We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone down to very average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sundew Harvester

The Sundew Harvester
Ranked #64 of 204 Restaurants in Kettering
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Sundew Harvester in Kettering food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Kettering, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Rothwell, Geddington and Great Oakley, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gone down to very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Used to go here a lot when it first opened and indeed for a couple of years afterwards.
Then it started to drift downwards, the standard of food went down and the price went up.
Much the same with the beer. Used to have a very acceptable pint of IPA, but can hardly drink it now.
We also used to go there in the Winter for a drink, as it was always warm and friendly, but often than not the gas fire's not even now. Still got a friendly bar person though.
I suppose they built up the trade to start with and now just want to take profits out, without much thought for the locals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stumps42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sundew Harvester, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have replied to you personally as all the feedback we receive helps us to improve our service and we assure you we will pay attention to your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    94
    70
    47
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Woulds like to award more but just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Visited today as was in hope that our local harvester had been updated like the one at Riverside Northants but on walking in we noticed it wasn't but we thought we would give it a go anyway,

Walked in polite servers sat and ordered drinks not busy at all on a rainy Tuesday afternoon, we got to the salad bar which no after experiencing riverside was a little disappointing it was messy spilled food and sauce everywhere the salad though was fresh and the rolls were lovely and freshly baked, no olives here or mini gerkins

We ordered Nacho starter to share, then steak and chips for me and husband my 5 year old wanted salmon and mash and corn on the cob she does like the picking and the choosing on the menu

the Nacho arrived but they were a little oily but still nice mains arrived a little after I ordered my steak blue and husband rare they were cooked correctly (very important to us haha) chips as usual were lovely and the montery Jack mushroom sauce I ordered with the steak lovely and creamy no complaints here, my 5 year polished off her salmon and corn on the cob sadly the mash I think possible packet mix and a little dry, she did not like so left it.

on to dessert we had the rocky horror to share forgot photos of this! and my daughter had the childrens jelly but I think at this point her eyes were bigger than her belly as she ate a few mouthfuls only , you cant go wrong with ice cream! it was lovely

staff were polite and friendly through out but just a little let down on the menu and the messiness of the salad counter considering it wasn't that busy.

I think our new local harvester may have to change to riverside

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mooandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sundew Harvester, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We have replied to you personally following your recent comments left on Trip Advisor. We aim to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not cheap and not cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Food dry and badly presented. Quite expensive. Won't rush back! Only used it as a colleague was staying at adjacent Holiday Inn Express - wish I'd made the effort to drive to another place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sundew Harvester, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sundew Harvester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

When we arrived we were told there was a 15min waiting time. This shortened to 7mins and was well worth the wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sundew Harvester, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Sundew Harvester . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't be rushing back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Firstly you generally know what to expect at these eateries so I don't want to sound too critical but for a anyone to call it excellent have clearly led a sheltered culinary life! Went yesterday and had a very below average experience, first off our waitress Kath or Kathy a woman in her late 30's 40's, should never be in a public facing role, she was abrupt and rude , my daughter asked what sauces there were available and she pointed at the menu sighing as though to say "read"! followed by wife asking what type of potatoes were available and she said " again if you check the menu it's all on there" not good at all, service limited to bringing the meal from the kitchen,tips zero
Food was just ok at best and I mean all of it, mash looked really bad though on the plate and was really dry. The best food was my daughters sirloin , she said it was tasty and cooked as asked. We were glad to leave, plenty of better places for the same money or less. Told all my FB contacts and close friends to avoid in feat that they get our waitress

Helpful?
Thank PMACX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Sundew Harvester, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sundew Harvester also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Corby, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Sundew Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing