We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ding Dong !!”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Finedon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Finedon B&B and Inns
northampton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ding Dong !!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

On Saturday afternoon, 12. 30 14th. April, 2012 I had arranged an interview with the councillor John L. H. Bailey as this was his local. The pub was empty on arrival which seemed strange for a Saturday lunch time. I was greeted by the landlord and ordered a pint of Hancock's which is from a Welsh brewery. I enjoyed four of those pints but the last was somewhat hurried since I had not
realised the pub closed at 15. 00hrs. The old fashioned closing time. My interview with John Bailey, local hisotrian went smoohtly as he and his wife also enjoyed a glass of red wine and a pint of ale. They both enjoyed a lunch time snack which they seemed to enjoy. Nearby a wedding at St Mary the Virgin was taking place in which a No. 12 London double decker bus. was to take the guests. On cold winter nights I can imagine a pleasant ambience around the log fire. Prices are a bit expensive , my pint was £3. I did have a brief chat with the landlord, as several locals chattered away. Withon only six customers the lunch time was not exactly busy, and conversation not that exciting. I took several photographs of the pub, and took my hasty departure.
Geoff Hamilton, editor, Anglo-Nordic Times Intl.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geoffrey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Took our Daughter and her Husband there (they were on vacation from the USA, we had a lovely meal there and a pint (or two) the owners were brilliant toward all of us, they are friendly the pub itself is worth the visit on its own, so much history there.
Would we go back.. Yes .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovebug060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is a fantastic building with a lot of history...well worth a look if you are in the area. However, DO NOT expect a warm welcome and DO expect to be stared at, mocked and generally made to feel unwelcome if you are not a local and of white, british, hetrosexual origin!! The beer is expensive, the staff are rude, the food is dreadful and mostly micro-waved within an inch of it's life. You have been warned!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank h4zel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

As a visitor from Australia, even though I am originally from England, I could in no way fault the service or friendship offered and delivered by this public house. On a scale of 1 to 5 , they are definately a 6. It may not be for everyone but if you want an inteligent conversation with inteligent people, then this is the place to go. I certainly intend to keep in touch and my e-mail address is ..[--] Denis,Sheryl,Dianne and John; thankyou all.
Maurie, the mad Aussie.

Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Madaussiemaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

If you would like to visit a pub that has historic value, then you might like to try The Bell Inn but if you like an ale house with a friendly atmosphere, then avoid this one like the plague!
The owners have as much personality as a pair of wet dishcloths and seem to forever have their noses well and truly wedged up their backsides, only removing them long enough to look down them at anyone who dares to enter and are not the lord of the manor!
Drinks expensive, decor dull, amenities pretty well non existent.
Not disabled friendly, in fact overall The Bell Inn is NOT VERY FRIENDLY TO ANYONE !!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Popeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

The Bell inn is reputed to be the oldest licenced pub in England, there has certainly been a pub on this site for hundreds of years. Although the original Bell Inn was several hundred yards away in what is now a field behind the car park
As yet I have not stayed at this B&B but I have downed many a pint and tasted of it's food. The pint and hospitality are great, and the food is very good typical pub grub.

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAIRSUIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finedon
4.2 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
379 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Stanwick Hotel
The Stanwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stanwick
341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Hind Hotel
The Hind Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wellingborough
241 reviews
3.8 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
216 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Wellingborough Rushden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: 32 Bell Hill | Nr. Wellingborough, Finedon NN9 5ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Finedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Finedon
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Finedon
The Bell Inn Finedon, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing