We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise Worth Finding”
Review of Garst Museum

Garst Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Surprise Worth Finding”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Traveling through Greenville with friends, we allowed an hour or so to check out the Garst Museum. We stayed 3 hours and enjoyed it very much. We had 1 person in our group with a walker and the museum accomodated it well (except for the 2nd floor). All the exhibits were enjoyable. Glad we made time to see this. Historical info on Fort Greenville wa especially interesting. It was worth the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
239 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Brilliant Regional Museum -- Full of Surprises”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife is expert in finding really interesting attractions to visit in slightly out of the way places. We were heading back to Chicago from Nashville and Columbus, and the Garst Museum popped up at her out of our road atlas. What a good find!

Greenville was the home of both travel writer Lowell Thomas and sharpshooter Annie Oakley, and two of the principal exhibits in the museum surround these famous natives. In addition, Greenville was the site of the Treaty of Green Ville, a major treaty that disenfranchised the Indian people of the area (the one that Tecumseh refused to sign). There is a major exhibit on the history of relations with the Indians, including the main personalities on both sides.

All of these exhibitions are astonishingly well done, and very well laid out along a walking tour of the museum through the original Garst house and the later add-on buildings. There are a whole series of life-size period rooms from the late 19th century through mid-20th.

The museum, as many regional museums do, also serves as the local attic for residents who are downsizing. There is a big room full of old farm equipment, miscellaneous belongings, and even a pair of millstones. However, the Garst Museum has managed to arrange even these odds and ends into an interesting, well-curated collection.

The Garst Museum is worth going out of your way to see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in Greenville, Ohio!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have lived in Ohio our entire lives and have never visited Greenville until today. It was well worth the trip! The Garst Museum is one of the best "small" museums I have ever visited. Obviously run by a very proud historical society, it has many different areas of interest, including Annie Oakley, Lowell Thomas, various military and Scout uniforms and war memorabilia, and several rooms dedicated to the Greenville Treaty with Native Americans, as well as the culture of the native Americans in this part of Ohio. You really could easily spend a half day in this museum. The tour starts off great with the volunteer greeter, who is very happy to see you, but not overly pushy. Just a great way to spend a snowy day in Ohio. Thanks Greenville and the Garst Museum!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Walkinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the best small museums in America”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Seriously. The Annie Oakley collection alone is worth a trip here. When we travel, we try to find smaller local museums to visit and generally give ourselves 1-2 hours. We could have spent a full day here. The people were extremely friendly and helpful, the farm machinery was presented in a very engaging manner and the rest of the collection lives up to the world class Annie Oakley stuff around it. GO! We visited in 2008.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeyebrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Annie Oakley”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very interesting small museum. We arrived late and had to cut our visit short.The museum is filled with much Annie Oakley memorabilia and many other interesting items from the area. Their is a splendid "Stage Coach" along with many farm implements from years past. Many personal items of Annie Oakley. I have a better appreciation for her.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gradyk_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garst Museum also viewed

 

Been to Garst Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing