We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a one-night stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Badby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windmill at Badby
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Badby
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here early in September on a Saturday night. We had two rooms, which were clean and comfortable, if a little on the small side.

However, there was plenty of tea and coffee, and the bathroom was more than adequate.

We had dinner in the downstairs bar which was excellent, and the cooked breakfast next morning was top notch; freshly cooked to order, and with loads of tea, coffee and juice.

All in all, very good value for a short stay in a very pretty village.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hookybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 203 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hospitality: 10/10
Price: 7/10
Food: 8/10

7 of us visited the Windmill Inn for a birthday dinner on a Friday.
We had a lovely time there, the waiters were very friendly and it felt really nice to be there.
The quality of food was great and the portions were generous.
The prices were just a bit overpriced, e.g. mixed grill for £16.

I had a lovely time and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CyprusLarnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for a night as a party of eight attending a wedding nearby. They made the rooms available for us early so as to enable us to get changed. The rooms were neat, clean modern and comfy with a smart en suit inc. a superb power shower.
On check-in we nominated an approx breakfast time and enjoyed a very nice full English with all trimmings. We were attended to by two friendly ladies and nothing was too much trouble.
A very nice experience

Room Tip: The hotel is in the middle of a quiet village - no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozzaStaffordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed here many times before and stayed again this August. We were a bit weary that new owners had taken over but we were relieved to find that better than normal service was resumed. The place has had a much needed face lift and the staff can't do enough for you. If your a Beer drinker your in for a treat and the food is superb. Fantastic thatched country inn with great service, great quality and good prices. Not to be missed!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lockwoood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Had a fantastic night again. The staff were really friendly, the food was excellent with a good choice of beers. Have to agree with someone else's comment about the venison burgers and peppercorn sauce. The were really nice. A great night out.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank W00ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Badby is a bit out of our way for lunch but there are so few restaurants in Northamptonshire where you can sit and enjoy a meal with your four legged friend that we decided to try it. A good decision! Not only are dogs welcome but our dog was given a treat! Of course, people are welcome too and we were given such a warm welcome that we have returned and will continue to do so. I am not writing this to tell you how dog friendly they are but the most important thing to most people is the food so I can tell you that it is great!!!Nice atmosphere, friendly people, dogs welcome, good food. Give it a try!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bellamarguerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I confess to being a Badby resident, and The Windmill is my local - for 30 years! However, tonight's meal with our best friends (from Up North) was superb. Andrea and staff are very caring, very friendly, and usually efficient. Tonight they excelled. All meals hot and tasty, my peppercorn sauce on venison burgers really tasty, chips are the best, and we all agreed that the Banoffi Pie (homemade, real banana slices!) was the star. Good choice of wines, red and white; beers were Doom Bar, Hobgoblin, Jennings Cockerhoop, and a hoppy guest ale. As usual, great choice, well kept.
Thank you Windmill, yet another good pub meal, great service, and happy staff. Proud to be a regular .....

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badby
1.4 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
3.6 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
750 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cross Roads Hotel Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill at Badby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill at Badby

Address: Main Street, Badby, Daventry NN11 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Daventry > Badby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Badby
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Windmill At Badby Hotel Badby
The Windmill Badby
The Windmill At Badby England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing