We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cup of Earl Grey tea”
Review of The Courtyard Cafe

The Courtyard Cafe
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in Daventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Courtyard Cafe is unique to Daventry and Northamptonshire, as everything is homemade and ethically sourced. We are a family business and over three generations we have 75 years experience in Hospitality between us. The team is Anna-Marie, Paul, Anne, Geraldine, Kim, Amelia, Georgia. Behind the scenes is John. We are a warm and friendly team and were love sending our customers away happy and smiling. We are famous for our cakes and slices and are Oven Baked Potatoes, Soups, Breakfast with local free range rare breed eggs, local hand linked Sausages and Cured Bacon, Hams, Pate, Pork Pies. We have Coffee by Nespresso, All 14 Leaf teas by Jeniers, Hot Chocolate by Whittard of Chelsea. We cater for gluten free, dairy free and always have breads, cakes and crumpets. We also have a big focus on Healthy Eating, and are Slimming World friendly. We have a stunning location and endearing ambience like no other. We welcome the infirm, the very young, wheelchairs, mums and toddlers, families, groups and clubs and small weddings, wakes or parties and christenings. Please come and visit us to see how a cafe should feel and how service should be delivered x In October 2013 we were awarded Runner up, Northamptonshire Cafe/Tea room of the Year 2013 and Finalist in 2014. We were awarded Daventry's No 1 Cafe by The Daventry Express in 2014.
Weedon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best cup of Earl Grey tea”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would highly recommend this cosy café if you enjoy fresh homemade high quality food and a warm welcoming atmosphere. I had a cup of Jenier Earl Grey tea - I enjoyed it so much I bought some loose tea to enjoy at home. It was much more aromatic than the Twinings Earl Grey tea I normally drink. I also had a delicious fruit scone with raspberry and blueberry jam which had been freshly made the night before - the staff are definitely passionate about the food they serve and are very friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverfox14399, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are delighted to read your review and thrilled that you have highlighted our choice of teas x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    28
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best eatery in Daventry!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We go for breakfast most Saturday mornings & the staff, especially Mary are always so welcoming. Mary remembers exactly what our daughter has every week & ensures she gets a childs portion size, so she's not overphased by too much porridge! The food is of excellent quality, even serving proper leaf tea which is a nice change to other places. We tried the cakes last Saturday & I wish we hadn't as they were delicious & I don't know if I have the willpower to say no to the Rocky Road next time! Can't recommend this place enough for its' warm & friendly atmosphere with excellent food. It's by far the best cafe in Daventry & we have tried them all!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverfox14399, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank-you for recognising us as an in important part of Daventry. We fully respect your view and we always hope to give our best even if we are not the best x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Courtyard Cafe is a bit out of the way, in Bishops Court, just off the High Street and close to the library, but its well worth a visit. John and Anne Marie and the other staff are always so friendly and welcoming and their food is delicious. Its bright and colourful in there and is a happy place to while away dull, winter afternoons with a nice cup of Earl Grey tea a a piece of Rocky Road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 72Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverfox14399, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank-you sincerely for your review of The Courtyard Cafe, it means a great deal to all of the team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here for the first time a few days ago for lunch and it was lovely. Friendly service, very clean and great choice of food and teas. Will now make the effort to walk over for my lunch everyday even if it's to take out. Would highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSilvert, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank-you so much, it's the local people for pleasure or business that are promoting us, and we love seeing new customers all the time xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A "must visit" in Daventry”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We found this cafe by accident having cycled into Daventry and left our bikes outside the Library.
It's brightly decorated and welcoming to all. We had a couple of delicious paninis, there was a good selection to chose from but for me the real treat was that they offered Nespresso coffee, served just how we liked it. Staff were very friendly and keen that we enjoyed our food. I was pleased to see organic and local produce were used and was disappointed that we didn't get to sample the delicious looking cakes as The Courtyard Cafe closed at 4.30pm. We should've arrived earlier. I shall recommend this cafe to anyone visiting Daventry, just wish it was closer to home - we live in Hampshire, but we'll be visiting again in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSilvert, Owner at The Courtyard Cafe, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank-you, we are really proud to be in Daventry, and in our own way are trying to put Daventry more on the map x Thanks for being a long distance customer xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Weedon Bec, Daventry
Daventry, Northamptonshire
 
Staverton, Daventry
Daventry, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing