We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Telford, Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed in a few Holiday Inn’s over the past few years but this has to be one of the best. It looked good from the outside and was even better inside. Very clean, very friendly and very helpful staff.
The hotel is situated just off junction 18 of the M1 and I would imagine a great location for exploring the West Midlands. I was only there for one night as I was attending a wedding reception just up the road at Catthorpe Manor.
On arrival, the receptionist was very helpful, fast, efficient and cheerful. She even booked us a return taxi to the wedding reception. Actually, that was the only negative on the weekend. The hotel use a taxi firm based in Rugby who have a standard call out charge of £12. You then have to add the fare to that so it’s a very expensive taxi for a very short trip. To be fair to the hotel, they did warn me that a call out charge applied so I only have myself to blame for paying so much money. I have learned a useful lesson though and that’s to do some research before I go. I’m sure I could have got a local taxi a lot cheaper. Anyway, back to the hotel review.
We didn’t eat at the hotel on the night as we went to the wedding reception but breakfast was beautiful. The restaurant was very clean and well maintained and the staff were very fast and efficient. There had been a 70th birthday party in the hotel the previous night so the restaurant was very full but the staff kept everything flowing and there was plenty of freshly cooked food available.
The hotel has an indoor swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi along with a well equipped gym.my wife used the swimming pool on both days and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The young lady on the swimming pool reception (sorry but I don’t remember her name) was the most cheerful and helpful member of a hotel team I have met. She obviously loves her job and its people like her that help to make your stay more memorable.
The best part for me was the bedroom. Well to be more specific the bathroom. It wasn’t the shower, the sink, the toilet or the lovely soft white bathrobe. No it was simply the set of bathroom scales that were obviously a bit worse for wear. However, when I used them it said I had lost nearly a stone in weight compared to the ones I use in Boots the chemist. I don’t care if they were broken. I lost weight!!
Overall a great weekend away in a very well managed hotel. I would definitely return and would have no problem recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGNH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write down your experience with us at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I shall be passing these comments on to relevant members of staff that were mentioned. At Holiday Inn Rugby we are committed to ensuring that our guest's stay is a memorable one.
We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    163
    84
    32
    37
See reviews for
116
93
26
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night 3rd June 2013, room 21 on the ground floor, room was very nice, clean and tidy. Adequate facilities to hang your cloths, the room itself was very functional, the TV worked well and the general feel and condition of the room was pretty good. The bathroom again was functional, the shower was good and powerful. Overall a good nights sleep, the bed was soft, fresh linen and overall very good. Great staff on reception, very helpful, they remember you as a guest as I've stayed here a few times now. Didn't eat dinner in the hotel as I find the restaurant more akin to a breakfast cafe but there is nothing wrong with it, just not my style for dinner. Had breakfast the following morning, food was good, staff were friendly and excellent choice of cold and hot selections. The staff are attentive, caring, happy, always great you with a smile and a word. Overall a good stay, Well done, I will be back again on my travels.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGNH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.

Your comments are important to us and help us to continuously improve our service for all of our guests at the hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back again with us at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
577 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing stay here for 2 nights. It was very quiet the first night and so breakfast was served to order but still very good. The second night was busier due to a coach trip so usual breakfast in the mornings. There was an automatic pancake maker there that my 7 year old daughter loved.

The pool was nice and large and warm with a hot spa to relax in too.

The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all it is a nice place to stay, the only thing is, if you want something to eat and not from the restaurant there isn't much choice without a drive to rugby.

We would return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGNH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments further to your stay with us.

It is always good to hear positive feedback about the particular areas you commented on.

As a business we strive to make your stay a relaxed and enjoyable one and look forward to seeing you back with us again at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

+ great location in terms of not being away from office
+ nice b'fast
+ nice gym + pool
+ fair price
+ wifi
+ it was snowing amd freeuing during my stay, but the room was heated well

- have not added the stay on my member card

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco041983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGNH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.

It is always good to hear your opinions as it helps us to improve our standards of service to our guest

Once again thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for business for one night. I had actually booked into the wrong hotel (Jct 16!!) and the management between them organised a transfer so I could meet up with my colleagues as planned - great service! I just needed to ring and confirm with my booking agency.
Pleasant welcome and a servicable room - I loved the sliding wooden panels that you push over the windows insteadof blinds or curtains - no light seepage! The bathroom was clean and adequate - no frills but everything I needed. I would of appreciated softer pillows - they offer 'hard' and 'soft' options but could not really differentiate between them!
Had a sandwich in the bar for dinner which was good. Breakfast pleasant - only had cold so can't comment on the cooked offer. There was an older lady in the restaurant at breakfast who was welcoming and lovely!
Sat in the lounge to wait for my colleague after breakfast and the manager immediately offered me coffee/tea.
The member of staff on the reception desk was serving at the bar when I went to check out so the manager immediately went to take over behind the bar so I could be checked out.
Convenient for motorways without being noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGNH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments further to your recent stay with us.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments and shall make sure that I will pass these on to the relevant staff mentioned in your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Immaculate bathroom. Unpleasant odour through corridors due to very low amount of flush water in loos, (they could do with some of that strong blue stuff). Duvets much too thin (tog) and not long enough to cover shoulders. Sandwiches in bar ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGNH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay with us.

I shall be discussing these areas with our Head of Housekeeping, as comments enable us to identify areas to focus upon when identifying customer needs and requirements.

Once again may I thank you taking the time to share these comments with us and look forward to seeing you again at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Brief overnight business stay - excellent
Clean adequately well furnished rooms the usual Holiday Inn
Clean bathrooms
Convenient location of the M1
Would stay again
Recommended
Did not stay for any meals so cannot comment

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahachiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGNH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments following you recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.

I will pass these onto the particular members of staff from the departments you commented on.Your feedback is important to us in helping us deliver the right standard of service to yourself and other guests.

We look forward to seeing you again at Holiday Inn Rugby-Northampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crick
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
383 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
5.2 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Watford Gap
Days Inn Watford Gap
#1 of 1 in Watford
105 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
498 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton

Property: Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Address: 18 M1, Jct, Crick NN6 7XR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Crick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds on the outskirts of historic Rugby in Crick, the Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton is a spacious, elegant hotel. Its easy to reach just off the M1/J18. The Holiday Inn Hotel has 90 rooms with High Speed Internet Access and air conditioning; 2 are equipped for special needs and 13 Meeting Rooms. Relax in the hotel lounge and bar and dine here and in the cosmopolitan hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton Hotel Crick
Holiday Inn Crick
Crick Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton Crick, Northamptonshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing