We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Wicksteed Park

Wicksteed Park
Ranked #2 of 112 things to do in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wicksteed Park is based in Kettering, Northamptonshire and the large 147 acre ground is a wonderful mix of rides, attractions and beautiful countryside and wildlife. Wicksteed also boasts two private function rooms, ideal for weddings, private functions and corporate hire in the Northamptonshire and Midlands region. The is also a family camp site which boasts a modern loo and shower block, and beautiful views over the lake. It's the perfect way to make the most of Wicksteed Park. You wake up just seconds away from our rides, cafés and playgrounds, and get special second-day discounts on our wristbands. 2017 opening dates will be updated shortly.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

There is so much that can be said about Wicksteed Park as there is more than enough to keep even the busiest family entertained. There are plenty of rides, attractions, play areas, food outlets and bars, no one should ever get bored there. Entrance is charged per car and then you buy either wristbands or tickets for each attraction, so it can be as dear or cheap as you wish. There is plenty of grass for picnics too if you fancy it. All in all well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    361
    170
    65
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buy tickets online”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited Wicksteed Park with the family (2 adults, 3 kids) on Bank Holiday Monday. It was a lovely sunny day so needless to say it was busy!

We paid £6 to park the car on site. There were a lot of cars but traffic was managed well and we didn't experience too much delay entering or leaving.

We bought ride tickets (a sheet of 30) online via Wicksteed's website. This gave us a discount of £1 compared to buying on site. I believe the online discounts also extend to wristbands and annual passes.

There are a great selection of rides as well as a large FREE playground. As mentioned already it was busy and so queue times for the big rides were around 15 mins.

We took a picnic as it's ideal with large grassy lawns a plenty! Many others chose to take BBQs and they smelt great!

Although we didn't go on loads of rides, the kids had a great time saying "can we go back again", plus it didn't work out too expensive!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank markyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrumba Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wicksteed's the place!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My daughter and I spent the day at Wicksteed Park yesterday and I have to say that it was fantastic!! Even though it felt like most of Kettering and the surrounds were there, we still had space to put our picnic blanket and spread out for our meal. We spent about 2 hrs in the massive sand pit next to the lake and again even though it felt filled to capacity, the other parents (for the most part) were friendly and if they brought bucket and spade were happy to share if someone else had forgotten to pack them. All-in-all, an excellent day was had!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good day out for young families”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We probably visit Wicksteed a couple of times a year and I think its a charming, lovely day out for young children. If you have older children/teenagers or are expecting something akin to Alton Towers then you will be probably disappointed but this is a reasonably priced day out.

There is no entrance fee and parking is £6, you can therefore do as much or as little as you like. We normally buy the tickets as opposed to wristbands as you can use them again on subsequent visits and therefore it doesn't matter if we only go on a couple of rides and then spend the rest of the day in the grounds.

The large (free) playground is brilliant and whilst some of the theme park rides may look a little dated, I'd rather go for less flashy attractions than have the prices hiked up.

We would normally take a picnic but as this most recent visit was a spur of the moment decision we decided we'd buy food there instead. The food service was incredibly slow and the staff seemed overwhelmed by the lunchtime rush. This, however, is my only negative point of this and previous visits and we look forward to going back again soon

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosesweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day out for young families”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Agree with those that have posted before that this is a place for younger children. The park has obviously been around for a while and compared to flashier parks such as alton towers, legoland, chessington etc. it seems quite outdated so think teens are unlikely to be impressed. However my children (aged 6 and 8) loved it. We got wristbands (booking online in advance gave us a small discount) allowing us to go on all rides as often as we liked. The queues, with the exception of the paratrooper, were short so they got to go on pretty much everything they wanted (huge advantage over larger parks!!). I say pretty much as we'd still be there if it was down to them! It was reasonably priced too, £50 for 3 of us for the whole day, which was good value when you totted up the amount of rides we got around. Huge amounts of lovely parkland for picnics and saw others bbq'ing, although toilets were disgusting. We had a great day out and would certainly go back and recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Escapedfortheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicksteed Park also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Castle Ashby, Northampton
 

Been to Wicksteed Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing