We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Granary at Fawsley
Ranked #1 of 1 Fawsley B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hospitality in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here with a large group of friends and was very impressed by the hospitality of John the manager who catered to our every need, at whatever time of day. Nothing was too much trouble for him and his staff.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable and the rural setting affords some terrific countryside views. A particular highlight was a delightful cooked breakfast on the terrace on a very sunny sunday morning.

There are some lovely pubs nearby as well as plenty of picturesque villages to explore.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    35
    16
    16
    20
See reviews for
60
42
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

After reading some of the prvious reviews I have to say I was quite suprised and suspect the Granary has undergone a change in management!

I stayed there for 3 nights/4 days for work purposes and cant fault it. The room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. John on reception was absolutely lovely and very helpful. There was a hot breakfast each morning and John happily catered to my vegetarian needs. He was helpful with dinner recommendations and generally pleasant for the time I was there.

The Granary is 1/2 a mile from Fawlsley Hall so a perfect cheaper alternative for accomodation. The local area is gorgeous, and the Granary itself is a listed buillding having been built in the early 1700's (John is a wealth of information!).

Probably the only negative is that there is very limited mobile reception, and wifi is not great in rooms due to the solid building structure so I needed to use a broadband cable and had to go outside/up the road for a very weak mobile reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Granary Hotel is a fantastic countryside retreat, Amazingly peiceful surroundings and brilliant hospitality. John is a lovely guy who is very welcoming.

Would Highly recomend a visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnewmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay this week, we've been travelling a lot with work and it was an ideal place to stay as we met in the middle.
Its in such a pretty location and John couldn't have been more helpful, he booked us a table at the pub (lovely food) and even had our breakfat ready at 7am as we has an early start. Breakfast was lovelym all locally sourced ingredients.
The only draw back was it was a little corld in the room in the morning but that was probably due to us being up before the heating came on.
All in all a lovely stay and we will be going backkki

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsfreckles1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed in this hotel only recently and having read the reviews I wouldn't recognise that it is the same hotel. I was met by JJ on arrival who was very courteous and accommodating. My room was clean and comfortable if a little cold but there was a supplementary fan heater in the cupboard. As a business traveller the fact that there was a LAN connection in the room for my Laptop was a big plus. Breakfast was excellent and served by John who again was pleasant and chatty. The location is slightly remote which on the one hand means that it is very quite but if you wish to eat it is a car or Taxi journey to the nearest restaurant. Maybe in the future there will be 'on site’ bar and restaurant facilities in the evening? I would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

The rooms at the Granary Hotel are actually OK however the bed in my room was clearly cheap, well worn and down right uncomfortable.
The TV was small and awkwardly positioned making it difficult to watch TV in bed, picture quality was poor and it required two remote controls to work it.
To make matters worse the boiler supplying the radiators in the rooms with heat must have been switched off at night, imagine staying is an old stone granary conversion in the middle of November with no heating!
Breakfast was a shambles, despite agreeing the time for breakfast the night before we have to wake up the proprietor to get breakfast.
Also the proprietor seemed to be the only member of staff, certainly he was the only member of staff we saw.
This is not a hotel, at best it is a poorly run guest house and for £75.00 per night is terrible value for money.
Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere......anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Book a Premier Travel Inn!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We came across the Granary by accident and were the only customers- not surprising given the other reviews!! JJ had taken overonly that week however and provided us with tea, coffee (with hot milk!) and delicious home made cakes. The setting is spectacular and sooooooooooo peaceful. Will definitely return for lunch and if the evening Bistro opens will look forward to a lovely dinner.

JJ couldn't do enough for us, showed us round the whole place (including the lovely bedrooms) and if his plans come to fruition it will be a wonderful facility in an idyllic location. Didnt experience the previous incumbent but think her cobwebs have all been blown away. Go there!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGranaryatFawsley, General Manager at The Granary at Fawsley, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Louise S,

Thank-you very much for your review and kind words. We are continuing to work hard to improve The Granary, and have outlined some very exciting plans for the future. We look forward to welcoming you back over the Christmas period to try one of our Festive Afternoon Teas and in the new year as The Granary continues to improve.

Kindest Regards


J-J Pollak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fawsley
1.8 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
4.6 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
2.9 mi away
Cross Roads Hotel Northampton
2.8 mi away
Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granary at Fawsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary at Fawsley

Property: The Granary at Fawsley
Address: Fawsley Estate, Fawsley NN11 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Fawsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fawsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Granary at Fawsley 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granary at Fawsley is a contemporary rustic hotel set in the heart of the beautiful Fawsley Estate, Northamptonshire. With 10 individually styled bedrooms, The Granary offers guests a home from home experience in a stunning setting. Ideally located for many attractions including Silverstone, Stratford Upon Avon and Bicester designer outlet village. We are situated in a small valley in the midst of rolling countryside, perfect for walking enthusiasts and plodders alike! Afterwards, why not sample one of our afternoon teas, a Granary must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Granary at Fawsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Granary At Fawsley England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing