in September to attend a family 'do'. Mrs McQuade made us very welcome. The accomodation was very clean and comfortable and breakfast lovely. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend 2 nights at Mrs McQuade's and I wish it could have been longer. I got horribly lost on the way from Birmingham & showed up 2 hours late, but Mrs McQuade was still waiting up for me. The room was clean & cozy with every amenity you could ask for. Breakfast both mornings was wonderful. If I ever come back to Kettering, I know where I'll be staying!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kizzarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very comfortable, Mrs McQuade is a lovely, welcoming host.. it was the perfect stay while we were in Kettering for a wedding. Would recommend highly to anyone visiting the area needing accommodation for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Mrs. McQuade and felt cared for in a really excellent way. Our breakfast was made according to the order recorded the day before. Our room had its very olwn charm because it was furnished with Victorian antiques.

We really enjoyed our stay and will come back if we need accommodation in the Kettering area once again!

Room Tip: We booked the Blue Room which is relatively noisy because it is facing a relatively busy A-road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaTi228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettering
1.4 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kettering Hotel
1.4 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kettering
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering Corby
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Kettering
Travelodge Kettering
#5 of 7 in Kettering
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothwell
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House Hotel

Property: Hawthorn House Hotel
Address: 2 Hawthorn Road, Kettering NN15 7HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kettering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kettering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn House (private) Hotel is a beautiful Victorian town house situated close to the center of Kettering. Established in 1975, the resident owners, the McQuade family have welcomed guests from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Hotel Kettering, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing