We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to below hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average to below hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

2 free nights with points, and terrible check in lady. As was mentioned, deep cleaning is needed. We had a stain in our room, shower could have been cleaned better. King bed was junk. Breakfast is the same old hoilday inn stuff. Check in lady did not even tell us where our room was, what time breakfast was etc. Good location for Eldora and Winchester speedways. More than likely will not go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14fan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear 14fan2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the condition in which you found your room. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We will be addressing the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
11
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times, and have been satisfied (not "wowed," but satisfied) with everything up until my most recent visit. Please don't let this hotel go downhill any more--it is getting some years on it now and it needs some deep cleaning and upgrades. My carpet was stained. The bottom of the tub had some dirty stains and may require replacement if it can't be cleaned. There was some other kind of dirty stain under and around the tub faucet. There was no shower curtain liner. The hotel was not that full--so why was I placed in a room that had a "dirty appearance" and was right by the side door? When the door slams shut, it is loud and it woke me up at 3 am when someone came in (or went out); then I couldn't go back to sleep. I am a Priority Club member but sure wasn't treated like one or acknowledged as one. The plasticware in the breakfast room was the cheap, flimsy kind that won't cut anything and breaks easily. Please beg your owners to put some money into this place to replace, upgrade, and do some serious cleaning. I also agree with a previous comment I read--I just expect the front door of a hotel to be automatic -- awkward to try to open the front door when you are carrying luggage, bags, etc. Glad I only had to stay one night !!! Had to wait for someone to come to front desk at check in. No one was ever at the front desk when I passed by. The price for this hotel is way too high. I don't know how this hotel in this small town gets away with these prices--maybe because of the lack of hotels in the area. I live in a major metropolitan area and most of our suburban hotels are nicer and less expensive than this !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Ally S,

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the condition in which you found your room. We also apologize for the inconvenience due to the noise and regret the incident during the breakfast hour. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback in order to improve upon our services, and have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Mine was just an overnight stay. I didn't have a reservation, but checkin was fast and efficient; I was given a bottle of water and the nice lady gave me a close room on the ground floor. The pool was a welcome amenity and the exercise room was well stocked. My room was clean, comfortable and inviting. Breakfast was delicious and hot. The front desk lady was nice and talked to me whenever I went in and out. The only thing I would change is the doors at the front as they were not automatic and difficult to maneuver luggage thru.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our entire experience was extremely pleasant. We were greeted warmly by Kathy at the front desk, who quickly and efficiently checked us into our room. (Whenever we passed the front desk, we were acknowledged...very nice to be made to feel important! We had the pleasure of meeting our housekeeper, Robin, who was diligent in her duties. She asked on several occasions if there was anything we needed. She obviously enjoys her position and desires to do a superior job. Susan, who prepared the breakfast, was also excellent. The food was very well prepared and presented with a smile. On our last morning, a young child spilled a full glass of milk. Susan set about cleaning it up thoroughly which included comforting the upset child (because he split the milk), cleaning the chairs (including the legs), and moving the table to mop the floor completely. I might add that it was after 9 am by now (Wednesday). Thanks to all for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We returned to the Holiday Inn Express for a 3 night stay in August. We reserved a king suite, and given room 315. Check inn was easy, the front desk person just gave us our key that was already in a pile of reserved room paperwork. Then on was disappointment after disappointment. The luggage cart was falling apart and there was only 1 for the entire hotel. The front doors are not automatic so if you are trying to use the luggage cart, or have your hand full of kids/luggage it just isnt convenient to put the items down open the door and somehow pick everything back up while holding the door. Our non smoking room smelled of smoke, finally figured out that it was coming from the outside smokers as the ash tray designated area was directly under our window and the smoke wafted into the vents. The door to the room would not lock. The maintenance person was out until the next morning, so we slept the entire night with an unsecured door. After the door was fixed, you still had to lift the door from the outside to get it to lock. The room itself was as expected size and feature wise. mini fridge, microwave, pullout couch. The bathroom tub had a dark mold in the space where you would find caulk. There was no non slip in the tub. This isnt a a big deal to most, but we have 2 young children that take baths and need the support of not sliding and falling in the tub. Water pressure was fine and we always had hot water. The pool is not heated and the pool towels are a little bigger than a hand towel and much much thinner. The breakfast area had 1 highchair. The only healthy items were bananas. The pancake maker was broken the entire visit. Cinnamon rolls, bagels and bread products, eggs, sausage patties, gravy, cereal were available as were juice and coffee/tea.
Check out went smoothly. We have stayed at the other hotels in the area, and unfortunately this is as good as it gets in Greenville. There are a few bed and breakfasts, have not tried those yet.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that end in 15 (directly above the outside ash tray)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyecarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear HyecarT,

Thank you for your feedback. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the overall condition of your room. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and trust that we will address the issues and assure you that proper measures will be taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, IL
Level Contributor
163 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

First of all, there are a limited number of hotels in this area. We were doing the Route 127 yard sale thus making the rate for the room somewhat higher than we expected. So we signed in at an agreed rate. Then later on in the evening, I told them that we were not enjoying the same amenities as we did the previous night at another HIE. When we were given the bill the next morning, the bill had been reduced by $25. We appreciate a fairer price so thanks HIE.

This hotel has been going through a renovation since the end of 2012. There are 3 floors with 65 rooms all with interior access along with one elevator. There is a covered drive-thru with 2 sets of manual doors which make entrance/exit to the hotel somewhat harder. We noticed that there was a cigarette butt dispenser on one side of the doors, but none on the other along with several butts on the ground. We used the only luggage cart that we saw available. We didn't get to enjoy fresh baked cookies and a choice of snack from a basket like we did at the previous night's HIE. The lobby was very small with only 4 chairs available for relaxing. The computer is poorly located--in the lobby right across from the check-in desk, thus providing no privacy. Available to all guests is a heated indoor pool with handicap access (no jacuzzi), a laundry, and a fitness center with 3 machines. You may enjoy coffee 24/7. Check-in was fast and efficient.

The hallway to our room seemed a little dim. Our room was clean and inviting. We had 2 comfortable queen beds. Available to use was a flat screen TV with cable lineup, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, internet hookup. A microwave and fridge were not available. A desk with an arm chair with rollers, a chair with an ottoman, a chest of drawers, and 2 mirrors furnished the room.

The bath was all in one room with a shower/tub combo and average length single vanity sink and mirror. No rubber mat was provided for safety while using the shower/tub.

Breakfast was sufficient with scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, pastries, yogurt, bagels, cream cheese, toast and jellies, bananas, juices, and coffee/tea. The hot pancake maker was out of order. HIE needs to use fiberware instead of styrofoam for cups and plates to help our environment.

We would stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleSwansea_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

IMO this is your best choice if you will staying in the Greenville area. The hotel is clean, well maintained and the staff is excellent.

Like most hotels, the rooms really need electrical outlets by the beds, (I figure if I keep asking, someday it may happen).

Generally the hotel pricing is competitive but they take full advantage of special events around town and the price can be 30% higher or more for racing or the Darke County Fair. Make sure you confirm pricing, when you make your reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandSalesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Greenville
61 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond
24.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sidney
Hampton Inn Sidney
#1 of 4 in Sidney
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 9 in Troy
178 reviews
20.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dayton Troy
22.6 mi away
Motel 6 Richmond
Motel 6 Richmond
#8 of 10 in Richmond
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Greenville
Address: 1195 E Russ Rd, Greenville, OH 45331-2767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Greenville, Ohio. Our entire staff would like to invite you, your family, and friends to come and stay with us. Our hotel is conveniently to be found off of SR 121. We are located near the famous Eldora Speedway. Our goal is to make your stay a pleasant and comfortable one. At our hotel you can relax in our heated indoor pool. Our hotel also offers a fitness center complete with television. We have 65 guest rooms each including multi-line phones with data ports, Complimentary high speed internet access, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons w/boards, extra large 27' TVs, and more. Our rooms consist of spacious contemporary suites including microwaves, refrigerators, 2 extra large 27' TVs, Whirlpools, Sofa Beds, plus every amenity as listed with standard rooms, and more. Our hotel also provides wheelchair accessible rooms each with a connecting room. In addition, we offer a Conference Room designed for intimate meetings and a Great Room for various gatherings. We also provide a conveniently located laundry facility available 24 hours a day. And as always, children stay free with their parents. Along with your stay, you are welcome to enjoy our SMART START Breakfast bar served daily in the Great Room. We look forward to having you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing