We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT FOOD, FOR SPECIAL OCCASION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palmichael

The Palmichael
Ranked #2 of 204 Restaurants in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD, FOR SPECIAL OCCASION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went here for the first time on Saturday 8th September. Atmosphere is lovely, so were the staff. Polite and cheerful. Food was gorgeous, hot and cooked to order. The steaks were to die for, so was the lasagne. Deserts were brilliant too. All in all, a very enjoyable meal and evening. Would recommend if you had a special occasion to celebrate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    56
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Although we've lived in the area for nearly 30 years we had never visited this restaurant. It lives up to its reputation for very fine food. We had a glass of house red each, which was a little on the sharp side, but not uncommon for italian wine. We both opted for (different) chicken main courses, which were delicious and were very good portions. (We'd anticipated this and foregone starters!) This left room for their tiramasu, which was light and not too sweet - very good. We finished with coffees. The bill was £55, which we thought was OK for the quality of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent for special occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have known of this restaurant for a long time and decide to try it. The food - in fact everything - was excellent and really good quality.

Very expensive so best for special occasions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oscar933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

went here for my th wedding anniversary, fabulous place, not what you expect from the outside, food was authentic and the staff were beyond helpful, we had a fantastic italian meal and desert was out of this world . recommend to everyone who wants a piece of italy in dreary old england.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank clarise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A good italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

A nice Italian family run restaurant with good food. I suppose it is the best in the area even I have been in better Italian restaurant in England. Only negative note on my opinion is that the food is a bit on the english/italian. But this does not mean that the taste is not good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gt67-berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palmichael also viewed

Burton Latimer, Kettering
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Palmichael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing