We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good gym & pool, shame about the service at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Firstly the good points - there is a small gym and a pool that is usually quiet. Both are free for residents.

The location is also good if you want to break a journey up - it's only a minute's drive to the M1.

As we were travelling with two children we booked an executive room, this was actually no bigger than the standard room that friends were staying in. The 'extras' you get in an executive room are a chocolate bar and a sachet of hot chocolate on the day you check in, plus a small bottle of shampoo and a small bottle of shower gel. The bath robes that the website promises were not actually in the room. Executive rooms are therefore definitely not worth the extra expense.

Housekeeping had not provided us with any bedding for our sofa bed or for our cot, so we had to ask for that and wait a long time for it to arrive. Our room was adequate, reasonably clean, but for some reason had a set of broken weighing scales in the bathroom. The window was small, making the room a little dark, and the curtains actually hid a wall and window, not just a window.

We booked a rate that included dinner and breakfast. Dinner was standard pub grub served by young waiters who didn't seem to know the menu.

Unfortunately, service at breakfast time was a joke. Management seem to think that having a self-service buffet will mean that guests will need no service whatsoever and that they can economise by having a couple of sullen teenagers as their waiting staff. This approach would work if everything guests might have needed was on the counter, but unfortunately it wasn't.

Among the problems with breakfast were - no staff upon arrival at the restaurant, no tea or coffee within sight, no cutlery or cups on tables, lots of uncleared tables, no plates on the counter for selecting your own hot food, empty fruit bowls that were not replenished quickly, waitresses who would creep up behind you and take your plates away while you were still eating, and, in general, a rotten customer service attitude from the waiting staff. For example we asked for a glass of water for my son because the jug at the buffet was empty. The waitress tutted, walked into the kitchen, brought the water bag and put it back on the counter without saying a word.

It's a shame the service is so charmless because the food is ok - standard big chain breakfast food.

I hope the management employ some older staff, and give them some training so that they can see things from the guests point of view, rather than the current mentality of seeing the act of serving guests as an inconvenience.

One final point, make sure your print out your booking information, especially if it shows that meals are included in the rate you have selected. On three occasions during our stay I saw check-in staff try to charge guests for meals that were included in the room rate they had chosen.

Room Tip: Lower your service expectations before breakfast!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin9837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGNH, Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Dear Guest,
Firstly please allow me to apologise for any short comings experienced. It is always personally disappointing when a guest leaves with an impression, which i believe is not indicative of our normal service levels and communication. At the Holiday Inn Rugby / Northampton M1 Jct.18 we always follow up on any feedback received about the hotel. I would very much like to investigate these matters further, please do not hesitate upon contacting myself regarding your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2011

I'm always amazed when I travel how hotels who should know better try and be something they are not. Here's a Holiday Inn wanting to be more upmarket. It has a pool and fitness centre. The pool area was clean but the pool was very murky and quite chlorinated.
The room was adequate, the facilities for the seminar I was delivering was good but the food was very ordinary.

It was like school dinners meets masterchef. Attempted to deliver high brow food with the wrong ingredients.

I ordered a greek salad and it was really very poor, I couldn't finish it. It wasn't that the food wasn't fresh - it was, it was just a poor choice of ingredients. Instead of cherry or plum tomatoes, standard sliced English tomatoes use. Just cos lettuce not other leaves, average feta. Not pleasant.

The food on our set deal was average to say the least. The delegates that were being trained were pretty non plussed about it and I believe that they complained.

From a business suite point of view the girl was very helpful and the facilities were good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrcellular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Rooms - look good at first but do look a bit shabby on closer inspection.

Food - a decent choice that is always well presented. Pricey but they know that it's for people on business expenses.

Staff - always seem a bit serious when dealing with you! A few more smiles would be good!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Good quality accommodation close to Jct 18 of the M1 making it an ideal stopover location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Had our Christmas party 10th December 2010 - had a really good night. Food was lovely - and piping hot, and the disco was brilliant. Good sized room.

We all had a really good evening, many thanks to all the staff at the Holiday Inn in Crick.

We'll be booking for Christmas 2011!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Good professionally run hotel. Small gym and pool for guest use which were busy at peak times. Large bar area, full of business folk during the day but very quiet at weekends.
Just one warning, there is a bit of a rip off going on. The room service menue is £1 extra compared to the identical bar menu, and they add a £2 tray charge. Not good, not clever. Lack of free wifi in a business hotel also a major disadvantage.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

You usually know what to expect with Holiday Inn's and this was much of the standard fare.

Check in was painless and efficient, with well mannered and friendly staff. The hotel is actually quite large once inside, but everything is easily signposted and accessible.

I was quite surprised by the size of my room - it was much smaller than other holiday inn's I've stayed at through the years, but it was comfortable and completely sufficient for the purposes of my stay.

We took an evening meal in the restaurant and service was again professional, quick and efficient. The food was of a good standard and was reasonably priced - as was the wine we took with our meal.

Breakfast in the morning was enjoyable, well cooked and tasty.

Overall, the price was reasonable, the stay enjoyable and comfortable and the food and service standards of a good standard throughout. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to other business travelers or those needing a convenient stop off from their travels along the M1.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crick
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
394 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
508 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Greyhound Coaching Inn
Greyhound Coaching Inn
#2 of 2 in Lutterworth
300 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
13.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton

Address: 18 M1, Jct, Crick NN6 7XR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Crick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Price Range: $70 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds on the outskirts of historic Rugby in Crick, the Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton is a spacious, elegant hotel. Its easy to reach just off the M1/J18. The Holiday Inn Hotel has 90 rooms with High Speed Internet Access and air conditioning; 2 are equipped for special needs and 13 Meeting Rooms. Relax in the hotel lounge and bar and dine here and in the cosmopolitan hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton Hotel Crick
Holiday Inn Crick
Crick Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton Crick, Northamptonshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing