We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far to expensive as the portion size was small and basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Crick
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A real gem in a tranquil waterside location serving really delicious food. Family owned and run. The lamb was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The chocolate torte was "to die for"
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Far to expensive as the portion size was small and basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Definitely wouldn't go back there as hate being ripped off. When the main course came there wasn't any veg and to be honest it didn't have alot of taste. Was looking forward to the evening out but was disappointed and was still hungry when we left. We won't being going back there. :-(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mesher233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    55
    36
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over Priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Not impressed. Over priced for the small portions and quality of food served. Poor and slow and service. Atmosphere OK, if traveling on the canal look for an alternative venue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Right by the canal, the front of this restaurant initially put us off; the roadside wall does not have a working door or windows. When we went around to the other side, and looked at the menu, we were pleasantly surprised. We had a party of four, off a narrowboat, and two dogs, and we enquired whether the dogs would be allowed in. They were welcomed, on the ground floor, and were offered biscuits and cooed over. The menu is Portuguese-influenced. They run a "time-of-day" offer for part of the evening, and some of the specials are charged the amount corresponding to the time you order. This made for very good value, and the dishes were well-prepared, imaginative and very tasty.

Friendly service, fine food, good local beer, dog-friendly and good value. How can you go wrong?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DSThalenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location but poor service / just above average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

visited on a lovely summer friday evening....
restaurant is in a excellent canalside location but no covered outside area
No vegan choices & Only one vegetarian choice - check before you order as it may appear vegetarian but isnt!
Food is overall above average with a good selection of fish & meat dishes, service however isn't, with 40minute wait for a cold starter & waits for everything from drinks to bill.
Under staffed
Over priced for quality & service
mismatched decor & china, inappropriately dressed staff -Needs to find its identity, if its a restaurant then it need to improve in many areas - better off being a great bar with bistro food

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank matilda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Homely restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a fantastic evening meal at The Moorings. We'd read mixed reviews about the place online, but decided to go there as it looked a bit different to the other pubs in Crick.
The downstairs bar/cafe area is very relaxed with sofas - but upstairs it's a more formal dining area. Given the fairly relaxed atmosphere, we were surprised by the excellent quality of the food. It was beautifully presented, tasted great, and we were even given a palette-cleansing sorbet between courses.
We enjoyed our dinner so much that we went back for brunch the next day! The brunch was also delicious.
There's loads of space to sit outside (unfortunately it was raining when we were there!) so it would be perfect on a sunny day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Crick, Northamptonshire
Crick, Northamptonshire
 
West Haddon, Northamptonshire
Long Buckby, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing