We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“No problems”
Reviewed August 8, 2007

I guess the appearance and layout of this hotel are its worst features. It's a very dull 1960s building with the rooms some way away from the reception (through a rather curious walkway over part of the car park) and a fitness centre at the end of lots of corridors. I've stayed twice - once back in 2005 and again in 2007. Both times the food has been fine (slightly expensive evening meals) and the staff have been perfectly pleasant and helpful. The swimming pool is also a decent size. Beware of the ordinary double rooms - they are tiny. Always book a double with sofabed or an executive room. Some excellent deals available on the Holiday Inn website - I paid £49 for bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and convenient for M1
  • Disliked — The appearance of the building
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    162
    82
    32
    37
See reviews for
116
91
26
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business. Room was absolutely huge with a massive bathroom. Complimentary water and soft drink in the room each day even though it was a standard room. Staff friendly and food was OK. Definately one of the better Holiday Inns I've stayed in.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Piran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

I booked a executive room and had low expectations as I had never stayed in a Holiday Inn.

The hotel was easy to find, nice lobby, great room with everything I would expect from a better hotel : Bathrobe, slippers, mini bar, room service, a range of pillows to order, nice lighting, great selection of pay per view movies.I felt so comfortable.

The only thing that let the hotel down was the awful room service food. The menu said chicken pieces with fries but instead I got chicken mc-nuggets. I am not into childrens food so I wasnt very impressed. However that was my only compliant.

The morning I wanted to leave early for my long drive to wales and I was a hour too early for breakfast .The staff kindly made me some toast & tea which was lovely of them.

  • Liked — Feather pillows, cosy rooms and great pay TV
  • Disliked — room service food
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own food for the room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhomerearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

This former Forte Post House, now owned by Holiday Inn has been well re-furbished inside; outside the hotel is rather ugly but set in pleasant grounds – that unfortunately overlook two enormous supermarket distribution warehouses.

Our Executive Room was quite small with no proper desk area.

As two men travelling together, staying in a double room, we suffered the usual benign confusion of only one set of towels and when we ordered room service only one meal turned up. The staff were helpful but a bit inept.

Breakfast is the usual Holiday Inn fare. I asked for hot chocolate and got the answer ‘I can’t do that, the machine is switched off’ my partner wanted any kind of herb tea. ‘Er we’re struggling to find any kind of herb tea.’

So as long as you stick to tea and coffee don’t stray from the norm I would recommend this hotel for its central location to the M1, good indoor swimming pool and pleasant grounds.

Helpful?
1 Thank CreativeRadioUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2006

I used to stay here a lot on business when it was a PostHouse, because it is convenient to both Northampton and Daventry. Used to be horrible, and smelly.

Still has some scars of those sad days, but the staff are better trained (I found them very friendly) and the decor is better. Food was fine.

The "tunnel" from reception to the bedrooms is still one of its worst points, but my room was clean (a bit on the small side for a Holiday Inn) and comfortable. Selection of pillow types available if you have a preference. All in all a great improvement on what it used to be.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for one night in November - to break a long journey. I had booked this hotel by mistake - having meant to stay at the Express by Holiday Inn which is also at the end of the M6. However, we were so glad that I'd made the mistake.

The room (a free uprgade to an executive room) was very well appointed, the pool was clean, warm and not too busy, the spa tub was invigorating, the sauna fine.

The staff were excellent, the breakfast of a high quality (though watch out, weekday food in 'business' type hotels is often much better than that supplied during the weekends).

We actually enjoyed our short stay very much indeed.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iestyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Not very impressive from the outside – although convenient from the motorway.

Rooms could do with some refurbishment – although better if you get an Exec room.

Breakfasts are plentiful – but of variable quality.

Restaurant typical of Holiday Inn.

As you’d expect from a Holiday Inn – OK but not fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crick
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Watford Gap
Days Inn Watford Gap
#1 of 1 in Watford
102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
5.4 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton

Property: Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Address: 18 M1, Jct, Crick NN6 7XR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Crick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds on the outskirts of historic Rugby in Crick, the Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton is a spacious, elegant hotel. Its easy to reach just off the M1/J18. The Holiday Inn Hotel has 90 rooms with High Speed Internet Access and air conditioning; 2 are equipped for special needs and 13 Meeting Rooms. Relax in the hotel lounge and bar and dine here and in the cosmopolitan hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton Hotel Crick
Holiday Inn Crick
Crick Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton Crick, Northamptonshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing