We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location but poor service / just above average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Crick
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A real gem in a tranquil waterside location serving really delicious food. Family owned and run. The lamb was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The chocolate torte was "to die for"
leicestershire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location but poor service / just above average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

visited on a lovely summer friday evening....
restaurant is in a excellent canalside location but no covered outside area
No vegan choices & Only one vegetarian choice - check before you order as it may appear vegetarian but isnt!
Food is overall above average with a good selection of fish & meat dishes, service however isn't, with 40minute wait for a cold starter & waits for everything from drinks to bill.
Under staffed
Over priced for quality & service
mismatched decor & china, inappropriately dressed staff -Needs to find its identity, if its a restaurant then it need to improve in many areas - better off being a great bar with bistro food

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank matilda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    55
    36
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Homely restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a fantastic evening meal at The Moorings. We'd read mixed reviews about the place online, but decided to go there as it looked a bit different to the other pubs in Crick.
The downstairs bar/cafe area is very relaxed with sofas - but upstairs it's a more formal dining area. Given the fairly relaxed atmosphere, we were surprised by the excellent quality of the food. It was beautifully presented, tasted great, and we were even given a palette-cleansing sorbet between courses.
We enjoyed our dinner so much that we went back for brunch the next day! The brunch was also delicious.
There's loads of space to sit outside (unfortunately it was raining when we were there!) so it would be perfect on a sunny day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Expected more for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Met up with friends for lunch, and having dined at the old Edwards many times over the years, had high expectations. The welcome was friendly, from the younger staff, but overall, we felt like an inconvenience rather than paying diners. This feeling wasn't helped by the fact that, when we booked, we said we would be coming with a baby in a pushchair, and yet were placed on a small table with no space around it - even though the restaurant was almost empty. We ordered our food, which took ages to come, but I thought that was ok as it was being cooked fresh. I had the seabass, which came with some white cabbage and confit carrot. Almost all the food was at best luke warm when served, and the plates cold (even though served with an oven glove). The food tasted ok, although surprised to see the chips served were french fries, not home-cooked, but won't go back. The days of Edwards are well and truly gone. Only 63% said they would recommend it, sadly I am not one of them.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Beautiful location, room clean and comfortable but cold. (They did switch on a heater, but it made little difference.) Service was polite, friendly and helpful, while the food was very tasty. By the time we left the place was about a third full and the one lady serving, while constantly on the move, was only just keeping up. Three more groups of people and the long waits mentioned in other reviews seem inevitable. I would definitely go there again, but not if it's very busy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crapmodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting specials offer and good fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We visited The Moorings from our canal boat and were interested to find that on arriving at 6.30pm we could choose from the specials board and pay £6.30 for our meals instead of the price listed (called 'Beat the Clock' the offer was operating between 6.30 and 7.45) What a clever idea! We were shown upstairs to the restaurant when our freshly cooked meals were ready to be served. Despite the restaurant being busy and there appearing to be only one lady doing everything (She was rushing round taking orders serving drinks and food and checking all was okay - all with a friendly smile and very well organised) we didn't have to wait long and the food was really tasty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Crick, Northamptonshire
Crick, Northamptonshire
 
West Haddon, Northamptonshire
Long Buckby, Northamptonshire
 
Kilsby, Northamptonshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing