We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kettering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthorn House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kettering
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Mrs McQuade was a fantastic host from start to finish. She was very attentive and made you feel like one very special guest. The interior is decorated with old world charm. Great value for money! What a refreshing change from all those sterile chain hotels!

Room Tip: Rooms are all up stairs. No lift available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1milly2, Owner at Hawthorn House Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you ever wish to visit Kettering again, I thought you would like to know that we have a ground floor room in our Coach House Annexe. This has a double bed and en-suite facilities. I hope to be able to meet you again some day. Kindest regards, Mrs McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I had booked early for this visit on a friend's recommendations and was very pleased with the service I had. Mrs Mcquade's certainly runs an excellent Hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it to prospective guests.

My room in the coach house was superb and every comfort had been laid on. Previous gusts here have mentioned it and I can only confirm it's great. The breakfast was outstanding and I was very impressed indeed.
Thank you Mrs McQuade. It made my weekend very comfortable.
regards
Ken Churchill.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny70186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a really warm and welcoming experience.I stayed 3 nights at Mrs McQuade's to attend a course at a local conference centre.The room was large and had the most comfortable bed.Breakfast was brilliant and Mrs McQuade is a wonderful host so helpful and kind.It's situated just 15 mins walk from the station,town and Kettering Conference Centre.I'd highly recommend Hawthorn House Hotel ,if you have a need for an overnight stay in Kettering.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent four nights at this small hotel over Christmas. Mrs McQuade was very helpful, letting us leave our luggage in our room much earlier than usual. The room was comfortable and warm. Breakfast freshly prepared and delicious. We would definitely recommend to friends.

Liz and Phil Richards

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I have had 2 week long stays at Hawthorne House hotel and found it be full of charm, with a wonderful, helpful and delightful staff. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had a very nice two-day stay at this small hotel. The room we stayed in was clean, had a nice atmosphere and the decoration was fun. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Overall the impression of the hotel was welcoming and something to remember.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

An interesting place but more of a b&b than a hotel. The shower and room I stayed in was okay but in need of freshening up. Good friendly service and an adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestOpinion007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettering
1.4 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Kettering Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering Corby
3.7 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House Hotel

Property: Hawthorn House Hotel
Address: 2 Hawthorn Road, Kettering NN15 7HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kettering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kettering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn House (private) Hotel is a beautiful Victorian town house situated close to the center of Kettering. Established in 1975, the resident owners, the McQuade family have welcomed guests from all over the world. Free off road car park. Prices - Single £45.00 per night, Double/Twin £70.00 per night. Breakfast is free of charge to overnight guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Hotel Kettering, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing